Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-05, 10:26 PM   #49
robhancock
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

I posted a comment on the Fedora bug report I raised about this ( https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=143910 ) that the patch mentioned fixes the problem. Hopefully this will get into a Fedora update release soon..

BTW, the patch also allows the VESA driver to work if one wishes (wowee..)
robhancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 03:09 PM   #50
Masterpiece
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

I saw this solution for that problem (I also have the combination with AMD 64 3500+, A8N-SLI Deluxe and Winfast 6600 GT and my xserver doesn't run.)

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2322#c1

Code:
(WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such file or directory)
..
(WW) ****INVALID MEM ALLOCATION**** b: 0xcc000004c0000000 e: 0xcc000004c7ffffff correcting
..
(EE) sparse io range (base: 0x2a95c7d406  mask: 0x7f6d60)doesn't satisfy (base & mask = mask)
So there are 2 patches in that link, but I don't have any idea, how I have to install them.

So where should I copy the patch and what should I do after that (recompiling the xserver and reinstalling it ? - how should I do this?)


thx
Masterpiece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-05, 02:18 PM   #51
exalik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Etienne / France
Posts: 10
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Hello,

I've just bought an AMD Athlon 64 processor, an ASUS A8N-SLI-Deluxe motherboard, and a GEFORCE 6600 graphic card. I use Mandrake Linux 10.1 rc1 x86 64.

I've downloaded and installed the latests nvidia driver without error.

I have to run Xorg with the nvidia geforce fbdev driver to use my computer in graphic mode.
With the "nvidia" xorg configuration, i don't see the mouse cursor (800 600 resolution / don't know wath append for others)

Let's have a look on my "nvidia" xorg.conf file :

# File generated by XFdrake.

# ************************************************** ********************
# Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
# this file.
# ************************************************** ********************

Section "Files"
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
FontPath "unix/:-1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
#DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
Load "/usr/X11R6/lib64/modules/extensions/libglx.a"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Generic"
ModelName "1600x1200 @ 70 Hz"
HorizSync 31.5-88.0
VertRefresh 50-90

# Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -vsync

# Dell D800 and few Inspiron (16/10) 1280x800
ModeLine "1280x800" 147.89 1280 1376 1512 1744 800 801 804 848

# Dell D800 and few Inspiron (16/10) 1680x1050
ModeLine "1680x1050" 214.51 1680 1800 1984 2288 1050 1051 1054 1103

# Dell D800 and few Inspiron (16/10) 1920x1200
ModeLine "1920x1200" 230 1920 1936 2096 2528 1200 1201 1204 1250 +HSync +VSync

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 6600"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NoRenderExtension" "true"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 16

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Virtual 800 600
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Virtual 800 600
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Virtual 800 600
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 800 600
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection


And to the Xorg log :


(WW) Option "XkbOptions" requires an string value
(WW) Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (No such file or directory)
(WW) LoadModule: given non-canonical module name
(WW) ****INVALID MEM ALLOCATION**** b: 0xc4000004b0000000 e: 0xc4000004bfffffff correcting
(WW) NVIDIA(0): config file vrefresh range 50-90Hz not within DDC vrefresh ranges.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "768x576":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync width (846 - 832 = 14) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "576x384":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync start (589) not a multiple of 8
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Not using mode "360x200":
(WW) NVIDIA(0): horizontal sync start (378) not a multiple of 8


Thanks for your help


Exalik
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / ASUS A8N-SLI-Deluxe / GEFORCE 6600 / 1Go DDR400 / Mandriva Linux 2006 x86 64

What about less microsoft in our world ? Better !!!
exalik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-05, 02:56 PM   #52
exalik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Etienne / France
Posts: 10
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Eh, i've just add Option "SWCursor" "on"

And it's running !

But when i want to watch a movie with Kaffeine or mplayer i have just the audio :-S not the picture !!!

What append ???
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / ASUS A8N-SLI-Deluxe / GEFORCE 6600 / 1Go DDR400 / Mandriva Linux 2006 x86 64

What about less microsoft in our world ? Better !!!
exalik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-05, 03:55 PM   #53
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

@exalik: please read post #47 (posted earlier in this thread).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 03:52 AM   #54
exalik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Etienne / France
Posts: 10
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
The problem has been tracked down to a bug in the handling of 64-bit BAR's in XFree86/Xorg; for details and proposed fixes, please see: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2322. Future NVIDIA driver releases should detect and work around this problem.
Ok but what i have to do with the proposed fixe ???

I think i have to patch something but what and how ???

Thank you for help me

Exalik
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / ASUS A8N-SLI-Deluxe / GEFORCE 6600 / 1Go DDR400 / Mandriva Linux 2006 x86 64

What about less microsoft in our world ? Better !!!
exalik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 10:22 AM   #55
Masterpiece
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

same question from me, but no one answers
Masterpiece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 10:37 AM   #56
kip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Which distribution are you using?

If you never heard of `make`, `patch` or `gcc`before, it will be better if you just wait until you distributor realeases a patched version of xorg/xfree ...
kip is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-25-05, 10:39 AM   #57
Masterpiece
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

i used make or gcc before. patch i don't know

I use fedora core 3

So if there are only a few commands, that should be no problem

At the moment I only can use the console - there is no graphics running
Masterpiece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 11:27 AM   #58
xpatrikx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

You can take a look at the guide I made for patching xorg at http://www.shell.linux.se/xpatrikx/a...cibus-bug.html I hope it helps.
xpatrikx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 12:35 PM   #59
Masterpiece
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

thank you for that guide

I still can't load the X-Server, but I saw the nvidia logo.

The last reimaing error is

Fatal error:
could not open default font 'fixed'

so I have to install some fonts.

Another error from the logfile:

Open APM failed (/dev/apm_bios) (no such file or directory)
Masterpiece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-05, 02:00 PM   #60
xpatrikx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

When upgrading from 6.7.0 I hade to change the keyboard driver from "Keyboard" to "kbd". Could be worth a try.

Should be something like this:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard"
Driver "kbd" # and not Driver "Keyboard"
Option "XkbLayout" "se"
EndSection
xpatrikx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphic errors and hangs after standby reini122 NVIDIA Linux 4 05-07-12 03:37 AM
Reading With Pictures: The Graphic Textbook News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM
Graphical errors: broken card? lapino NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-03-12 01:20 PM
Compiling Errors In Debian Scorched NVIDIA Linux 14 09-26-02 11:02 AM
Getting bizarre errors with driver install clutch NVIDIA Linux 1 09-14-02 09:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.