Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-02, 01:16 PM   #1
Cypher2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Question nVidia Onboard features

Is anyone familiar with nVidia's onboard sound, specifically their Soundstream Audio with 5.1 surround? I'm getting the Nforce2 Leadtek motherboard for Christmas and am thinking about ditching my Turtle Beach Santa Cruz. I'm sure that the Santa Cruz is way better than nVidia's onboard sound but I don't care all that much at this point; sure would be nice to free up a PCI slot not to mention I'll be freeing up another PCI slot because the board has onboard LAN also by nVidia. All I'm really hoping for is that the onboard sound will be decent, better than my old old Soundblaster Live Value but not up to par with my Santa Cruz. So do you think the onboard sound will be good enough for me?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Cypher2k; 11-20-02 at 01:28 PM.
Cypher2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 02:40 PM   #2
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
I'm sure that the Santa Cruz is way better than nVidia's onboard sound
Actually, I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a better consumer sound-solution than the nForce2's onboard audio...Many people regard it as having better quality than either Audigy 2 or the Santa Cruz!

Bonus for you! Sell that card and recoup some of that mobo's cost!

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 04:02 PM   #3
Cypher2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Default

Wow! I figured the Santa Cruz and Audigy cards were god-like compared to any onboard sound. Well, this is pretty much music to my ears (will be later )! Can't wait to get the motherboard now!

Thanks Pelly!
Cypher2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 04:32 PM   #4
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Glad I could bring some good news!

Be sure to let us know how you like your new mobo!!!

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 04:44 PM   #5
Cypher2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Default

I'll be sure to share my joy with the rest of the forum, don't you worry about that .

Last edited by Cypher2k; 11-21-02 at 12:26 AM.
Cypher2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 05:52 PM   #6
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

IT WILL be music to your ears...mmm nforce
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 07:49 PM   #7
ReDeeMeR
The Guy Next Door *wink*
 
ReDeeMeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 605
Send a message via ICQ to ReDeeMeR
Default

On board sound is much more cpu dependant imo, any reviews to compare soundstorm to audigy etc/>?
ReDeeMeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 09:18 PM   #8
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

If you still have doubts about nForce's onboard sound, get a chance to play Halo on XBox and that should clear everything up...
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-20-02, 09:30 PM   #9
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

nVIDIA's on-board sound has it's own processor, and is less CPU dependant than an Audigy...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 09:44 PM   #10
Cypher2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matthyahuw
nVIDIA's on-board sound has it's own processor, and is less CPU dependant than an Audigy...
That was a real big concern of mine. I'm glad to hear that it runs off it's own processor and is less CPU dependant.

Last edited by Cypher2k; 11-20-02 at 10:32 PM.
Cypher2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-02, 12:50 AM   #11
Cypher2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 26
Default

Ok, now I'm a little ticked off. I don't think the board I ordered can handle my 5.1 speakers unless I hook it up to a Dolby Decoder. Reason being, it only has an in, out, mic! I just noticed this on TomsHardware:

http://www6.tomshardware.com/mainboa...force2-17.html

If you scroll down to Sound System you'll see "External Connectors". The Leadtek only has the in, out, mic while the Asus has in, out, mic, surround, center, spdif-out! So it sounds like only the Asus board can provide 5.1 surround WITHOUT using a Dolby Decoder. I don't have a Dolby Decoder and have no reason to buy one, I just assumed that the Leadtek would support 5.1 surround without the Decoder. So what's the deal?

Here are some pics of the two boards:

Leadtek - http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....122-106-01.jpg

Asus - http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....131-436-01.JPG

Last edited by Cypher2k; 11-21-02 at 12:57 AM.
Cypher2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-02, 02:23 AM   #12
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by Cypher2k
Ok, now I'm a little ticked off. I don't think the board I ordered can handle my 5.1 speakers unless I hook it up to a Dolby Decoder. Reason being, it only has an in, out, mic! I just noticed this on TomsHardware:

http://www6.tomshardware.com/mainboa...force2-17.html

If you scroll down to Sound System you'll see "External Connectors". The Leadtek only has the in, out, mic while the Asus has in, out, mic, surround, center, spdif-out! So it sounds like only the Asus board can provide 5.1 surround WITHOUT using a Dolby Decoder. I don't have a Dolby Decoder and have no reason to buy one, I just assumed that the Leadtek would support 5.1 surround without the Decoder. So what's the deal?

Here are some pics of the two boards:

Leadtek - http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....122-106-01.jpg

Asus - http://www.newegg.com/app/Showimage....131-436-01.JPG
My AC97 can do that also thru the use of the S-bracket(I think). Tho it has thing to connect to decoder. But its AC97, its worthless.....
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Puts Tesla K20 GPU Coprocessor Through its Paces News Archived News Items 0 09-20-12 10:00 AM
NVIDIA Showcases GPU Breakthroughs at IBC 2012 News Archived News Items 0 09-07-12 10:10 AM
The Nvidia Forums Are Still Not Available, Finally We Know Why News Archived News Items 0 07-14-12 05:10 AM
NVIDIA GeForce 301.42 WHQL Drivers Add Major Gaming Features News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.