Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-04, 03:59 PM   #1
jeffchuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default No Sound in Mandrake

I'm running Mandrake 10.1 and have the ‎nForce2 APU. The drivers that came with Mandrake didn't seem to work, so I downloaded the nVidia drivers, installed them, and still no sound. I added this to modprobe.conf:

alias sound-slot-0 nvsound

and ran:

modprobe nvsound

When I start the computer and whenev er I try to play sound, I get an error saying:

Error while initializing the sound driver:
device /dev/dsp can't be opened (No such file or directory)


Has anybody had a problem like this before or does anybody have suggestions?
jeffchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-05, 06:26 AM   #2
jeffchuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: No Sound in Mandrake

nothing?
jeffchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-05, 07:08 AM   #3
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: No Sound in Mandrake

Can you post "cat /dev/sndstat" output?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-05, 07:12 AM   #4
jeffchuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: No Sound in Mandrake

No such file or directory

The part that I find weirdest is that I seem to have no sound devices even though the module appears to load correctly. I have no /dev/dsp /dev/sound or /dev/sndstat.


EDIT:
After running a full system update and running the sound config tool again, I now have /dev/sound but there is still no /dev/dsp or /dev/sound/dsp.

Last edited by jeffchuck; 01-01-05 at 07:34 AM.
jeffchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-05, 08:23 AM   #5
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: No Sound in Mandrake

That's bad, maybe you can create this files manually.
open a console -> become root -> cd /dev -> MAKEDEV audio
now check if /dev/dsp exists...

When not, then Mandrake properly use udev and alsa. So check out if you can modprobe snd_intel8x0, modprobe snd_pcm_oss & modprobe snd_mixer_oss. (You may need to rmmod nvsound)
Then please use "alsamixer" to unmute all channels. And try again (You can test it either with xmms, or "arecord | aplay" (just echo ) )...
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 10:13 PM
Mandrake 9.0 driver installation Andy Mecham NVIDIA Linux 3 10-02-02 04:12 PM
Mandrake 8.2 first time user... mcortz_2000 NVIDIA Linux 3 09-26-02 01:51 PM
nForce sound locking up system shroom NVIDIA Linux 4 09-16-02 01:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.