Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-05, 02:08 AM   #145
MOTÖRHEAD
Registered User
 
MOTÖRHEAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 82
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
You might find this interesting. As I speculated. Almost all vertex modeling appears to be done off the CPU. Keep in mind I dont think this is neccasarily a bad thing. Might not be ideal for high end GPUs but lower performing cards this is a saving grace.

I suspected as much. The graphics engine is off loading most of the work onto the CPU instead of utilizing the GPU. This is why my temps for my 6800GT barely raise above idle. Try playing EQ 2 for an hour and then take a temp reading. After that turn off your PC and let it rest for an hour and play UT2k4 or Doom 3 for a 1 hour and you'll see a big difference in GPU temps.
__________________
Operating System: Windows XP /w SP2
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c
Processor: AMD 4800 X2 CPU
MotherBoard: Asus A8N-E Nforce 4 Ultra
Memory: 2 Gigs RAM
Video Card: PNY NVIDIA GeForce 7900GT 512MB GDDR3 RAM
Sound Card: SB Audigy 2 Platinum
Cdrom Model: SAMSUNG CDRW/DVD SM-352B
Cdrom Model: LITE-ON LTR-52246S
HardDrive Model: Maxtor 160GB Diamondmax Plus - 6Y160P0
MOTÖRHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 03:12 AM   #146
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Eh, EQ 2 is still doing pixel processing on your 6800GT
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 05:48 AM   #147
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

seriously how hard would it be to write a code that

#1. detects wether a 6800 or x800 is being used
#2. if #1 is true send all vertex instructions to gpu

how hard ?
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 02:37 PM   #148
Downside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

I would think it would be more like anything past a 9500/59xx could handle the load just fine.

Again I wonder how this oh so great and future looking graphics engine is supposed to "scale" graphics card wise with this design.

Probably by taking next gen hardware and all of a sudden using the graphics card for the vertex processing. Oh look, the new xxx card is 70% faster in EQ2 than the 6800/x800 is!!!!

Of course if you enabled the vertex units on the old cards, the difference would probably something like 15 to 20%.

Be nice if someone with an X800 could verify its the same as well.
Downside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 02:47 PM   #149
Ronin
Hardware is my hobby...
 
Ronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 186
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_Pitt
seriously how hard would it be to write a code that

#1. detects wether a 6800 or x800 is being used
#2. if #1 is true send all vertex instructions to gpu

how hard ?
Don't code gaming engines much, eh?

It really depends on how deep the code resides as to how easy (or difficult) it would be to change.
__________________
FX60 @ 3.09GHz - XP120 w/Panaflow M1A :: Armor V8000 Black :: K8N Diamond Plus :: 2x1GB G.Skill PC4000 :: eVGA 8800GTX :: 1 80GB Raptor (Boot) :: 2x250GB T7K250/2x160GB WD SE Striped :: 2x160GB Raptors Striped :: 2x750GB Seagates Striped :: Pioneer A09/Pioneer BDR-101AS :: X-Fi Elite Pro :: Gigaworks S750 :: Seasonic S12-600 :: G7/MS Natural KB Elite :: 2405FPW
----------------------
AQ3 - 182496 :: 2k6 - 13723 :: 2k5 - 18857 :: 2k3 - 37045 :: 2k1 - 57357
nVIDIA Global Forum Moderator :: LV2Go Forum Moderator
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 04:16 PM   #150
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronin
Don't code gaming engines much, eh?

It really depends on how deep the code resides as to how easy (or difficult) it would be to change.
Heck, would it possible to just make it user selectable? Tick X = vertex on the GPU rather than CPU.

EDIT: Oh yeah, and btw, a general comment. I am another 6800 user(Ultra) that doesn't have all this "stuttering."
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 04:47 PM   #151
Ronin
Hardware is my hobby...
 
Ronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 186
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Even a UI element that allowed this would call for coding to support it. It's not just a 1 line code change, unfortunately.
__________________
FX60 @ 3.09GHz - XP120 w/Panaflow M1A :: Armor V8000 Black :: K8N Diamond Plus :: 2x1GB G.Skill PC4000 :: eVGA 8800GTX :: 1 80GB Raptor (Boot) :: 2x250GB T7K250/2x160GB WD SE Striped :: 2x160GB Raptors Striped :: 2x750GB Seagates Striped :: Pioneer A09/Pioneer BDR-101AS :: X-Fi Elite Pro :: Gigaworks S750 :: Seasonic S12-600 :: G7/MS Natural KB Elite :: 2405FPW
----------------------
AQ3 - 182496 :: 2k6 - 13723 :: 2k5 - 18857 :: 2k3 - 37045 :: 2k1 - 57357
nVIDIA Global Forum Moderator :: LV2Go Forum Moderator
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 09:56 PM   #152
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

im sure they thought of making their code easily accessible, being a mmorpg would call for constant updates, it would make sense.
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-05, 12:24 PM   #153
Downside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

The fact that they could code a graphics engine at all means they could make the needed changes. They have multiple detail levels, and one of the most customizable graphics systems of any game out there. If they have the programing skill to do all that, then making the engine process through the card vs the cpu is probably well within thier ability to do. I would imagine this is handled by DirectX anyway, and all you need to do is call the correct functions.

There were many games that play just fine on geforcemx series hardware, that use the cpu for this stuff as well, yet still use the GPU for it on hardware where it's supported.

If I remember correctly, SOE had a similiar problem with either the 9700 or 5900 series and EQ1. The game wasn't identifying the new cards properly, and was using the cpu to perform the heavy lifting instead. They got it worked out eventually, but it took them a while then as well.

And no, I'm not a graphics engine developer
Downside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 12:53 AM   #154
PeterJensen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_everquest2_home.html

EverQuest II

Publisher: Sony Online Entertainment
Developer: Sony Online Entertainment
Genre: RPG / MMO
Multiplayer: Internet
Recommended GPU: GeForce 6 Series
Release Date: Available Now
Official Website

EverQuest II returns to the rich and culturally diverse world of Norrath. Users will be able to select from a wide variety of both new and old races, as well as an exciting new class system when creating their character. Significant improvements to combat, spell and quest mechanics promise to immerse players even more so than the original. In addition to the new mechanics, users will be able to own real estate, participate in and conduct gladiatorial and theatrical events, as well as have the ability to command horses, ships and other such modes of transport. At release, players will be able to equip thousands of items and encounter hundreds of unique creatures, all within a world so large that it literally eclipses the original Norrath in size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 02:40 AM   #155
MaLk^
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 11
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

I dont know if im the only one that have noticed a big performance increase?

Im not sure when this happened, but i just suddenly noticed that the stuttering in qeynos harbor and willow wood has become a lot less noticeable.
MaLk^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 04:07 AM   #156
Graphicmaniac
GraphicLover
 
Graphicmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 533
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

maybe ur pc has decided to overclock and overvolt himself alone coz was bored of all these problems
__________________
Support GeForce FX owners againts the unfair business of ATI & Valve vote for this petition!!!
http://www.petitiononline.com/nvidiafx/petition.html
Graphicmaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
EverQuest II Adding Vaguely Terrifying Voice/Facial Tech News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-02-12 09:40 AM
Evidon and Adobe Tag Manager Privacy Solution Launches! News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-15-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.