Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-05, 05:03 PM   #61
Masterpiece
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 5
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

i found the error.

the font entry in the xorg.conf had to be changed from "unix/:-" to "/:-" or something like that (I had to delete the "unix")

So, my X-Server runs, but maximum 1024*768 Pixels. Is there no way, to improve the solution to 1280*1024 ?
Masterpiece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 04:55 AM   #62
xpatrikx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Take a look at my xorg.conf at http://www.shell.linux.se/xpatrikx/xorg.conf
See the Screen section for the details.
xpatrikx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-05, 07:16 PM   #63
cybcode
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Hello,

I'm soon buying a new computer and I'm considering an nForce4 MB (with an amd64 CPU). I'd like to ask - based upon your experience - is that a good idea? Has the bug mentioned earlier in this thread been officially resolved? or should I stick to VIA? or maybe nForce3?

Here's what I'm considering:
CPU: Athlon64 3000+ (939)
MB: Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 (939)
GFX card: Gigabyte 6600GT 128mb (GV-NX66T128D)
Memory: TwinMos (or GeIL?) DDR PC3200/400

Thank you very much.
cybcode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-05, 08:19 PM   #64
brianstretch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

I haven't extensively tested this, but it appears to work... mostly. I'm using 64-bit FC3, current updates.

1) Boot into textmode (append 3 to the boot line)
2) Download and rpm -Fvh the development (Rawhide) xorg build:
wget ftp://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub...ora/RPMS/xorg*
3) (Re)install the current (6629) nVidia drivers.
4) modprobe nvidia
5) cp -a /dev/nvidia* /etc/udev/devices/ (from the stickied "Fedora Core 3 and nVidia drivers - Solution" thread)
6) Reboot.

The cursor works as expected. Unfortunately, it breaks UT2004. I'm inclined to switch back to a nForce3 board and AGP graphics (sigh).

nForce4 chipset, 6600GT PCIe video.
brianstretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-05, 03:09 AM   #65
exalik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Etienne / France
Posts: 10
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpatrikx
You can take a look at the guide I made for patching xorg at http://www.shell.linux.se/xpatrikx/a...cibus-bug.html I hope it helps.
Hello,

Thanks to you xpatrikx, i have done it (with the https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2322 fix patch) and it is working now !!!

I've just a load problem with the driver at boot but i think i'm going to resolv it soon.


Exalik


PS: I don't launch games with my computer but use it just for internet and others so i don't know if it would fully work properly !
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ / ASUS A8N-SLI-Deluxe / GEFORCE 6600 / 1Go DDR400 / Mandriva Linux 2006 x86 64

What about less microsoft in our world ? Better !!!
exalik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-05, 10:55 PM   #66
brianstretch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Scratch what I wrote about UT2004 not working. My UT2004 installation must be hosed, I installed the UT2004 Demo and it runs fine. Doom 3 works too. I'll get around to reinstalling UT2004 in a few days, I've fallen too far behind in my classwork playing with the PC. (Unless the demo works because it's 32-bit... but I'm pretty sure it's just a mangled installation.)
brianstretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-05, 06:29 AM   #67
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybcode
CPU: Athlon64 3000+ (939)
MB: Gigabyte GA-K8NF-9 (939)
GFX card: Gigabyte 6600GT 128mb (GV-NX66T128D)
Memory: TwinMos (or GeIL?) DDR PC3200/400
Well, apart from the RAM, it's my system... (which works now nice again)...
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-05, 03:01 PM   #68
GenEcide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to GenEcide Send a message via AIM to GenEcide Send a message via Yahoo to GenEcide
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Hi folks,

I've been setting up gentoo on a computer for my sister for awhile now and just bought an NVidia 5500OC agp for it (old is GeForce 2 MX400). The mobo is an old Gigabyte 7IX (1st gen Athlon, slot A, 600MHz). Accelerated GL works *fantastically* in xorg-x11... approx 2400FPS running glxgears, and all the reallyslick OpenGL screensavers that ship with KDE that used to really tax the computer work smooth as butter as well. However, the system has the *exact* same glaring problems I've read about here that plagued the AMD64 guys: image corruption/missing images, garbage mouse cursor, nvidia-settings crashing X and the font being used by the text VCs getting trashed. Their problem seemed to be fixed once xorg was patched up but... that was a few (xorg) releases ago, and this is also a plain old 32bit Athlon, not an Athlon64. I apologize if I'm beating a dead horse and this has been solved many moons ago but I can't seem to find anything on this problem with older non-64bit systems. The box runs kernel 2.6.11-r3, xorg-x11 6.8.2-r1, gcc 3.3.5-r1, and used to run the ver 6629 nvidia drivers. I tried merging 7174 thinking it may fix it but no dice

Here are a few tidbits of interest from the kernel and xorg:

Kernel: (1:5:0 is the GeForce)
Code:
PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 1 of device 0000:01:05.0
PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #1:10000000@e0000000 for 0000:01:05.0
X:
Code:
(WW) ****INVALID MEM ALLOCATION**** b: 0xd0000000 e: 0xd7ffffff correcting
I'd be happy to throw a few bucks somebody's way for their time, if they have a working fix.

Cheers,
Jesse
GenEcide is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-23-05, 03:59 PM   #69
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenEcide
Kernel: (1:5:0 is the GeForce)
Code:
PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 1 of device 0000:01:05.0
PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #1:10000000@e0000000 for 0000:01:05.0
X:
Code:
(WW) ****INVALID MEM ALLOCATION**** b: 0xd0000000 e: 0xd7ffffff correcting
You "probably" have a buggy bios, so try if an another one fix this problem...
BTW: what says [/i]lspci -v[/i] about your card?

and BTW2:
does Option "NoRenderExtension" "true" (in xorg.conf/XF86Config-4) help? (atleast for the X image corruptions)
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-05, 04:51 PM   #70
GenEcide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to GenEcide Send a message via AIM to GenEcide Send a message via Yahoo to GenEcide
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Hi chunkey,
Are you referring to the video BIOS or the motherboard BIOS?

Setting NoRenderExtension true helps to a very small degree, as does SWCursor.

Here is the output of lspci:

0000:01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5500] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Flags: bus master, 66Mhz, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 11
Memory at e8000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable)
Memory at e0000000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=128M]
Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [44] AGP version 3.0

Thanks for your input
GenEcide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-05, 07:41 AM   #71
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

Quote:
Originally Posted by GenEcide
Are you referring to the video BIOS or the motherboard BIOS?
Well, it shouldn't hurt, if you flash both... atleast "one" should hopefully fix the bug,
but if you've still the problems... then fill a bug-report to x.org and hope someone there have a "workaround"...
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-05, 09:18 AM   #72
TiddlyPom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1
Default Re: graphic errors with amd64/nforce4/pci-e

I'm glad that I'm not the only one fighting with this. I have exactly the same problem except that its region 3 rather than region 1.

Ideally I'd like to get FC3 64-bit up and running. In this case is it worth fighting with NVidia's NForce-4 driver?
TiddlyPom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphic errors and hangs after standby reini122 NVIDIA Linux 4 05-07-12 03:37 AM
Reading With Pictures: The Graphic Textbook News Archived News Items 0 05-04-12 06:00 AM
Graphical errors: broken card? lapino NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-03-12 01:20 PM
Compiling Errors In Debian Scorched NVIDIA Linux 14 09-26-02 11:02 AM
Getting bizarre errors with driver install clutch NVIDIA Linux 1 09-14-02 09:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.