Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-02, 02:34 AM   #1
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default barton cpu compatibility..

i read on the frontpage that the nforce 2 would probobly support the barton CPU, will it be the same with KT333 and KT400 motherboards?
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 02:53 AM   #2
newbenji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to newbenji
Default

Dont count on it. maybe the kt400. But via will soon release a new chipset i think.

/Benji
newbenji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 01:39 PM   #3
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Well I was just reading the MSI forums today, and they say that the KT3 will not support the new AMD cpus with 166FSB but the KT3-2 will Qs with my board and many others on that forum, Sandra2003 reports that my board does in fact support 166 cpu and 166 FSB, so I guess we will have to see someone try and see what the outcome is. FYI not all the KT3 motherboards have the same chipsets according to Sandra 2003.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 02:05 PM   #4
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default Re: barton cpu compatibility..

Quote:
Originally posted by demonized
i read on the frontpage that the nforce 2 would probobly support the barton CPU, will it be the same with KT333 and KT400 motherboards?
I can bet a Toonie($2 Canadian) that KT333/KT400 WON'T support Barton...since Bartion will be 200mhz raw FSB...KT333/KT400 can't handle a 1/6th PCI divider...
Nforce2 on the other hand doesn't even need a divider...so Barton will work for sure...
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 07:56 PM   #5
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

It looks like my next system will be nforce2...
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 08:02 PM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

The KT400A / KT333A+ does when they come out lol
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 09:13 PM   #7
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dazz
The KT400A / KT333A+ does when they come out lol
There already is a KT333A but its not called that, its called KT333 CE on the chipset, and this does support 166MHz CPU/memory. As for Barton bieng a 400MHz FSB has that been confirmed yet?
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-02, 09:38 PM   #8
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokey
There already is a KT333A but its not called that, its called KT333 CE on the chipset, and this does support 166MHz CPU/memory. As for Barton bieng a 400MHz FSB has that been confirmed yet?
i think it was made official at Comdex...could be wrong though.
  Reply With Quote

Old 11-25-02, 11:19 PM   #9
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokey
There already is a KT333A but its not called that, its called KT333 CE on the chipset, and this does support 166MHz CPU/memory. As for Barton bieng a 400MHz FSB has that been confirmed yet?
They say that initially it will be 166...then eventually 200mhz...
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-02, 11:31 PM   #10
GodzillaFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 43
Default Re: Re: barton cpu compatibility..

Quote:
Originally posted by SocketAzzWipe
I can bet a Toonie($2 Canadian) that KT333/KT400 WON'T support Barton...since Bartion will be 200mhz raw FSB...KT333/KT400 can't handle a 1/6th PCI divider...
Nforce2 on the other hand doesn't even need a divider...so Barton will work for sure...
But most Nforce2 boards wont even run 400fsb/400mem stable. unless you want to run barton with 400fsb/300mem. Which would be even slower then 266/266.

I dont see a bios update increasing high mem/fsb stability. But I guess anything's possible.
GodzillaFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 12:13 AM   #11
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default Re: Re: Re: barton cpu compatibility..

Quote:
Originally posted by GodzillaFan
But most Nforce2 boards wont even run 400fsb/400mem stable. unless you want to run barton with 400fsb/300mem. Which would be even slower then 266/266.

I dont see a bios update increasing high mem/fsb stability. But I guess anything's possible.
What? What stability?
Infact, Anand has said that they Nvidia had Barton running stable at 200mhz FSB...
I'm just the messenger...tell Anand that he's wrong....don't tell me.
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 12:17 PM   #12
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default

Here is a dude's 3dmark score...running at 199mhz air cooled with 1.8volts...

http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=5120647
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Borderlands 2: is CPU capable of handling the PhysX effects? News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 09-22-12 01:00 PM
GameGrade3D S3D Compatibility Database Recognized by AMD News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-29-12 10:10 AM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM
Temp CPU until Barton... pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 09-13-02 01:42 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.