Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-05, 09:33 AM   #1
Sorrow
First Person Ownage
 
Sorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 492
Default The Doom 3 engine

Off topic kind of; Quake 4 is built off Doom 3 which is built off Quake 3, am I right? So this would be the first Quake installment that isn't being created using it's own engine type?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed... redefine success.

AMD 64 3000+ (Newcastle) @ 2.25ghz
Gigabyte 6800GT @ 375/1085
Corsair 512x2 DDR400 RAM
Soltek nf3 150 mobo
Currently playing:
--Everquest II(Activated!), WoW (Cancelled), Counter-Strike: Source
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/s0rr0ws.png
Sorrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 09:35 AM   #2
Daneel Olivaw
Northwood hugger
 
Daneel Olivaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

Every engine is buit on another... I don't really get the question.
__________________
-Intel Core2 Duo 4300 (3.0GHz) | Asus P5N-E SLI | 6GB Corsair CVS PC2-5300 | GF8800GT 512MB | Western Digital 1TB Raid0 | Antec SLK2600AMB | Antec Earthwatts 500W
-Intel Pentium4 2.4C (3.4GHz) | Asus P4P800 Dlx | 2GB Crucial Rendition PC-3200 | GF6800LE 128MB | Seagate 200GB | Antec Overture II | Antec TruePower 2.0 480W


Mild agnosticism —the view that the existence or nonexistence of God or gods is currently unknown but is not necessarily unknowable, therefore one will withhold judgment until/if more evidence is available. A weak agnostic would say "I don't know, but maybe you do."
Daneel Olivaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 09:39 AM   #3
Sorrow
First Person Ownage
 
Sorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 492
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

No but Quake 1, 2, 3 were practically their own engines, but Quake 4 is using Doom 3's engine which is quake 3's retextured and everything...right? I thought all of quake's engine were built from ground up each time? If not, laugh at me and call me a noob please

....or explain it to me :P
__________________
If at first you don't succeed... redefine success.

AMD 64 3000+ (Newcastle) @ 2.25ghz
Gigabyte 6800GT @ 375/1085
Corsair 512x2 DDR400 RAM
Soltek nf3 150 mobo
Currently playing:
--Everquest II(Activated!), WoW (Cancelled), Counter-Strike: Source
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/s0rr0ws.png
Sorrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 09:46 AM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

Doom 3 does not use the Quake 3 engine, I don't know where the hell you heard that. The Doom 3 engine has a horrible network codes available.

Quake 1 and 2 are also different since the Quake 2 engine is .dll based.

All the quake engines are unique, they might share some common aspects (using pak compression) but they are all mainly new engines.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 10:08 AM   #5
Holy Smoke
Registered User
 
Holy Smoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 179
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

Coming from the same company, I'd say it's only a matter of name. Had Quake4 come out first, we'd all be calling the engine the Quake4 engine.
__________________
It's better to be dead and cool than alive and uncool.
Holy Smoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 10:12 AM   #6
Sorrow
First Person Ownage
 
Sorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 492
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

oh well, I'm pretty sure I read it in PcGamer, it was talking about how the D3 engine was built off of Q3's engine....I was just wondering why Q4 wasn't being built off it's own engine but rather another existing engine.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed... redefine success.

AMD 64 3000+ (Newcastle) @ 2.25ghz
Gigabyte 6800GT @ 375/1085
Corsair 512x2 DDR400 RAM
Soltek nf3 150 mobo
Currently playing:
--Everquest II(Activated!), WoW (Cancelled), Counter-Strike: Source
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/s0rr0ws.png
Sorrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 01:06 PM   #7
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

If a company has a engine, and decides to build a new one, they generally use the old engines "framework" so to speak..
Doom III engine started out as QuakeIII, they replaced the renderer and worked on that, replaced the netcode, soundengine etc.
So the final resault is a brand new engine.

HL2 still has bits and pieces of the old Quake engine in it, due to this way of working.
They licensed Quake engine, rewrote alot of it and used bits of Q2 netcode that was reworked, and then started out with HL engine to build HL2..
So largly it is a new engine as almost every part of it is replaced.

This way they can hook up a new renderer to a "framework" with all other parts there, so its fully functional in a way, instead of just having the renderer.
Then replace the other bits as they progress and still have a "full" engine to work with alot the way.

So.. in short..
D3 engine is a "new engine" as any other (cryengine, Source etc).
Quake4 is being developed using this engine, by Raven Software on licence by id software.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 01:52 PM   #8
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

indeed.. Hl2 still use code from quake games.. probably if it wasn't because carmack license his engines or release for free the source code of his previous works .. the quality of the multiplayer games will be much lower.. Carmack impact in the gaming industry is far beyond the game titles he creates.. there are many developers that study his past works for reference and tweak it for their games.
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-26-05, 02:08 PM   #9
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sorrow
Off topic kind of; Quake 4 is built off Doom 3 which is built off Quake 3, am I right? So this would be the first Quake installment that isn't being created using it's own engine type?
It's also the first Quake game not developed by id. Raven is awesome though, so I can't wait to play this game. And I'll be excited by every new Doom 3 engine game that's released, since it's so awesome.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-05, 02:41 PM   #10
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
All the quake engines are unique, they might share some common aspects (using pak compression) but they are all mainly new engines.
They dont even all use pak compression, Q3 and D3 use zip files renamed as .pk3 files. Q1 and Q2 (and any game based on those engines) use .pak files which require .pak editors, rather than just winzip.

All the engines are very different. Some console commands have carried over through all the different versions, but besides that, I think they overhaul them every time.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 04:52 PM   #11
faithlesspreach
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

one little thing if quake 4 is going to use doom3 engine do u think it will reflect poorly on the netcode?
Since doom3 for multiplayer from what i heard its prety weak , or they can optimize it for quake 4 type of multiplayer games ,kinda like quake 3 lots of people on servers and running prety good


what are yours thougts about it
faithlesspreach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-05, 06:07 PM   #12
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: The Doom 3 engine

id didnt put much effort in the MP part of D3..
Has anyone tried the mods to allow like 32 players and such?
is the netcode bad? or was the limit of players set by id for other reasons.

If it is, I guess Raven will have to write their own netcode, Q4 is supposedly going to feature a bit more robust MP, even tho it is mainly a SP game, sequel to Quake 4.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regression with 295.33 and GeForce GT 240 maro NVIDIA Linux 16 06-29-12 06:47 PM
Valve's Source engine to power upcoming animated film News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 09:20 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
May 24 Webinar: How Do You Make Grid Engine Faster? News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.