Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-05, 01:46 PM   #13
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Yes, given that configuration, the Quadro NVS 400 should work fine. The configuration reflected in the `lspci` output from the Tyan system is incorrect.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-05, 02:12 PM   #14
ifaxsoln
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
Yes, given that configuration, the Quadro NVS 400 should work fine. The configuration reflected in the `lspci` output from the Tyan system is incorrect.
Okay, thanks, I'll try to get the folks at Tyan involved now.

Incidentally, I've tried their 1.02, 2.02 and 2.02w BIOS revisions ... they all show the same problem.

-Darren
ifaxsoln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-05, 12:41 PM   #15
DebbieT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Darren -

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifaxsoln
Okay, thanks, I'll try to get the folks at Tyan involved now.

Incidentally, I've tried their 1.02, 2.02 and 2.02w BIOS revisions ... they all show the same problem.

-Darren
We are having similar problems with dual NVidia Quadro FX 600 PCI cards in a
system which also has a Tyan motherboard (S2885 Thunder K8W). You can see
my post "Fedora Core 2 + 2 NVidiaQuadro FX 600 PCI cards != Four Headed Beast?"
at http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...376#post525376 and note
that zander thinks that our problems are related.

I'd like to know the status with this. Has Tyan found anything yet?

Thanks for any assistance,
Debbie

PS To reply off-forum, please email me or send me a private message.
DebbieT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-05, 02:24 PM   #16
ifaxsoln
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DebbieT
Darren -

I'd like to know the status with this. Has Tyan found anything yet?
Short answer, for the benefit of anyone else reading this, is that I'm having trouble getting Tyan's attention now ... it seems my principal contact may no longer be with the company.
ifaxsoln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-05, 05:12 PM   #17
ifaxsoln
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Here's what I received from Tyan today:

Quote:
> Hello Darren,
>
>
> Alex is no longer with Tyan, I have tested this Nvidia Quadro 400 with
> various Linux distributions had no success at all. But with Microsoft
> environment the card and bios have no issues to get all four ports to work.
> If Nvidia could give us confirmation that it's not their driver. Once we
> receive the confirmation we could go from there.
>
Zander, are you an Nvidia employee, or could you find someone from Nvidia to step up and say this is definitely not an Nvidia driver issue? Please feel free to send me a private message, or contact me off-list if you cannot comment on this publicly.

As the Tyan engineer mentions, they have no problems getting the driver to work properly under windows, which means that even if there is a Bios problem, somehow the windows driver doesn't care, and works anyway. I have not been able to test with Windows here, but as I mentioned, they have a Quadro NVS 400 in their lab and they got it to work with 4 screens apparently on Windows, but never on linux.

I guess linux is more fussy, or has requirements from the Bios that Windows doesn't have, from what you say. But at this point we need someone from Nvidia to agree with your conclusions Zander before Tyan will take this seriously.

-Darren
ifaxsoln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-05, 05:56 PM   #18
UOnvidia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Hi:

I would like to report similar problems with nvidia cards and linux.
I want to get 4 displays. However, I cannot get more than two
displays at at time (I've tried two computers---one Intel and the
other AMD). Here is my hardware:

computers:
dual Opteron machine with Tyan K8W motherboard (latest BIOS)
dual Pentium machine with 694D Pro (MS-6321) motherboard

4-head video card:
quadro nvs 400

2-head video cards:
PCI: GeForce FX 5200 (tried in both computers)
AGP: GeForce2 MX/MX 400 (Intel computer)
AGP: GeForce or quadro (don't recall--cost around $200) (AMD computer)

On each computer, I have both Windows and RedHat (Enterprise WS 3) linux.
Windows always recognizes each card---I can easily get four displays to work
on either computer with either the quadro nvs 400 card or with two of the
other cards. Under linux, I can only get two displays on one card to work.

An earlier email from zander suggested the problems lies with the Tyan
motherboard. Maybe---but I am also having problems with an Intel
motherboard. Thus, I am inclinded to think that the problem lies with
the nvidia drivers.

I've posted my config files (using either the 4-head card or two 2-head
cards) and logs in a message to the Xfree86 list, but I have not gotten
a reply (these files are based on my Pentium system). It is archived at:
http://www.mail-archive.com/xfree86@.../msg17991.html

Has ANYONE gotten 4 displays to work using one or two nvidia cards?
Could you please post your working config file?

If nvidia cards will not work, then what brand of cards will work? What
is the configuration in that case?

Thanks!
UOnvidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-05, 01:52 PM   #19
DebbieT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UOnvidia

Has ANYONE gotten 4 displays to work using one or two nvidia cards?
Could you please post your working config file?
Also please post which motherboard you used.

FTR Tyan is actively working on getting a BIOS that works with Darren's card
but no luck so far.

Thanks, Debbie
DebbieT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-05, 01:24 PM   #20
gio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Well - I have an Accellertech ATO2163 dual Opteron, and a PNY Quadro and it exhibits the same issues. In fact, it exhibits the same issues with ATI and Matrox boards - won't recognize the second GPU. I'd say this is more an X or maybe a PCI issue than a BIOS issue. My LSPCI is well filled out as the above one is, with IRQ 29 assigned. I need to dig into some code to see where the BusID is matched to the Device section in the X code. That seems to be where the problem lies, if I had to guess.
gio is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-10-05, 11:05 AM   #21
gio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Question Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Well, I guess I can't go there yet - I too get a message indicating that the kernel module can't initialize the second GPU correctly.

Code:
NVRM: request_mem_region failed for 0x0:0x1, aborting
How do I put NVidia in touch with AccelerTech to get this kind of thing corrected? More interesting - if Windows can somehow force the card initialization properly, why can't the NVidia Linux drivers?

Regarding the recognition of the second BusID - seems academic - use the new BusID as Screen 0 of the second device. This actually got me working with ATI and Matrox - seems to be the parsing in xf86Helper.c in the new xorg stuff. Then you use their drivers' facilities for multiscreen.

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
     Screen "Screen1"
     Screen "Screen2" RightOf "Screen1"
     InputDevice ...
     ...
EndSection
...
Section "Device"
     Identifier "NV1"
     Driver "nvidia" 
     BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
     Screen 0
EndSection
Section "Device"
     Identifier "NV2"
     Driver "nvidia" 
     BusID "PCI:5:4:0"
     Screen 0
EndSection
Section "Screen"
     Identifier "Screen1"
     Device "NV1"
     ...
EndSection

Section "Screen"
     Identifier "Screen2"
     Device "NV2"
     ...
EndSection
gio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-05, 06:33 PM   #22
UOnvidia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DebbieT
Also please post which motherboard you used.

FTR Tyan is actively working on getting a BIOS that works with Darren's card
but no luck so far.

Thanks, Debbie

I look forward to hearing what happens. I am sure we are all equally
frustrated.
UOnvidia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-05, 02:49 PM   #23
gio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Well, Three emails to Accelertech, and dead end no help. Received one back and that was the typical "firmware up to date" question, then nothing. Received nothing back from nVidia. Will try the new 7167 drivers, but doubt that it'll help.
gio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-05, 01:08 PM   #24
DebbieT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Quadro NVS 400 / Tyan S2885 - only one GPU recognized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UOnvidia
...
Has ANYONE gotten 4 displays to work using one or two nvidia cards?
...
We finally have, but not until our systems integrator sent us a new Arima HDAMA motherboard to swap for our Tyan. So we're OK now, but it sure does seem that
neither Tyan nor NVidia are interested in fixing the original problem.

Good luck to the rest of you,
Debbie
DebbieT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 10:14 PM
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 06:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.