Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-05, 01:36 PM   #1
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default SLI, now unbridged.

(Didnt find a thread about it, might have missed it tho...)

So, im hearing that the latest drivers are supposed to allow SLI users to run without the bridge
And to go SLI without the bridge, with some performance hit ofcource..
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2005/nvid...2077.72/p1.htm

Feels a bit like a "in your face" to ATis Crossfire doesnt it?
If it indeed works that is..

EDIT
um.. I might have gotten this all wrong..
Reading it again, it doesnt really say you can mix them..
wierd.. must be the heat..

edited post accordingly..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 06:02 PM   #2
BladeRunner
BFG 7800 GTX SLI
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Dictator Blair's Kingdom
Posts: 246
Arrow Re: SLI, now unbridged.

That's like saying I can run to work without my running shoes on, my performance, (and feet), will be better off with them on and they are in the hall in front of me so why would I not use them?

If nvidia want to worry about anything it should be the reports that the ATI Crossfire will run everything in duel card mode not just selected apps, and that ATI cards, (at least the "recent past"), generally take less performance hit with high aa / af
__________________
ZeroFanZone
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 06:21 PM   #3
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

As I understood it, the point was that you can run PCI-E cards that dont have the bridge connection aswell.. arent there a few models that lacks it?
Still, your better off with bridged ones.. and I guess the only ones that lack it are pretty low end anyhow..

acctually when I first posted it, I somehow had the impression that you could mix cards.. different GPUs.. dunno why cause the link doesnt say that at all..
so its not as big a deal as I first thought hehe.. been a friggin hot day here, so I blame the heat..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 06:41 PM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

For i second i thought this is going to be superb news
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 06:51 PM   #5
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

SLI has always ran without the bridge.. this isnt news..
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 07:05 PM   #6
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
For i second i thought this is going to be superb news
Yeah me too..
sorry about that..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 07:10 PM   #7
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

Sorry for me sounding nasty. Kinda tired. Been worken with this new computer setup
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 07:21 PM   #8
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

hehe its ok..
I still cant figure out how I could have missread the article so brutally..
I was certain that it said that you could now mix for example a 6800GT and a 7800GTX..
then I re-read it, and sortof halfpaniced, cause I had already posted the thread hehe..
So i edited as fast as I could cause if people got to reading it (and gotten all worked up about it), only to find out it wasnt true, I would prolly have found myself in quite a tight spot..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-23-05, 07:25 PM   #9
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

Thats where the thread title's editing feature - if implemented for users - comes in handy.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 07:40 PM   #10
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SH64
Thats where the thread title's editing feature - if implemented for users - comes in handy.
Yeah.. thats why the title no longer say "SLi now mixed and unbridged" hehe..
And I thought the unbridged thing was news, so I edited to be about only that..
must have missed that when it was first talked about..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-05, 08:07 PM   #11
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

The bridge connection relieves the PCI Express bus of over 1GB/sec throughput. I cannot believe a no-bridge connection will compete with a bridged connection.
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-05, 02:51 AM   #12
Bluekkis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Default Re: SLI, now unbridged.

Quote:
but there is no problem in running your 7800/6800GT or Ultra/6600GT with no bridge applied, I've just checked with 7800GTX and 6800 Ultra
from http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=24164

Perhaps someone here could test to confirm that one?
__________________
{tatsu}[Gentoo Linux ~amd64][AMD Athlon 64 X2 2GHz][2GB DDR][nVidia GeForce 7900GT]
{yuki}[Gentoo Linux ~ppc][Freescale MPC7447A 1,42GHz][1GB DDR][ATI Radeon 9550]
{kaze}[Gentoo Linux x86][VIA Eden C7 1,2GHz][512MB DDR2][VIA UniChrome Pro]
{kirin}[pfSense x86][VIA Eden C3 0,6GHz][256MB DDR][VIA UniChrome]
Bluekkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX670 Quad SLI issue candle_86 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 12 07-09-12 10:18 PM
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 05:34 AM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 11:12 PM
GeForce GTX 670 Doesn't Support 4-way SLI, Possible with Future Driver Update News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 09:00 AM
GeForce GTX 670 2 and 3-way SLI review (Guru3D) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.