Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-28-04, 02:27 AM   #1
RamzesXXXII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default Is my card support 256MB ??

I bought PROLINK PixelView GeForce 6600 with 256MB. I heard that NV43 didn't support 256 MB ( only 128 MB). Is that true ??
So why they make card with 256 MB ??

Link to my card http://www.prolink.com.tw/2003/engli...PCX%206600.htm
RamzesXXXII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 03:01 AM   #2
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamzesXXXII
I bought PROLINK PixelView GeForce 6600 with 256MB. I heard that NV43 didn't support 256 MB ( only 128 MB). Is that true ??
So why they make card with 256 MB ??

Link to my card http://www.prolink.com.tw/2003/engli...PCX%206600.htm

All it takes is a bios change so I would
think any company could fix that.
Every company will have 256meg 6600's I'm sure.

Now keep in mind the 6600 only has a 128bit memory bus.
Not a 256meg one like the 6800's have.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 04:12 AM   #3
StoNer
Ubėr Baked
 
StoNer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Jersey
Posts: 376
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

i think they need to release a 6800nu with 256mb...

if they already have let me know ill tell my buddy right away. Hes been savin up for a GT slowly from what he had cuz the 6800nu didnt have enough memory for him.
__________________
[CPU Phenom II X4 960T @3.81 1.44v 200x19][HSF CM Hyper TX3 EVO Dual 92mm Push/Pull][Mobo Asus M4A78T-E 790GX][RAM AMD PE @1600Mhz 8-9-8-24 1T]
[GPU (2)XFX Radeon HD5770 CrossfireX @910/1260][HDD WD Caviar Black/Green 500gb][SSD Kingston VSeries(boot) 30gb, Crucial M4 64gb]
[PSU Corsair TX650 v2][Case Modified Xclio GS2 /w 2x180mm/1x120mm Intake, 1x120mm/2x80mm Exhaust][OS Win7 x64]
[Display Dell S2309W 23", Samsung 933HD+ 18.5" on NeoFlex LCD Arms]

[Now Playing Star Wars The Old Republic, Tribes Ascend, League of Legends, Starcraft II, Diablo III, Super Street Fighter IV AE, DayZ]
StoNer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 06:31 AM   #4
RamzesXXXII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Talking Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

So I have one more question. Whats the difference between 6600 an 6600GT ??
Its only core clock and ddr3 memory ??

So maby I can increase ma core and memory clock ?? (like 400/650-700; I must first buy a better cooler ). How much points in 3d mark 03 and 05, that overlock give me ??
RamzesXXXII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 06:35 AM   #5
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

GT's have been tested and rated for insane core speeds and are paired with memory modules that signicantly run faster than those paired with the non GT

I would hazard a guess since nv43 is based on nv40, that would probably inherit NV40's ability to support 256MB memory or more.
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 08:23 AM   #6
shabby
Forcefed GXP
 
shabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamzesXXXII
So I have one more question. Whats the difference between 6600 an 6600GT ??
Its only core clock and ddr3 memory ??

So maby I can increase ma core and memory clock ?? (like 400/650-700; I must first buy a better cooler ). How much points in 3d mark 03 and 05, that overlock give me ??
You'll have no luck overclocking the memory, its painfully slow, you might get another 50mhz out of it but thats it. The core on the other hand might hit 500mhz like the gt, but its the memory that is holding it back.
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 08:49 AM   #7
r2d2d3d4d5
Prole
 
r2d2d3d4d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Airstrip One
Posts: 511
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by StoNer
i think they need to release a 6800nu with 256mb...

if they already have let me know ill tell my buddy right away. Hes been savin up for a GT slowly from what he had cuz the 6800nu didnt have enough memory for him.
Asus and someone else does one. They come at higher clock speeds but also cost more...
__________________
"life is like a box of chocolates" - chocolate is bad for you!
r2d2d3d4d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 09:12 AM   #8
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkswaney
All it takes is a bios change so I would
think any company could fix that.
Every company will have 256meg 6600's I'm sure.

Now keep in mind the 6600 only has a 128bit memory bus.
Not a 256meg one like the 6800's have.

no bios change needed, all GeForce (well atleast GF FX and GF6 series) cards automatically detect the installed amount of memory during startup and use whatever is available.
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-28-04, 02:17 PM   #9
Quimby
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by r2d2d3d4d5
Asus and someone else does one. They come at higher clock speeds but also cost more...
Last I checked the Asus 6800nu Gamer Edition cost as much or more than a 6800GT. At that point, might as well just get an actual GT.
Quimby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 02:21 PM   #10
r2d2d3d4d5
Prole
 
r2d2d3d4d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Airstrip One
Posts: 511
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quimby
Last I checked the Asus 6800nu Gamer Edition cost as much or more than a 6800GT. At that point, might as well just get an actual GT.
Gainward also make one. Theirs is clocked like a regular nu so it should be a bit cheaper.
__________________
"life is like a box of chocolates" - chocolate is bad for you!
r2d2d3d4d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 02:22 PM   #11
subbo
Registered User
 
subbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 452
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

But the extra 128MB is what makes up most of the extra cost on the GT, so why not pay a little more and get a fully piped core aswell.
__________________
A64 3200+, MSI NX6800GT, Asus K8V SE D, *NEW* 2GB DDR400 (BF2 likey), 200GB WD Caviar, Nexus 4090 400W silent, ATC220B, Zalman Reserator 1, Innovatek CoolMatic NV40, NEC 3500AG, CM AerogateII black, Smart Drive 2002C | 20,1" 15ms TFT 1600x1200 Formac Gallery 2010 | Temps: idle CPU 45c GPU 55c, 1h+ gaming CPU 55c GPU 67c
subbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-04, 03:46 PM   #12
RamzesXXXII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: Is my card support 256MB ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by subbo
But the extra 128MB is what makes up most of the extra cost on the GT, so why not pay a little more and get a fully piped core aswell.
I bought new procesor, mainboard, DDR, HDD, case, monitor LCD so I hadn't more money for good VGA. So I bought card with PCI-E ( I chose beetwen 6600 and X600 ).

PS.I use my computer for 3D graphic (like Maya), I play when I have free time . Can I modify my 6600 to Quadro ??
__________________
P4 Prescot 3.2GHz, 2x 512MB TwinMos, Gigabyte 8I915P-DUO, PixelView 6600 Ultimate 265MB, Samsung 80GB SATA Cache 8MB 7.2KRPM, DVD-RW LiteON 451S@832S, CHIEFTEC DX-01-BD-U Case, with Chieftec HPC-420-302-DF (420W), 17" Eizo L557K black
RamzesXXXII is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Video card upgrade advice needed Billy34 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 08-28-02 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.