Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-05, 12:05 AM   #97
Tyr-Sog
goS-ryT
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 931
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Same here. With wow's constant downtime I sparked up eq for the first time in awhile and is seemed like it had better performance..
__________________
Asus G74sx-Republic of Gamer Laptop
3dmark06 16,128(stock)
Tyr-Sog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 06:16 PM   #98
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,178
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

The only mode that is "stutter-free" on the GeForce 6800 Ultra for me is Extreme Performance

The following performance monitor results are based on a 60 second walkthrough on the Isle of Refuge at four different display setttings - Very High Quality, Balanced, Very High Performance, and Extreme Performance.

Statistics were captured at 2 second intervals and confirm that the stuffering is not related to a CPU, memory, or disk bottleneck.

Resolution of 1024x768 with 4X AA / 8X AF. EQ2 is installed on the E: drive.

Very High Quality




Balanced




Very High Performance




Extreme Performance

MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 06:46 PM   #99
ssj4goku887
Xtreme G Author
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via AIM to ssj4goku887 Send a message via MSN to ssj4goku887
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

i have sat there on eq2 for lieka n hour just tweaking the settings and have concluded that it is the shaders causing such a performance drop in eq2. eq2 must have such an inefficient way of rendering shaders which causes like a 35 fps drop. if you have any kind of advanced shaders on your fps will plumit. turn up your quality settings to high quality to see the most effect then go into performance panel. and go to advanced shader distance. put it all the way down so it says -1 watch your fps skyrocket from 20 to 50+. even turn it on to the lowest setting watch your fps plumit once again. the shaders that eq2 uses arent that advanced and have been around for a while and doesnt cause much of any fps drop in any other game i have played like doom 3 and hl2 etc. forcing sm 2.0 does nothing also. turning off advanced shader distance also pretty much eliminates stuttering
ssj4goku887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 07:03 PM   #100
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Hey Mike, What is your system again?
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 07:57 PM   #101
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,178
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
Hey Mike, What is your system again?
I slipped in a CPU/MB upgrade during the holiday season

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 4000+
Motherboard - MSI NEO2 Platinum (nForce 3 Ultra)
Memory - 1GB Corsair 400MHz Dual Channel with activity LEDs
Hard Drive - (2) 80GB Western Western Digital, 7200RPM, ATA-100, 8MB Buffer
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Sound - EAX 4.1
Graphics Card - NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra @ 400MHz/1.10GHz
Graphics Driver - ForceWare Beta Version 67.03

I've been testing this evening with a 256MB AGP Aperature (w/FastWrites off) and performance seems to have improved. I am rebooting the system in between tests as I change AA/AF settings and noticed that the stuttering effect sometimes increases with lower graphics settings (4X AA vs 2X AA).

Hmm. Now I am thinking this may also be related to the quality of the network connection. It would be interesting if I could run my tests without being connected to a server.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 09:05 PM   #102
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeC
I slipped in a CPU/MB upgrade during the holiday season

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 4000+
Motherboard - MSI NEO2 Platinum (nForce 3 Ultra)
Memory - 1GB Corsair 400MHz Dual Channel with activity LEDs
Hard Drive - (2) 80GB Western Western Digital, 7200RPM, ATA-100, 8MB Buffer
Sound Card - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Sound - EAX 4.1
Graphics Card - NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra @ 400MHz/1.10GHz
Graphics Driver - ForceWare Beta Version 67.03

I've been testing this evening with a 256MB AGP Aperature (w/FastWrites off) and performance seems to have improved. I am rebooting the system in between tests as I change AA/AF settings and noticed that the stuttering effect sometimes increases with lower graphics settings (4X AA vs 2X AA).

Hmm. Now I am thinking this may also be related to the quality of the network connection. It would be interesting if I could run my tests without being connected to a server.


I have been running some very interesting tests with the 9800 Pro and 6800GT right now.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 10:01 PM   #103
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

oooh do tell chris


Cmon you 2 boffins get to work fixing EQ2, out of all the games ive ever played this one has the most options, and the most interesting engine ive seen. theres lots to tweak and the boys here should love having a play, the only prob is its pay to play and not all the tweakers are prepared to pay. its a shame really that no one has dissected the engine sooner.

I dont know what all those numbers mean Mike but it looks good lmao
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 10:02 PM   #104
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Well I did some comparison testings between my 9800 Pro and my 6800GT in EQ 2. The results taken in N Freeport. My results are pretty inconclusive though... But I assure you they are accurate.

There definately appears to be GPU limitation. But under the same conclusion its got to be a remarkably CPU limited game as well. One thing that is notable is the 6800GT's minimum framerate seems rather consistent while the ATI minimum framerate goes up as settings are lowered.







__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members

Last edited by ChrisRay; 01-16-05 at 10:20 PM.
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-16-05, 10:21 PM   #105
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

hmmm very disturbing, how is the 9800 pro so close to the GT ? is it because the 9800pro is running in a lower detail mode, if so in theory wouldnt the GT be able to run in the same mode but at least twice as fast ?


On a side note, there was a term i heard about that caps the fps in certain games to keep them in sync with the server, do you know what the term is ?
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 10:24 PM   #106
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

I saw no difference in IQ.. and I had the exact same settings enabled..
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 10:28 PM   #107
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

i edited my previous post about frame capping in certain FPS games to keep them in sync with the server, do you recall the term ?

Maybe there is something like this in effect, then again i doubt it.
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-05, 12:35 AM   #108
Elderblaze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 246
Default Re: Everquest 2. I think I may have a partial solution to stuttering.

Ghost hunter, i did cancel my account in total disgust, because I was having a good time, but the stuttering was to much. I don't pay to tweak for hours on end, and get crap performance. I cancelled my account the day before I got charged for a second month. The comparison between 9800 and the GT just go's to show eq's engine very poorly optimized for new cards. I suspect you'd see similiar numbers with a X800. It's just ridiculous. I dident see much of a boost when I went from an Athlon xp 3200 to my Overclocked A64 3500 (@2.5 Ghz, performs about like an A64 4000)

Regards,
Mike
Elderblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
EverQuest II Adding Vaguely Terrifying Voice/Facial Tech News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 09:40 AM
Evidon and Adobe Tag Manager Privacy Solution Launches! News Archived News Items 0 05-15-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.