Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-08-02, 06:23 AM   #1
ajmould
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15
Default Can't mount drives inside extended partition

My hard drive is split as follows: -

hda1 - Windows
hda2 - Marks start of extended partition
hda5 - Another partiton that I use inside windows
hda6 - Another partition that I use inside windows
hda7 - /boot
hda8 - swap
hda9 - /

I can get windows mounted without any trouble with the command :-

mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows

However, when I try it for hda5 it won't work. It just gives me the error message: -

[root@public2-bror1-3-cust153 root]# mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/new
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda5,
or too many mounted file systems

I thought right, maybe too many things are mounted, so I unmounted windows and tried it again, but it still did not work. Any ideas? I'm using Red Hat 8.0.

I can even mount hda6. It's just hda5 that's causing the hassle

Last edited by ajmould; 11-08-02 at 06:26 AM.
ajmould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 06:37 AM   #2
ajmould
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Update. Have just tried running scandisk in windows and still no luck. The only other thing that I can think of is maybe that the drive is too big?
hda1 19Gig
hda5 37.2Gig
hda6 27.9Gig

ajmould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-02, 09:48 AM   #3
king baytor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 6
Default

I'm havin the same problem... and another one... i can't mount my ntfs partition.... when i try to mount it i only get to know that the kernel doesn't support ntfs...
king baytor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-02, 10:05 AM   #4
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

"Have just tried running scandisk in windows and still no luck"

Try also a "sfdisk -V -l /dev/hda"
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-02, 10:26 AM   #5
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

" i can't mount my ntfs partition.... when i try to mount it i only get to know that the kernel
doesn't support ntfs..."

Yes, either ntfs.o is compiled into your kernel or it has to be loaded as module. Mounting NTFS Read/Write is dangerous. Maybe the
latest driver versions are ok.
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-02, 05:30 PM   #6
kappax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Klaus-P
" i can't mount my ntfs partition.... when i try to mount it i only get to know that the kernel
doesn't support ntfs..."

Yes, either ntfs.o is compiled into your kernel or it has to be loaded as module. Mounting NTFS Read/Write is dangerous. Maybe the
latest driver versions are ok.
you need to recompile your kernel, but as module the ntfs needs to be. and dont ever mount in read /write
kappax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-02, 06:27 AM   #7
ajmould
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Klaus-P
"Have just tried running scandisk in windows and still no luck"

Try also a "sfdisk -V -l /dev/hda"
That gives me the following: -

Disk /dev/hda: 14593 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors/track
Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 0+ 2432 2433- 19543041 c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2 2433 14592 12160 97675200 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hda5 2433+ 7300 4868- 39102178+ b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda6 7301+ 10946 3646- 29286463+ b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda7 10947+ 10959 13- 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hda8 10960+ 11090 131- 1052226 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda9 11091+ 14592 3502- 28129783+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda: OK
ajmould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-02, 07:32 AM   #8
Ryo-Ohki
Fanatic Cabbit
 
Ryo-Ohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Masaki Shrine
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by king baytor
I'm havin the same problem... and another one... i can't mount my ntfs partition.... when i try to mount it i only get to know that the kernel doesn't support ntfs...
Use "insmod ntfs". It is unnecessary to recompile your kernel. Also, the default behaviour of mnt should be to mount the ntfs drive as read-only, so you won't be at risk.
__________________
Proud owner of a Hercules Radeon 9800 Pro

Tsunami
Intel P!!!-S Tualatin 1266MHz | ASUS TUSL2-C i815EP | 512MB PC-133 | Antec True Power 380W
MSI GeForce 4 Ti4200 @ 250/515 | Creative SoundBlaster Live! | D-Link DFE-528TX 10/100
2 x Seagate Baraccuda IV 60GB ATA-100 7200 RPM HDDs | Pioneer DVD-117 16x/40x DVD-ROM
Windows 2000 Server SP2
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 43.45 - 3DMark2001 : 8433

Windows 98SE
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 30.82 (WHQL) - 3DMark2001 :

Slackware Linux 8.1
nVidia Linux IA32 Driver 1.0-4191
Ryo-Ohki is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-22-02, 08:19 AM   #9
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Well, it doesn't sound like you're having the problems I was having, but I'll throw this out there anyway.

When I attempted to boot off of a boot partition, I found it impossible unless I placed the boot partition closer to the front of the drive. After doing that there were no problems.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-02, 08:58 AM   #10
Klaus-P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ajmould
That gives me the following: -

Disk /dev/hda: 14593 cylinders, 255 heads, 63 sectors/track
Units = cylinders of 8225280 bytes, blocks of 1024 bytes, counting from 0

Device Boot Start End #cyls #blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 0+ 2432 2433- 19543041 c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2 2433 14592 12160 97675200 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda3 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hda4 0 - 0 0 0 Empty
/dev/hda5 2433+ 7300 4868- 39102178+ b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda6 7301+ 10946 3646- 29286463+ b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda7 10947+ 10959 13- 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hda8 10960+ 11090 131- 1052226 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda9 11091+ 14592 3502- 28129783+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda: OK
So the windows scandisk was ok, well.

And a " badblocks -s /dev/hda5 " (takes a while) what does it report ??
If there will be no errors and you create a new directory, say " md /mnt1 "
and then " mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 " gives the same error hmm... strange.

Do also check your " /etc/fstab file. " - " cat /etc/fstab "

and you did always mount as user "root" ??
Klaus-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-02, 01:16 PM   #11
Ryo-Ohki
Fanatic Cabbit
 
Ryo-Ohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Masaki Shrine
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chalnoth
Well, it doesn't sound like you're having the problems I was having, but I'll throw this out there anyway.

When I attempted to boot off of a boot partition, I found it impossible unless I placed the boot partition closer to the front of the drive. After doing that there were no problems.
This sounds more like the 8GB boot limit, which has been taken care of in recent versions of LILO with the "lba32" parameter.
__________________
Proud owner of a Hercules Radeon 9800 Pro

Tsunami
Intel P!!!-S Tualatin 1266MHz | ASUS TUSL2-C i815EP | 512MB PC-133 | Antec True Power 380W
MSI GeForce 4 Ti4200 @ 250/515 | Creative SoundBlaster Live! | D-Link DFE-528TX 10/100
2 x Seagate Baraccuda IV 60GB ATA-100 7200 RPM HDDs | Pioneer DVD-117 16x/40x DVD-ROM
Windows 2000 Server SP2
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 43.45 - 3DMark2001 : 8433

Windows 98SE
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 30.82 (WHQL) - 3DMark2001 :

Slackware Linux 8.1
nVidia Linux IA32 Driver 1.0-4191
Ryo-Ohki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-02, 02:33 PM   #12
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Yeah, that's what I was thinking of. I wonder if it could be a similar issue, though? I was recently reading an article that showed a ton of different HD size limits (One was at 34GB, if I remember correctly...).
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital's new hybrid drives aim for thinner, cheaper Ultrabooks News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 05:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.