Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-04, 05:58 PM   #13
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Let me test that right now. I havent notice any abnormal load problems. But I havent been looking.

I am loading at 66C myself. But this could be for any number of reasons. Usually when you dont load as high its because the GPU is waiting for CPU information. Thus the GPU cant reach its full potential. An Interesting way to test this is to put a slower CPU in there. And usually it will load even less. Since the GPU is constantly waiting on the CPU.

It';s interesting how well HL2/Doom 3 scale and make use of GPU though. Wonder how EQ 2 scales for various CPUS.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-04, 07:47 PM   #14
Kostamojen
Registered User
 
Kostamojen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to Kostamojen
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Ill have to give this a shot too...
__________________
K-man
Kostamojen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-04, 10:57 PM   #15
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

well chris im glad someone with your status is involved in getting this sorted, with your ties to nvidia, im sure you can help us all out of this hole. im sure our 6800's are not being used to thier full potential, and sometimes it feels like im playing the game using software rendering :P


ive always noticed directly after a server reset my game runs like butter, this is usually at night for us here in australia, then when i try the next day the game runs like a slideshow
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-04, 12:01 AM   #16
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

1280x1024 @ Very High + Custom (no AA/AF), my PS is a Sparkle 530
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-04, 06:24 AM   #17
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

I'm going to give the 66.81 a try and also this tweak.


Also I have read in many of the threads the SOE techs suggesting that us 6800 owners play with AA on. Iforget the reason why but they're always suggesting it.
__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-04, 08:58 AM   #18
mustrum
Registered User
 
mustrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,057
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyr-Sog
I'm going to give the 66.81 a try and also this tweak.


Also I have read in many of the threads the SOE techs suggesting that us 6800 owners play with AA on. Iforget the reason why but they're always suggesting it.
What? I didn't read that yet. I didn't try to ru it with AA on so far.
I'll give this a try.
__________________
Intel Xeon X3350 @3.5Ghz
DFI Lanparty DK X38 T2R
2x 2048mb Apogee GT
Gigabyte 8800 GTS G92 (800/1944/2050)
mustrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-04, 10:38 AM   #19
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

I also had the issue where my temps never get higher then 62C, when I am at desktop it usually only 58C


I gave up trying to figure out why..since seems to run pretty good for me.

I have not tried AA, maybe I should

I was thinking of turning off virtual memory but did not think 1 GB ram would be enough, but going to give it a shot
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-04, 07:23 AM   #20
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

I tried turning off Virtual memory but for some reason it actually seem to make things run slower I dont know..I went back to it on with static 1536...and everything seems to be fine.

Maybe 1 GB just is not enough
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-03-04, 11:36 AM   #21
Downside
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

There needed to be a fix for this right after release. To get "TWIMTBP' logo every time I log in, and then get performance that is comparable to my 3 year old 9700pro is just sad.

There is no way it should have made it to shipping like this. The 6800 series has been out for what, 6+ months? Did all the developement and testing at Sony happen on FX series or ATI hardware? Did no one at NVidia review the gold release to make sure it lived up to whatever "The Way It's" logo is supposed to imply? It just blows me away.

Sorry for the rant, but after 3 weeks of watching my $400 dollar GT perform like tech from 4 generations ago, it's leaving a very sour taste.
Downside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-04, 01:13 PM   #22
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

i agree
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-04, 08:43 PM   #23
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Heheh I just find it funny that everyone blames SOE... You know it could be a probablem on Nvidia's driver side you know? Nvidia hasn't been the best at fixing buggy drivers lately...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-04, 02:04 AM   #24
Tigerj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 15
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
Heheh I just find it funny that everyone blames SOE... You know it could be a probablem on Nvidia's driver side you know? Nvidia hasn't been the best at fixing buggy drivers lately...
Prob cause the 6800 works very well on every other game that is out there but EQ2. Also if some of you havn't notice when you play, check your CPU usage on EQ2. My tends to hang at 80% constant and I will get spikes that last from 10 sec to 2 min to 100%.

I am running EQ2 on a AMD 2800+ Barton with 1.5GB of Ram. But I am also using a FX 5600 256 and it is smooth for me on a freshly tweak XP system with no other programs but EQ2.
Tigerj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
EverQuest II Adding Vaguely Terrifying Voice/Facial Tech News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-02-12 09:40 AM
Evidon and Adobe Tag Manager Privacy Solution Launches! News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-15-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.