Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-02, 05:57 AM   #1
Matthius
Registered User
 
Matthius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MeH
Posts: 192
Send a message via ICQ to Matthius Send a message via AIM to Matthius
Default What to upgrade next...

Okay, so my computer is crap, and im upgrading it slowly. dont ask why, but i am. But what should i upgrade first? motherboard, ram, cpu? im guessing most of you would say motherboard and cpu...

MY COMPUTER:

AX6L Aopen motherboard
500mhz celeron cpu
192mb sd ram
geforce2 32mb
crap sound blaster sound card
52 speed cd drive
40x48x.....something im getting it next week.

yeah, yeah, its crap, but i dont want to waste all my money on a new one cause im getting a new one, but thats not at my house....too hard to explain, but i want the one thats 5 feet away from me to be good...what should i upgrade first! i'd like an order for all those...
__________________
NissanSilvia.com
Matthius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 09:40 AM   #2
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

mobo, cpu, and ram.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 10:50 AM   #3
madthumbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 188
Default

Sound card, dvd burner
__________________
my pos
madthumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 10:52 AM   #4
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by =SSC=The Baron
mobo, cpu, and ram.
^^^^
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 01:25 PM   #5
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

Mobo, CPU, Memory AND PowerSupply
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 01:29 PM   #6
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

all at the same time of course...
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 02:02 PM   #7
Ryo-Ohki
Fanatic Cabbit
 
Ryo-Ohki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Masaki Shrine
Posts: 94
Default Re: What to upgrade next...

Quote:
Originally posted by Matthius
Okay, so my computer is crap, and im upgrading it slowly. dont ask why, but i am. But what should i upgrade first? motherboard, ram, cpu? im guessing most of you would say motherboard and cpu...
Since there have been so many technological steps since the day PCs like yours ruled the world, upgrading the mobo is the obvious first step.

It means a different chipset (in a word a new CPU), a different kind of RAM also.

So you've got your minimum required upgrade package.

Then, FastM is right when mentionning the PSU, since modern components (especially the graphic card) are power-hungry. We're looking at preserving future scalability. A new case might also be in order depending on the one you're currently using (essentially for better airflow and overall system temperature).

After that, your choice. You can choose to get a new graphic card. Your new mobo will in all likelyhood support ATA-100, if not ATA-133, so it would be interesting to get a bigger, faster drive which can take advantage of it. Options are countless.
__________________
Proud owner of a Hercules Radeon 9800 Pro

Tsunami
Intel P!!!-S Tualatin 1266MHz | ASUS TUSL2-C i815EP | 512MB PC-133 | Antec True Power 380W
MSI GeForce 4 Ti4200 @ 250/515 | Creative SoundBlaster Live! | D-Link DFE-528TX 10/100
2 x Seagate Baraccuda IV 60GB ATA-100 7200 RPM HDDs | Pioneer DVD-117 16x/40x DVD-ROM
Windows 2000 Server SP2
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 43.45 - 3DMark2001 : 8433

Windows 98SE
DirectX 8.1 (4.08.01.0881) - nVidia Detonator 30.82 (WHQL) - 3DMark2001 :

Slackware Linux 8.1
nVidia Linux IA32 Driver 1.0-4191
Ryo-Ohki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-02, 02:16 PM   #8
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

A great option for you would be the inexpensive ( but loved ) ECS K7S5A motherboard.

It accepts both SDRAM and DDR memory ( so you can use your current 192MB and upgrade to DDR in the future ).

The best part would be the price....Newegg.com has the mobo on sale for only $56 with free shipping!

Add to that an Athlon XP 1600+ ( that overclock like a champ ) for only 56.99 shipped free and you've got yourself one healthy upgrade for less than $115!!!

( spend the money and get a good power supply though....it'll help when you go overclocking that Athlon XP )

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-25-02, 01:43 PM   #9
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default pelly you silly fool...

1600's don't OC well unless you mobo OC's well!!

<ahem>

That ECS mobo doesn't OC well from what I've heard in these forums, although it sounds like to many that it's a great starting point...

And Pelly, if you're not careful, I'll go to the darn feedback forum and start a long, laborious thread about you giving **** advice!

JK





Replace Celeron 500 w/Celeron 950-1.3?
Upgrade RAM to 384 or more?
GF4MX420 PCI if that mobo's PCI only... some OC decent...

This combo set up correctly would bang out UT2k3 @ 800x600 Low detail, BF1942 @ 800x600 med. detail, Quake 3 @ anything, etc etc you get the picture... Is that the performance you're looking for? Cuz if not then ECS all the way (unless you wanna OC)...


...yes I've heard about the OCer's BIOS, but realize some users' apprehension on that topic...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-02, 06:42 PM   #10
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Er....I'd think twice about a few of those suggestions rage....

Don't waste your time ( or money for that matter ) on a PCI graphics card unless it is your only option...Furthermore, with the rescent prices of cards dropping, you can opt for a GeForce4 Ti4200 for almost the same amount as some GF4 MX's...a huge performance boost for little to no extra money!

Chances are, you'll be using a new mobo in the very near future which will have an AGP slot. This will allow you to use a much faster card and will provide a good platform for future upgrades.

With the falling prices of today's "high-end" CPU's with larger cache, it seems crazy to opt for a Celeron. Here, the cheapest Celeron at Newegg ( 1.1Ghz ) is $45 compared to the MUCH faster XP 1600+ for $54. That will certainly be the best $9 you've ever spent!

192MB of SDRAM is plenty for the time being...It is almost a sure bet that you'll be upgrading to DDR in the near future...why waste money buying memory you'll ditch in the future? Instead, use that money to buy DDR memory which will improve performance and not be obsolete in a year.

OC'ing the system is an option...though in stock form, you'd still have MUCH better performance. For an increibly low price, you'd have a huge performance increase and would be more than happy with the results...

Let us know how things go and what you end up doing...

Good luck!!!


pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-02, 07:00 PM   #11
Matthius
Registered User
 
Matthius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MeH
Posts: 192
Send a message via ICQ to Matthius Send a message via AIM to Matthius
Default

err, thanks for the help. but what i have isn't actually that bad. i can run battlefield 1942 with almost no trouble...seams strange to me. ull well, ill just get a new mobo and cpu + case, cause mine gets dusty pretty fast. and i didn't realize how crap sd ram was compared to ddr untill i went too my friends house, we experimented by replacing different parts in my computer with parts in his, bla bla bla. thnx for the help
__________________
NissanSilvia.com
Matthius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-02, 09:11 PM   #12
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Glad we could help!

Just out of curiosity...two quick questions...

What resolution are you playing BF1942 with......and what GF2 card are you using?

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Last Chance to Upgrade to Call of Duty: Black Ops II Digital Deluxe Edition News Archived News Items 0 11-16-12 09:40 PM
Upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $39.99 Melfranks Microsoft Windows 8 2 10-29-12 10:30 AM
The Windows 8 upgrade install experience News Archived News Items 0 10-25-12 02:10 PM
Podcast: SCINET Derives 100 Teraflops from InfiniBand Upgrade News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 03:00 AM
To upgrade, or not to upgrade... jnd3 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 18 09-13-02 12:09 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ę1998 - 2014, nV News.