Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-05, 02:15 PM   #13
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: Barton 3000+ to 64 3500+ quick results

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangSVT
What kind of computer or settings were you running on the Barton 3000+ previously? Because those jumps pretty huge. I have an Athlon XP-M @ 2.4GHz, 1GB DDR400, and I can get 59k in AquaMark3, about 19k in 3DMark2001.

Oh and I get 61.2fps in Doom3 timedemo at 1280x1024 2xAA High Quality with my Athlon XP..

Frankly it sounds like you jumped from having Barton 3000+, 512MB and 6800 GT with totally wrong drivers and nothing set up properly, because I get higher score than your A64 3500+ in Doom3 with an Athlon XP. I mean like, I was getting score of 14200 in 3DMark2001SE with my Athlon XP and Ti4200.
Yeah I'm with Mustangsvt I have a barton 2500+ running at 2.2ghz and I get some pretty good scores on everything, I'm right up there with the non FX series Athlon CPU's. Check out bench scores in my sig. Also what Mobo did you have b4, are you using the same gfx card? Sounds very suspicious to me.

btw I get 75.3 fps in timedemo1 doom3 @1280X1024 High Quality Settings
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-05, 12:58 PM   #14
TacT
mad paddy
 
TacT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: land of the leprechauns and cows that go moo
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to TacT
Default Re: Barton 3000+ to 64 3500+ quick results

FWIW I used to get around 50K with Aquamark 3 on my 3200+ barton core and DDR400. I did the same upgrade as the thread starter, kept my GT and score jumped to 70K at stock and 80K overclocked. 3D01 best run on the xp based system was 14.xxx which jumped to 22.xxx on A64 at stock and 25K overclocked. Farcry and ut2k4 saw such huge increases I didn't even need to bother comparing it was so impressive, likewise with other games -- everyone with an xp chip is underestimating the power of A64's at the right speed because stupid things like 3d01, 3d03 and 3d05 showing virtually no difference.

When you fire up your games, it's a whole different story, it also provides about twice the memory bandwidth of my old xp based system.
__________________
5.6K05 25.3K01
13.3K03
80K ARC
TacT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-05, 01:10 PM   #15
Marcos
think of me not at all
 
Marcos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Americas
Posts: 845
Send a message via AIM to Marcos
Default Re: Barton 3000+ to 64 3500+ quick results

Quote:
Originally Posted by TacT
FWIW I used to get around 50K with Aquamark 3 on my 3200+ barton core and DDR400. I did the same upgrade as the thread starter, kept my GT and score jumped to 70K at stock and 80K overclocked. 3D01 best run on the xp based system was 14.xxx which jumped to 22.xxx on A64 at stock and 25K overclocked. Farcry and ut2k4 saw such huge increases I didn't even need to bother comparing it was so impressive, likewise with other games -- everyone with an xp chip is underestimating the power of A64's at the right speed because stupid things like 3d01, 3d03 and 3d05 showing virtually no difference.

When you fire up your games, it's a whole different story, it also provides about twice the memory bandwidth of my old xp based system.

hell yeah ni66a
__________________
[64 3500+][MSI Neo2 Plat] [6800gt][Audigy 2][Hamixada is a fag]


<-- worst. smiley. ever.
Marcos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-05, 10:52 PM   #16
latinmike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 211
Default Re: Barton 3000+ to 64 3500+ quick results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos
everything @ stock speed
3dmark 2001:

3000+ = 14xxx
3500+ = 22xxx

Aquamark:

3000+ = 44xxx
3500+ = 62xxx

Doom timedemo 1280x1024 2x aa

3000+ = 40.x fps
3500+ = 56.x fps


thats all i can remember right now. im not at home so i cant recall the specifics.
did you ever try to overclock your sytem?
__________________
AMD 2500+ (2251.0) FBS 205.
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
home made case modifications
http://server3.uploadit.org/files/latinmike-pc22.JPG
Memory PC 3200C2 PRO/LEDS LIGHTS
3200 C2 PRO Corsair 1024 Mb.204 MHz. 2.5-3-3-8
CDR-W 52X memorex 16x
80 GB MAXTOR 7200 RPM
PNY GeFORCE 6800 GT 400/ 1000 MHz
350 WATT linkworld + two fans
nVIDIA Montor 55/72c load
CPU: 46c
PSU/350 WATT
WINDOWS HOME XP
please keep in mind that as of
UPDATED AS OF 8/29/05 (new)
I installed new memory and new mobo
latinmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.