Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 01-28-05, 06:49 PM   #1
wrugoin
Smugzilla

Default Will the 1st dual cores choke current games?

I was just reading an article about dual core cpus and it was mentioned that they'll probably be introduced where each core is clocked significantly lower then current single core CPUs on the market right now. This got me thinking. With almost all current games on the market only single threaded, if AMD comes out with a dual core at say...3GHz (1.5 x 1.5) won't this CPU choke on those games? Wouldn't they have to run at 1.5GHz which is significantly lower then the current 2-2.6GHz+ chips we have on the market right now?

I'm not a programer, so this question might sound stupid also, but would it be possible for current games to supply a patch to take advantage of dual cores? Or could AMD and Intel come out with a dual core chip that'll act like a single core to single threaded apps and games, and dual core to multiple treaded apps and games?

Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks
Memory: 6GB Patriot Viper
Video: GTX 570 @ Stock Speeds
SSD/HDD: OCZ Agility3 240G, WD750G Black & WD 2T Green
Optical:ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe, Pioneer 16X Slot DVD
Sound: Soundblaster X-Fi Xtreme Music,
Display1: Dell 2405 PFW 24" Flatscreen
Display2: Samsung 940bx 19" Flatscreen
Input: Razer Copperhead - Saitek Eclipse
wrugoin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-05, 08:31 PM   #2
Greg

Default Re: Will the 1st dual cores choke current games?

This is a very good question. Unfortunately I don't have an accurate answer for you. I do have some opinions though. I am a programmer and have some experience with multiple processors and multiple threads.