Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-02, 12:57 PM   #1
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Exclamation MOHAA: Ex. Pack Troubles?

So, what's the deal with the MOH demo? Is everyone just stuck in spawn limbo like me?
Any fixes? Is this an EA central server issue, or what?
Has anyone heard more about this?
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 01:18 PM   #2
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

Most of the servers I have tried all work. You just have to keep hunting around.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 01:22 PM   #3
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default mmm...well

i tried finding a game for about 15 minutes..probably tried about 30 servers...they all did it...i got in when i first DL'd the demo, to about 5 diff games...
but i think something is up...because i asked a few other players online stuck in spawn what they went through..and it seems to be compounding the longer the servers are up...
could be me though, i'm no geeeeeenyus at comps by any means...
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 01:32 PM   #4
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

sounds like a bad internet connection? what kinda pings are you getting. have you tweaked your connecting? if not go to dslreports.com and their tweak section.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 01:59 PM   #5
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default i doubt that's it..

I have a cable connection, and only entered games pinging back to me under 100ms.
I just wondered if anyone else was having this much trouble, because from the sounds of it while in the servers on quick chat, LOTS of people are getting this prob...
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 06:23 PM   #6
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Its not your connection, it happens to me and I have one of the fastest ISP's in the US.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 06:57 PM   #7
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Default yes, it's obvious

this demo isn't quite ready for the store shelves yet, several bugs appear from server to server..i get lots of clipping errors in some spots, trapped in others, all sorts of things.
and it appears that many many servers are loading bogus maps that no one can join..
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-02, 09:19 PM   #8
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default

Isn't the game coming out in 2 days? Its really gonna hurt EA if this thing has already gone to gold, been pressed and shipped, and before its out of the box and into my grubby little hands it needs a patch.

Gee..thanks EA. You have completely missed the point of releasing demo's.
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-11-02, 07:39 AM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

EA can eat my crap. There's no way I'd buy this for a few new maps and weapons. Raven goes the extra mile and gives you things like this for free with every patch for SOF2. This isn't The Sims EA, people will see through this. That's why you didn't support the mod community, because someone would have made a total conversion 10x better than Spearhead is.

Not to mention almost all demo servers are ****ed.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-02, 05:24 PM   #10
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

i have to totally disagree with you guys....this game is gonna ROCK!..YES I have joined a few servers that stunk too but they were probablly not 'dedicated servers"..the original mohaa is one of the best ever made single player missions games ive ever played,and the multiplayer was also great. this spearhead is a nice bonus, including 9 new single player mission, and 13 or 15 new multiplayer maps. the original came out in march 2002, and now only 8 months later they release a nice add on pack. for $29.00 i would say it is a must buy. just give it a week or too after tommorow and you will see it all be worked out. the 3 best single player missions parts of games ive ever played that rocked were 1. RTCW 2. MOHAA 3. NOLF 1 & 2...AND the multiplayer parts also were very good. trust me im an internet junkie..i know these things.
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-02, 11:24 AM   #11
sonaboy
Why can't you spell?
 
sonaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 208
Send a message via ICQ to sonaboy
Wink hmmmmm....

^
^
| Sounds like someone who works for EA found their way into the NVidiot forum boards..
__________________
Peace through war in the digital realm...
sonaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 07:20 PM   #12
CWB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 144
Default

I have DSL. Every Spearhead server I join, regardless of ping, lags. Some more than others, but they all do it, even dedicated.

So I popped in the original MOHAA and tried it. Same thing. Servers I used to play on every night for months now lag horribly.

This makes me think its not anybody's connection, but something to do with the latest patch for original Allied Assault (which Spearhead automatically installs before installing itself).

Someone told me if you connect directly with their IP and skip the in-game browser, it doesnt happen, implying its a Gamespy problem. I never tried it, tho. If someone else does, please let me know if it helps.
CWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New DLC Available - Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack News Archived News Items 0 10-09-12 02:30 PM
K-Lite Codec Pack 9.30 (Full) News Archived News Items 0 09-23-12 06:30 AM
New DLC Available - Orcs Must Die! 2 - Fire and Water Booster Pack News Archived News Items 0 08-29-12 07:50 PM
Now Available - Binary Domain Dan Marshall Pack & Multiplayer Map Pack News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 04:00 AM
MOHAA expansion pack zippermcfrag Gaming Central 1 08-14-02 01:01 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.