Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-05, 02:04 AM   #1
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Thumbs up New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

I know most of you that are running SLI use this board, a new bios was released 1/21/05.

V.1003
Dated 1/21/05

1. Re-translation item strings, value and help to French.
2. Fixed asus update 64bit OS fail
3. DMI information : Fixed AMD Athlon64 CPUs Processor Family will be wrong shown as Opteron
4. Support nVidia DualGPU PCIE VGA card.
5. Change CopyRight year from 2004 to 2005.
6. Support PEG for ATI X850 PCIE card.
7. Modify Cool n Quiet string and default value.
8. Correct Hyper Transport item string for multi-language.

Download Here
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 02:26 AM   #2
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

Thanks! Have you noticed any gains with this version?
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 02:31 AM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

I just installed it, so far everything is ok, but I tried overclocking too far and now I need to reformat.. haha
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 02:33 AM   #4
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

You're a renegade!
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 03:44 AM   #5
Ronin
Hardware is my hobby...
 
Ronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 186
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
I just installed it, so far everything is ok, but I tried overclocking too far and now I need to reformat.. haha
I take it the A8N doesn't have the gift of the Neo2 (where SATA 3/4 aren't affected by OCing), or did you get corruption some other way?
__________________
FX60 @ 3.09GHz - XP120 w/Panaflow M1A :: Armor V8000 Black :: K8N Diamond Plus :: 2x1GB G.Skill PC4000 :: eVGA 8800GTX :: 1 80GB Raptor (Boot) :: 2x250GB T7K250/2x160GB WD SE Striped :: 2x160GB Raptors Striped :: 2x750GB Seagates Striped :: Pioneer A09/Pioneer BDR-101AS :: X-Fi Elite Pro :: Gigaworks S750 :: Seasonic S12-600 :: G7/MS Natural KB Elite :: 2405FPW
----------------------
AQ3 - 182496 :: 2k6 - 13723 :: 2k5 - 18857 :: 2k3 - 37045 :: 2k1 - 57357
nVIDIA Global Forum Moderator :: LV2Go Forum Moderator
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 12:03 PM   #6
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

Yea, turns out it had to restore a backup registry file after Windows crashed, after that my sound would not work and reinstalling the driver did nothing.. I really wish this board allowed more voltage for the CPU, 1.55v is the highest it will take Not having much luck with overclocking, 225mhz FSB is about the highest stable OC I can get.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 01:03 PM   #7
Ronin
Hardware is my hobby...
 
Ronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 186
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

Hrmm...there has to be a way to up the voltage beyond that. I wish my box was done (I've got the board, the CPU, and the cards, and could build a makeshift box with that now, but I'm not going to), so that I could take a look at some things, too. This is not to say you don't know what you're doing, just that I'd like to see it, too.

I find it odd that the A8V has so many voltage options and that the A8N has almost none....perhaps there's a hidden keystroke in the bios to get to them?
__________________
FX60 @ 3.09GHz - XP120 w/Panaflow M1A :: Armor V8000 Black :: K8N Diamond Plus :: 2x1GB G.Skill PC4000 :: eVGA 8800GTX :: 1 80GB Raptor (Boot) :: 2x250GB T7K250/2x160GB WD SE Striped :: 2x160GB Raptors Striped :: 2x750GB Seagates Striped :: Pioneer A09/Pioneer BDR-101AS :: X-Fi Elite Pro :: Gigaworks S750 :: Seasonic S12-600 :: G7/MS Natural KB Elite :: 2405FPW
----------------------
AQ3 - 182496 :: 2k6 - 13723 :: 2k5 - 18857 :: 2k3 - 37045 :: 2k1 - 57357
nVIDIA Global Forum Moderator :: LV2Go Forum Moderator
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 02:10 PM   #8
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

Yea the older BIOS allowed a max of 1.65v, the new 1.3 downed it to 1.55v. This is my first AMD board so I may be missing something.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-23-05, 03:25 PM   #9
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
Yea, turns out it had to restore a backup registry file after Windows crashed, after that my sound would not work and reinstalling the driver did nothing.. I really wish this board allowed more voltage for the CPU, 1.55v is the highest it will take Not having much luck with overclocking, 225mhz FSB is about the highest stable OC I can get.
time to get on of them DFI boards jakup. you can give your cpu a whopping 2.4v on your cpu
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-05, 04:22 PM   #10
Ronin
Hardware is my hobby...
 
Ronin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 186
Default Re: New ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe Final BIOS

The MSI updates did the same thing, but allowed you to set 1.55, and then up to 10% over that in voltage increases, so at least it allowed you to go higher (or you could use Core Center, and up the VCORE to ~1.8V, iirc).
__________________
FX60 @ 3.09GHz - XP120 w/Panaflow M1A :: Armor V8000 Black :: K8N Diamond Plus :: 2x1GB G.Skill PC4000 :: eVGA 8800GTX :: 1 80GB Raptor (Boot) :: 2x250GB T7K250/2x160GB WD SE Striped :: 2x160GB Raptors Striped :: 2x750GB Seagates Striped :: Pioneer A09/Pioneer BDR-101AS :: X-Fi Elite Pro :: Gigaworks S750 :: Seasonic S12-600 :: G7/MS Natural KB Elite :: 2405FPW
----------------------
AQ3 - 182496 :: 2k6 - 13723 :: 2k5 - 18857 :: 2k3 - 37045 :: 2k1 - 57357
nVIDIA Global Forum Moderator :: LV2Go Forum Moderator
Ronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 05:15 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.