Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-05, 11:33 PM   #1
Serial_Killer
Kensai
 
Serial_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
Red face Win 64bit and games compatibility

Would the windows 64-bit beta be able to run the 32bit games such as HL2?

Does it have some kind of 32-bit environment emulator like winXP's crappy 16bit one? (if so, is it as crappy?)

Would I notice a performance increase from my processor with this (My powers of logic say "yes, obviously" but I'm just making sure...)


thanks
__________________
AMD athlon 64bit 3000+ (NewCastle) @2.08Ghz, 1024MB ddr pc3200 (Generic) @208mhz, 256MB HIS Excalibur X800 pro IceQ2 (ohhhhh baby @ 519mhz core/510mhz ram), Gigabyte K8NS, 80GB hdd Samsung 7200rpm + 160 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 8mb buffer + 400 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA ... END TRANSMISSION
Serial_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-05, 02:42 AM   #2
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Quote:
Does it have some kind of 32-bit environment emulator like winXP's crappy 16bit one? (if so, is it as crappy?)
one word... WOW
i would call this crappy and yes they would run through WOW

just in case you dont know what WOW is it means windows32 on windows64
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-05, 11:31 AM   #3
intercede007
American
 
intercede007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Destin, Florida
Posts: 331
Send a message via ICQ to intercede007 Send a message via AIM to intercede007 Send a message via MSN to intercede007 Send a message via Yahoo to intercede007
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsam
one word... WOW
i would call this crappy and yes they would run through WOW
Yeah..WoW is horrible...

It will only allow you to run every single piece of software that doesn't require access to Windows 64 bit .dll's. The *ONLY* piece of software I could not run was Nero.

Yeah..it's crap
intercede007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-05, 07:19 AM   #4
opo
Opo
 
opo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

I can confirm that there are a lot of problem with XP-64bit . But My Windows 2003 freeze when i try to play HL2, and in XP64 i have no problem playng it...So from HL point of view..it works very well...
Other aplication 32bit and 32bit driver...forget it for the moment. Maybe some support will come later from bill...
opo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-05, 10:25 PM   #5
Serial_Killer
Kensai
 
Serial_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

well, I've been trying 64bit windows out.
IMO Microsoft have built a very useful and flexable system.
In 32 bit xp I get 60 sec for pi fast to 10 million dp, in 64bit xp I get 62. That is very little performance loss in 32bit. I ran 3dmark 05 and scored around the same area. There is practically no performance loss for 32bit apps. However, on rare occasion, I find a 32bit exe that windows craps itself on (such as aquamark3). but gaming-wise, all games run damn well wor an emulator, since I can't tell the difference between framerates when they are above 50fps all the time...

Does anyone know where I can get the 64bit version of farcry (exe/patch or whatnot)?
__________________
AMD athlon 64bit 3000+ (NewCastle) @2.08Ghz, 1024MB ddr pc3200 (Generic) @208mhz, 256MB HIS Excalibur X800 pro IceQ2 (ohhhhh baby @ 519mhz core/510mhz ram), Gigabyte K8NS, 80GB hdd Samsung 7200rpm + 160 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 8mb buffer + 400 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA ... END TRANSMISSION
Serial_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-05, 10:39 PM   #6
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Does UT2004 support 64-bit natively?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-05, 11:10 PM   #7
Serial_Killer
Kensai
 
Serial_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku
Does UT2004 support 64-bit natively?
I'm not sure what you mean by that... If you mean does it already come with 64 bit execution capabilities, I believe the answer is no.
__________________
AMD athlon 64bit 3000+ (NewCastle) @2.08Ghz, 1024MB ddr pc3200 (Generic) @208mhz, 256MB HIS Excalibur X800 pro IceQ2 (ohhhhh baby @ 519mhz core/510mhz ram), Gigabyte K8NS, 80GB hdd Samsung 7200rpm + 160 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 8mb buffer + 400 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA ... END TRANSMISSION
Serial_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 03:23 PM   #8
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Riddick has 64bit executables ready to go from Install..
hasnt tried it on XP64 tho, would be sweet if someone who has it, and XP64 would do some benching.

other then that, and Nvidias "Blobby dancer" tech demo, I dont know any other 64bit ready apps for XP64 yet.
I would guess alot of devs have their products ready for launch at or around the release of XP64 tho..

Farcry, HL2 and Stalker are a few games with announced support for 64bit, tho it isnt out yet..
UT2k4 is has a 64bit Linux port I think, and will prolly come out with a XP64 version aswell, tho I havent heard anything on that..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-05, 07:26 PM   #9
Serial_Killer
Kensai
 
Serial_Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 81
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolle
Riddick has 64bit executables ready to go from Install..
hasnt tried it on XP64 tho, would be sweet if someone who has it, and XP64 would do some benching.

other then that, and Nvidias "Blobby dancer" tech demo, I dont know any other 64bit ready apps for XP64 yet.
I would guess alot of devs have their products ready for launch at or around the release of XP64 tho..

Farcry, HL2 and Stalker are a few games with announced support for 64bit, tho it isnt out yet..
UT2k4 is has a 64bit Linux port I think, and will prolly come out with a XP64 version aswell, tho I havent heard anything on that..

I'm guessing that's a hint to install riddick and bench I'll get on it sometime in the next week
__________________
AMD athlon 64bit 3000+ (NewCastle) @2.08Ghz, 1024MB ddr pc3200 (Generic) @208mhz, 256MB HIS Excalibur X800 pro IceQ2 (ohhhhh baby @ 519mhz core/510mhz ram), Gigabyte K8NS, 80GB hdd Samsung 7200rpm + 160 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm 8mb buffer + 400 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 SATA ... END TRANSMISSION
Serial_Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 07:29 PM   #10
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,794
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

I think Chronicles of Riddick is 64 bit compat? No sure I see a AMD64 etc type folder in the installation directory of Chronicle of riddick!
__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 09:38 PM   #11
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsam
one word... WOW
i would call this crappy and yes they would run through WOW

just in case you dont know what WOW is it means windows32 on windows64
I thought WOW means World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUYA
I think Chronicles of Riddick is 64 bit compat? No sure I see a AMD64 etc type folder in the installation directory of Chronicle of riddick!
yeah i know what are talking about .. i can see that folder too in the system Dir :
Win64_AMD64

but the 64-bit support isnt mentioned in there engine features list .. so i think it dosent .
http://www.starbreeze.com/engine.jsp
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 10:37 PM   #12
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Win 64bit and games compatibility

I was thinking of installing WinXP 64, but is there any benefit to using it at all right now?

Also, I can't seem to find any creative Windows 64 bit drivers for my Soundblaster Audigy 2... is there any?
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.