Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-05, 12:54 PM   #1
metamatics
Free Software Zealot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 39
Default FAN running at max speed

Hello,
when i turn on my linux box the fan of my video card is running at maximum
speed untill i run X with nvidia drivers (modprobing the kernel module is not
enough).
Is this the right behaviour?
Does this means that the fan speed is controlled by the driver instead that by
the card itself?

Thanx
metamatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-05, 01:00 PM   #2
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

Apparently so, I wish nVidia would change their firmware to fix this.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-05, 03:06 PM   #3
erek
 
erek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to erek Send a message via AIM to erek
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

maybe not so easy? the fan speed could possibly be controlled by registers on the gpu core...? i'm seeing potentially a lot of code added to monitor if a 3d context is created.. and changing the registers if it's done this way... sounds like it wouldn't be easily done in firmware because of the bios flash rom size...??
__________________
[b]Linux localhost 2.6.11 #3 Sat Mar 19 14:50:03 EST 2005 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux[/b][center]
[color=blue]EPoX 9NDA3+ Socket 939 nForce 3 Ultra[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]2x 512MB Mushkin Dual Basic PC3200 (@ CAS 2.0-3-3-6 1T)[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]"BFG" GeForce 6800 GT "OC" (@OEM 370/1000)[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]LSI Logic Ultra 160 SCSI-3 Single Channel 64-Bit Controller[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Creative Labs Soundblaster Audigy[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Intel Pro 100 S Desktop adapter[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Seagate Cheetah 15k.3 18GiB 15K RPM Ultra 320[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Seagate Cheetah X15 36LP 18GiB 15K RPM Ultra 160[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Samsung Spinpoint 40GiB 5400 RPM ATA100[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Samsung 48X ATA33 CD-ROM.[/color][/center][indent]
[b]Kernel[/b]: Vanilla [url="http://frozenarctic.com/erek/SERENA.txt"][u]2.6.11[/u][/url].
[b]Settings[/b]: 4kB stacks, regparm, pre-emptive, deadline i/o scheduler, fast writes on, sideband addressing on.
[b]Video/Sound drivers[/b]: NVIDIA x86-1.0-7174 / ALSA 1.0.9_rc3[/indent]
erek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-05, 05:50 PM   #4
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

Most likely, maybe a program can be created for console that puts the fan to normal speed that can be run after root filesystem mount in the bootup scripts.
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-05, 05:35 PM   #5
metamatics
Free Software Zealot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 39
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

bump.
metamatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 02:53 PM   #6
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

*bump*
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 03:20 PM   #7
erek
 
erek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 220
Send a message via ICQ to erek Send a message via AIM to erek
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

heh, why the bumps lately? what if zander gets mad...
__________________
[b]Linux localhost 2.6.11 #3 Sat Mar 19 14:50:03 EST 2005 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3000+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux[/b][center]
[color=blue]EPoX 9NDA3+ Socket 939 nForce 3 Ultra[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]2x 512MB Mushkin Dual Basic PC3200 (@ CAS 2.0-3-3-6 1T)[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]"BFG" GeForce 6800 GT "OC" (@OEM 370/1000)[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]LSI Logic Ultra 160 SCSI-3 Single Channel 64-Bit Controller[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Creative Labs Soundblaster Audigy[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Intel Pro 100 S Desktop adapter[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Seagate Cheetah 15k.3 18GiB 15K RPM Ultra 320[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Seagate Cheetah X15 36LP 18GiB 15K RPM Ultra 160[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Samsung Spinpoint 40GiB 5400 RPM ATA100[/color][b] * [/b][color=blue]Samsung 48X ATA33 CD-ROM.[/color][/center][indent]
[b]Kernel[/b]: Vanilla [url="http://frozenarctic.com/erek/SERENA.txt"][u]2.6.11[/u][/url].
[b]Settings[/b]: 4kB stacks, regparm, pre-emptive, deadline i/o scheduler, fast writes on, sideband addressing on.
[b]Video/Sound drivers[/b]: NVIDIA x86-1.0-7174 / ALSA 1.0.9_rc3[/indent]
erek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 04:39 PM   #8
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

Whats he got to get mad about? He hasn't had to pay attention apparently for weeks.
Oh it would be a crying shame if someone here had at least 5 minutes of his precious time...
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-12-05, 09:32 AM   #9
metamatics
Free Software Zealot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 39
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

re-bump.
Is there any hope that someone with a minumun knowledge about how things
are gives me a sort of answer?
Seriously, if i don't run X and stay in text mode, should i resign to have my
fan running at max speed?
metamatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-05, 09:46 AM   #10
ZicoTheTux
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 182
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

It's the same with my card. The Fan only slows down if X is starting.
I do not know a software solution but there is a technical:
Do you know about these Fan Control Panels? you could easily build something like that yourself. I do not know the exact words in english, but i'll try to ecxplain it:
There switch with variable resistors. These are very cheap. (not more than 1$ / 1EUR). Buy one of then, wire it with the fan of your Graphics Card and put that switch in the backside of your PC or wherever you wish. In text mode you can regulate the speed of the fan down to 50%.
This should work.

For example: i have the Fan / Temperature Control Aerogate II from Coolermaster. This was a little bit expensive but i'm able to regulate the fan of the GPU with that. i don't do it because i'm always using X. But i regulate the mighty CPU Fan in the Case. My Case Fans are regulated by a temperature controlled Power Support from the PSU. These are very noisy with 100%. And the air flow is too strong. So if the Case Temp is low (wich is ever this case) it reguates them down to 33%.
ZicoTheTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-05, 03:32 AM   #11
CtHu
Registered User
 
CtHu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 4
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

hi guys, i have a geforce 6600gt agp, and i keep havong my vga fan at full speed even when x is started... how do you manage to slow it down?

im able to do it under windows using gainward expertools.

im under gentoo 2005.0 (amd64) and im using 1.0.6629-r1 nvidia-glx drivers.
CtHu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-05, 05:39 AM   #12
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: FAN running at max speed

The fanspeed is controlled by an external chip on the videocard. This chip (useally made by winbond) is then connected to the i2c bus of your gpu. This chip is only reachable using the gpu. Tools like expertool access this chip and then can read out things like temperatures, voltages and fanspeeds.

If people are interested I'm working on adding this sort of stuff to my tool nvclock but the only problem is that I don't have a card with a winbond-like chipset. Note that I won't write the winbond code myself as that is about impossible, you would need to have programming experience to help out.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU fan always at 100%, can not change the thermal settings legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 26 05-04-13 06:56 AM
Max Payne 3 for PC is Out Now and Comes with 3D Vision Support News Gaming Central 0 06-02-12 09:30 PM
9800 GTX and Fan Speed Control HarryMan NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 12:50 AM
in 307.11 don't read Fan speed with nvidia-settings sl1pkn07 NVIDIA Linux 2 05-21-12 11:08 AM
At what CPU speed Does the GeForce4 Ti 4600 max out? DenverBuc NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 10-08-02 07:15 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.