Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-02, 04:34 PM   #1
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default bought spearhead today

i got spearhead today and so far all looks good...anyone else invest in this game yet?( i havent tried multiplayer yet..im too involved with the missions of single player)
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 06:33 PM   #2
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

well i tried multiplayer, found a great server, and all was fine. the game is just as good as original, if not better. i suggest anyone that liked original mohaa, buy this expansion pack, you will not be disappointed at all....no i do not work for EA games.
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-02, 10:12 PM   #3
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

I have MOH and MOH Underground for PSX, MOHAA for PC and MOH Frontline for Xbox, and I must say that I love them all. But, this expansion just doesn't seem to be worth the money to me. I dunno, I guess I just got spoiled with the new levels and weapons that were released for free to those who bought a game. I'm disappointed with the way that EA handled the whole mod community thing and decided to ***** the game.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-02, 07:20 PM   #4
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

finished single player missions although i dont see how ea games claims there are nine new single player missions..i only counted 3 1)normandy 2)bastogne 3)berlin...then credit"s came rolling up and it was over,although there were long, it still doesnt add up to 9???. all of the multiplayer maps are quit good, but all in all for 29.00 this should have been a free download for owners of original mohaa. my advice:wait till www.gogamer.com has a deal on price, it will probabbly drop in a month or so.
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 05:40 PM   #5
CWB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 144
Default

I bought it Saturday morning, installed it, and turned on 2x AA & 4x Aniso. Then maxed all in-game options and played at 1280x1024. I was surprised to find it playing smooth with those settings, but the only part that didnt was the opening parachute scene.

Anyway, started Saturday morning and it was so damn good I played all the way through and finished at about 5 am Sunday morning.

I agree with Cricket, it was way too short. But here's how they arrived at 9 missions: there are 3 separate "levels" in each of the 3 missions, so for example, Normandy=
-level 1: airdrop to windmill rendezvous with British 6th Airborne.
-level 2: windmill to the Flak88 compound at river's edge.
-level 3: crossing the river to destruction of bridge.

If you pay close attention, you'll notice the loading screen change pictures; this was the only real indication of level change within a mission.

Anyway, MP is great too, but it lags horribly (and I have DSL). I'll play it more once a patch fixes this problem.
CWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 05:54 PM   #6
CWB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 144
Default

I should add tho that while the missions were short, they were intense! Funner than the first IMHO.

My favorite moment: The German ground assault during the Battle of the Bulge. From the moment the Captain screams "Here they come! HOLD THE LINE!" its pure adrenaline. All hell breaks loose on both flanks, with hordes of Germans charging the trenches and Panzers supporting from behind. Since every weapon now has the secondary attack mode, it actually came down to brutal hand-to-hand combat (Thank God for Heinrich's Blood Mod) and by the time we repulsed them, the trench was filled with bodies. I almost wet myself.
CWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 07:10 PM   #7
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

does Heinrich's Blood Mod work in spearhead? all the blood mods ive tried dont work in spearhead, only in original mohaa. do you have a link to download Heinrich's Blood Mod?
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-02, 07:31 PM   #8
ReDeeMeR
The Guy Next Door *wink*
 
ReDeeMeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 605
Send a message via ICQ to ReDeeMeR
Default

Ya I want that blood patch to, game's really intense and really good.
ReDeeMeR is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-20-02, 08:17 PM   #9
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

i didnt find henrichs blood mod but this one works really well too it is called "mr jingles blood mod"...download it here: http://www.lolclanserver2.com/blood.htm put the file(pk???) in your EAgames/ mohaa/main folder..after you unzip it.
also if you want to change the way your "HEALTHBAR"looks (in bottom left screen within game) go here to download the "healthbarpack mod"..it comes with 4 different ones, just place the one pk?? file you want to use in your EAgames/MOHAA/ main folder...only place one in there at a time., just read the readme, you ll see what im saying. download here: http://www.mohcenter.com/downloads/m...27&language=en
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures

Last edited by cricket; 11-20-02 at 08:22 PM.
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-02, 03:10 PM   #10
CWB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 144
Default

Yes, "Heinrich's Realistic Blood Mod" works for Spearhead. When I played AA, I downloaded every single bloodmod and tried each in turn to pick the best one. Heinrich's was the best over-all IMHO, because it gives a good body-hit puff and the splats on walls and floors are not huge like some others. It definitely seemed like the most realistic to me, and has been called "the best blood mod" on a few fan/clan sites. Heinrich's website is www.reichnation.com; you can find it there.

Other AA mods may mess up Spearhead because they apparently alter certain things? The scene in Normandy where you have to knock out the Panzer with the Flak88 is a good example. If you have a certain AA MP map in your main folder (I did), the tank will take no damage from the Flak. I forget which maps/mods cause problems, but theres a thread on MOHAA official forums that says. I wanted to be safe so I removed all maps and mods from my main folder except the blood mod. Then I was finally able to destroy the tank.

Last edited by CWB; 11-21-02 at 03:13 PM.
CWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-02, 03:35 PM   #11
CWB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 144
Default

By the way guys, some of the new weapons/MP improvements (cant lean while you run, etc.) and especially the large, multiple-objective team Tug-of-War maps got me thinking.

I want to try MP like it was America's Army. A small fireteam composed of different weapons, like a rifleman for long-range, SMG guy for close-in, etc. Good team communication, leap-frog advances under mutual cover, and so on. Some of the objectives are tough to get at if you dont have help, and there's alot more room and opportunity on the Tug-of-War maps for actual squad tactics than there was on AA MP.

Scope out the Tug-of-War maps and you'll see what I mean. There are several heavy-weapon emplacements all over them (Flak88s, MG42s, 20mm AAs, Mortars, etc.) that if turned into a team "firebase" could dominate the whole map. Even a small team, if working together, could win every time, even if the rest of the squad's off Rambo-ing.

If anyone's interested, let me know.
CWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-02, 05:04 PM   #12
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

i went to that site and downloaded henrichs blood mod, but it doesnt work while in a spearhead game for me for somereason. i put the pk3 into my mohaa main folder. it looks as if the file has been recently updated to a newer version or something in past few days. could you copy the pk3 file you have in your folder and email it to me so i can see if it works for me. the mr jingles blood mod i had working isnt that great. i removed that blood mod first but still no luck. please copy your pk3 blod mod file and email it to me. thanks..ill let you know if it works
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures

Last edited by cricket; 11-21-02 at 06:15 PM.
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIAGeForce: RT @MomoLoonaT: @NVIDIAGeForce Just bought my #GTX650 today! Totally k News Archived News Items 0 10-07-12 04:00 PM
Visual Studio 2012: Free desktop development tool out today, first update outlined News Archived News Items 0 09-12-12 06:30 PM
Tech remorse: the worst gadgets we ever bought News Archived News Items 0 07-02-12 01:30 AM
Dawn of a new wireless: first 802.11ac router available today News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 08:00 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.