Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-23-02, 12:50 AM   #1
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Question WinXP file compression!

If I use this feature on wavs in the games folder and the wavs are 50% of their original size, would I get a higher average framerate?

Does it apply to textures as well?

I remember this program made by the same guys who made Powerstrip and the program compresses the games exe files and it's supposed to decrease memory eaten and load time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.jpg
Views:	203
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	537  
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-02, 12:55 AM   #2
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

i doubt it. does this file compressor leave the files the same? ie a compressed .wav will still be a .wav. it seems like it's a much too elegant system to have been incorporated in windows honestly.

plus i'm sure we would have heard something about this before if it could do the things you were suggesting. it should be fast enough to try out for yourself though, shouldn't it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-02, 01:00 AM   #3
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

I already have compressed a 43Mb directory (Avernum 3) down to 17Mb.

Yes the wav is still a wav, albeit a much smaller size.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-02, 01:03 AM   #4
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
I already have compressed a 43Mb directory (Avernum 3) down to 17Mb.

Yes the wav is still a wav, albeit a much smaller size.
hmm, no kidding. props to Microsoft for a job well done then

and the answer to your question appears to be here http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...&threadid=4381
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-02, 11:16 AM   #5
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default

It won't help your frame rate much but it will allow those files to be read faster. Although it takes extra time to uncompress the file when read, its still faster than the time it takes to read the file from the harddrive.
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-02, 02:56 PM   #6
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default

Some games won't work with a compressed hard drive (SOF: 2). Atleast, it didn'twhen I had my HD compressed
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-02, 09:26 PM   #7
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raptorman
Some games won't work with a compressed hard drive (SOF: 2). Atleast, it didn'twhen I had my HD compressed
we're not talking about compressing the whole harddrive, just certain files.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-02, 10:02 PM   #8
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raptorman
Some games won't work with a compressed hard drive (SOF: 2). Atleast, it didn'twhen I had my HD compressed
I compressed the SOF2 entire directory and it works fine while playing it. It even loads up to 3x faster than before.
I am going to do this much more often. (compressing entire games directory)
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-08-02, 11:42 PM   #9
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

what's the effect on performance?
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 04:43 AM   #10
Raptorman
Former Marine
 
Raptorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jonesville, VA
Posts: 785
Send a message via MSN to Raptorman Send a message via Yahoo to Raptorman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
we're not talking about compressing the whole harddrive, just certain files.
Sorry, my mistake. Didn't read the post right.


I meant when the whole hard drive was compressed. That was my fault, sorry.
__________________
Southern Motorsports - My Shop
Southern Motorsports Facebook
Formerly Serving The U.S. Marine Corps
Not As Mean, Not As Lean, But Still A Marine
0331
Ramadi 2006, 22 MEU 2007
3rd Battalion 8th Marines WPNS CO
"Marines I see as two breeds, Rottweilers or Dobermans, because Marines come in two varieties, big and mean, or skinny and mean. They're aggressive on the attack and tenacious on defense. They've got really short hair and they always go for the throat."
RAdm. "Jay" R. Stark, USN; 10 November 1995
Raptorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-02, 06:26 AM   #11
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Like Dave said, nothing noticeable to me. :/
Then again I play with Vsync on.
Anyway at least loading is crack loads faster.

Quote:
Originally posted by thcdru2k
what's the effect on performance?
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Job of the Week: File System Engineer at LANL News Archived News Items 0 09-03-12 04:10 PM
A Better Bing: Personalized Search That Doesn't Suck, the Best File Compression, an News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 08:00 AM
RPM Source problems LaoTzuTao NVIDIA Linux 10 01-19-03 05:15 AM
Can't install NVIDIA_kernel.XXXX.XXXX.src or regular rpm noeffort NVIDIA Linux 15 12-17-02 01:22 PM
Which best to install Win98se or winme instead of winxp ? b5fan Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 18 09-16-02 11:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.