Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-05, 01:49 PM   #49
jcossin
-=> Indy <=-
 
jcossin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 476
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
Just enable SFR for WoW.
Chris,

Can you give some benchmark info on WoW? That's the only game I play and I would be interested in seeing how much (if any) benefit there is to SLI. I currently have a BfG 6800 Ultra OC and play at 1600x1200 with 4xAA and 8xAF and the game is smooth most of the time but dips in some spots like Orgrimmar. I'd like to know if SLI would let me crank the game up to 8xAA, 16xAF and still play smooth all the way around.

Thanks for the great info! A better read than the SLI articles at many of the major web sites IMO!
__________________
http://www.cardcycle.com - Send greeting cards and gifts with a click!

http://www.greetingcardsgirl.com - Check out the weekly Free Sale list posted every Sunday.

Asus G71Gx Laptop
nVidia 260m GTX 1GB DDR3
Intel Core2Duo P8700 (2.53GHz)
6GB 800MHz DDR2
64GB Corsair Xtreme SSD
500GB 5400RPM SATA HDD
17" 1440 x 900 WXGA+ LCD
Windows 7 64-bit
jcossin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 04:30 PM   #50
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Heh, WoW is pretty much the only game I play too. I finally got a working motherboard today (DFI-SLI) after two bad ASUS A8N-SLI's. I hope to be playing WoW on my new system in a couple of hours or so.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 12:03 AM   #51
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcossin
Chris,

Can you give some benchmark info on WoW? That's the only game I play and I would be interested in seeing how much (if any) benefit there is to SLI. I currently have a BfG 6800 Ultra OC and play at 1600x1200 with 4xAA and 8xAF and the game is smooth most of the time but dips in some spots like Orgrimmar. I'd like to know if SLI would let me crank the game up to 8xAA, 16xAF and still play smooth all the way around.

Thanks for the great info! A better read than the SLI articles at many of the major web sites IMO!

Well. My WoW account isnt active. I'd rather not put 15 bucks into it just to test this software. However if someone would trust me with their WoW account. I'd be happy to bench it. But I really would not rather not pay 15 bucks for 1 hour of testing.

Chris
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 10:20 PM   #52
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

I have recieved some questions about NFS: Underground 2 in regards to SLI.
By default NFS Underground: 2 will have problems with SLI in either AFR or SFR mode. However there are work arounds. Currently you have to disable Light Trails/Motion Blue for you to get SLI working well in NFS:Underground 2. Otherwise you will see no performance boost. AFR works fine in underground 2 however once you disable those features.

Keep in mind these results are without cars. The game is far more CPU bound than it lets on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	underground2.png
Views:	238
Size:	7.6 KB
ID:	10244  
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members

Last edited by ChrisRay; 02-11-05 at 10:38 PM.
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-05, 06:15 AM   #53
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

have found that SLI will work in EQ 2 with any of the 7x.xx past the 71.20 drivers. However it will require a little coaxing to work. You will need to find your nvapps.xml file in the Windows/system32 folder and edit these values in.

<PROFILE Label="EverQuest 2">
<APPLICATION Label="everquest2.exe"/>
<PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="400001" Itemtype="predefined"/>
</PROFILE>

That should get it working with people who have experienced issues with the 71.80 drivers. This will be my final post about EQ 2 as I will no longer be playing it. I hope people will be able to fix there current issues with the game. I am not leaving because the game is bad by any means. But it is simply not friendly enough to me to casually play. In regards to WoW. I may be playing again soon and will be able to provide benchmark data.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-05, 07:59 AM   #54
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Ok. For You World of Warcraft fans, SLI makes a pretty substancial difference for this game. My benching methodology was simple. I took 3 preset runs down the icy ramp outside the gates of ironforge. This is one of the most GPU intensive areas in game I have found. All settings in game were max with the exception of Bloom being enabled. The resolution was 4xAA/16xAF @1600x1200. The profile used was AFR.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoW.png
Views:	320
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	10257  
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-05, 01:21 PM   #55
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

You running WoW with SFR or AFR?
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-05, 01:56 PM   #56
PSYCHODAD
cereal killer
 
PSYCHODAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 1,042
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
I have recieved some questions about NFS: Underground 2 in regards to SLI.
By default NFS Underground: 2 will have problems with SLI in either AFR or SFR mode. However there are work arounds. Currently you have to disable Light Trails/Motion Blue for you to get SLI working well in NFS:Underground 2. Otherwise you will see no performance boost. AFR works fine in underground 2 however once you disable those features.

Keep in mind these results are without cars. The game is far more CPU bound than it lets on.
Tried your suggestion for NFSU2 and it works great using AFR@16x12. Thanks.
__________________
System #1
CPU INTEL|3rd gen I-7@3.7ghz
16gb memory Windows 7 home premium 64 bit
PSU Siverstone Zeus 850w
EVGA 660gtx
Logitech G400 gaming mouse
Dell 2407WFP 24" lcd


Video Games -- Why waste good technology on science and medicine?

Last edited by PSYCHODAD; 02-13-05 at 01:57 PM. Reason: info
PSYCHODAD is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-13-05, 09:09 PM   #57
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeydust
You running WoW with SFR or AFR?

I ran it with AFR. However I was a bit enthusiastic about it working with AFR. it does work with AFR however there is a very odd glitch. While not game ending it results in updating of player and NPC portraits. Some display properly while others display black. Its completely random but it does occur. I presume it has to do with the way AFR is alternating frames and only loading the 2d portraits on specific frames. I could be terribly wrong. So keep that in mind if you guys enable AFR.

However SFR also works fine and it yields similar pretty much equivalent performance gains. World of Warcraft uses low polygons so the loss of the vertex performance with AFR is negligable if even noticable. I suggest people play WoW in SFR for now. Maybe AFR will work in the future but it seems to have issues syncing frames and causes some peculiar glitches.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-05, 05:47 AM   #58
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Thanks, Chris. I have my profile for WoW set up for SFR.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-05, 06:49 AM   #59
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
I have recieved some questions about NFS: Underground 2 in regards to SLI.
By default NFS Underground: 2 will have problems with SLI in either AFR or SFR mode. However there are work arounds. Currently you have to disable Light Trails/Motion Blue for you to get SLI working well in NFS:Underground 2. Otherwise you will see no performance boost. AFR works fine in underground 2 however once you disable those features.
I think a lot of us have those features disabled anyway because 1) they interfere with FSAA and/or 2) they just look stupid.

But thanks for the heads up, good to know that it's possible to get it to work.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 02:15 PM   #60
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: NVIDIA SLI investigation

Anyone Know if the Matrix Online can be run in SLI?
It seems to be the only game I can't run fully maxed settings at a decent rate (and I knwo with my current setup it is only using one of my Vid cards...)
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
TechPowerUp: We have posted a new review: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 SLI http://t.co/9D3U News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 10:50 PM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.