Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-05, 03:10 PM   #1
jake_maveric_05
Toyota Sprinter Trueno 86
 
jake_maveric_05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 273
Send a message via Yahoo to jake_maveric_05
Question 6600 better?

Is a Geforce 6600 256mb video card better or just as good as a Geforce4 Ti 4200?cause im lookin to get a new video card and I seen that the non GT 6600's are really cheap,so I was just wonderine.

THANKS!
__________________
Dell Inspiron 531 based -> AMD 64 X2 2.6ghz/ATI 3850/2gb of DDR2 667 RAM/Sound Blaster LIVE! 24-bit

3DMark05= 13081
jake_maveric_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-05, 11:24 PM   #2
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: 6600 better?

I would think even a plain 6600 would be better than a TI 4200,just make sure the 256mb of memory is not real slow compared to the 128mb 6600.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-05, 11:26 PM   #3
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: 6600 better?

A 256 6600 card will perform much like a 9600XT. Which is much better than a ti 4200. Plus you'll get much better Anti Aliasing and AF performance.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-05, 11:41 PM   #4
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,993
Default Re: 6600 better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay
A 256 6600 card will perform much like a 9600XT. Which is much better than a ti 4200. Plus you'll get much better Anti Aliasing and AF performance.
QFT
Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 10:12 AM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: 6600 better?

Yes the plain 6600 will outperform a GF4 TI4200

But you might wanna stretch for the 6600GT 128mb if you can. The 256mb means nothing because the card really doesn't have enough bandwidth to take advantage of the added texture space, so don't be caught up in any marketing gimicks. If you can afford the 6600GT 128mb then you're better off with that than a regular 6600 256mb. But if the 6600 256mb is all you can afford, then yes it's still an excellent card and will be a nice upgrade for you.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 04:33 PM   #6
jake_maveric_05
Toyota Sprinter Trueno 86
 
jake_maveric_05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 273
Send a message via Yahoo to jake_maveric_05
Question Re: 6600 better?

How do you tell if the 128mb 6600 is faster than the 256mb card?



Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055
I would think even a plain 6600 would be better than a TI 4200,just make sure the 256mb of memory is not real slow compared to the 128mb 6600.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 531 based -> AMD 64 X2 2.6ghz/ATI 3850/2gb of DDR2 667 RAM/Sound Blaster LIVE! 24-bit

3DMark05= 13081
jake_maveric_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 04:38 PM   #7
jake_maveric_05
Toyota Sprinter Trueno 86
 
jake_maveric_05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 273
Send a message via Yahoo to jake_maveric_05
Exclamation Re: 6600 better?

Yea i guess your right....But..i dont have that much. So im lookin for somethin around $180-$195. But your right i would be better of with a GT.Also why are the AGP video cards more expensive than the PCI-E....thats stupid. I have AGP and its older but the newer stuff is goin to be cheaper. THATS STUPID!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
Yes the plain 6600 will outperform a GF4 TI4200

But you might wanna stretch for the 6600GT 128mb if you can. The 256mb means nothing because the card really doesn't have enough bandwidth to take advantage of the added texture space, so don't be caught up in any marketing gimicks. If you can afford the 6600GT 128mb then you're better off with that than a regular 6600 256mb. But if the 6600 256mb is all you can afford, then yes it's still an excellent card and will be a nice upgrade for you.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 531 based -> AMD 64 X2 2.6ghz/ATI 3850/2gb of DDR2 667 RAM/Sound Blaster LIVE! 24-bit

3DMark05= 13081
jake_maveric_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 05:43 PM   #8
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default Re: 6600 better?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jake_maveric_05
... why are the AGP video cards more expensive than the PCI-E....thats stupid. I have AGP and its older but the newer stuff is goin to be cheaper. THATS STUPID!!!
Because the AGP version has a brdige chip and the PCIE version does not. They charge more for the extra chip and more complex design of the 6600 series AGP version.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro

Last edited by Gator; 02-16-05 at 07:06 AM.
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-15-05, 08:07 PM   #9
Cap'n Kirk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Marys, GA
Posts: 8
Cool Re: 6600 better?

Oh thanks for the info. That sortof what i thought was the reason...LoL thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator
Because the AGP version has a brdige chip and the PCIE version does not. They charge more for the extra chip and more complex design with the 6600 series.
Cap'n Kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 07:10 AM   #10
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: 6600 better?

I mean on some cards that advertise 256mb of ram is just to make it look like is a good deal when the 128mb is the better one.It will have in most cases slower ram like 200DDR (400) instead of the 275DDR(550) like most plain 6600 and make sure if you get a 6600 it is 128 bit interface and not a 64bit interface that some companies will sell cheaper but the performance will be bad compared to a 128 bit card.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 04:16 PM   #11
jake_maveric_05
Toyota Sprinter Trueno 86
 
jake_maveric_05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 273
Send a message via Yahoo to jake_maveric_05
Default Re: 6600 better?

Thanks. Ill look into it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055
I mean on some cards that advertise 256mb of ram is just to make it look like is a good deal when the 128mb is the better one.It will have in most cases slower ram like 200DDR (400) instead of the 275DDR(550) like most plain 6600 and make sure if you get a 6600 it is 128 bit interface and not a 64bit interface that some companies will sell cheaper but the performance will be bad compared to a 128 bit card.
__________________
Dell Inspiron 531 based -> AMD 64 X2 2.6ghz/ATI 3850/2gb of DDR2 667 RAM/Sound Blaster LIVE! 24-bit

3DMark05= 13081
jake_maveric_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for 9800 pro or 6600 nvidia series for cheap. austincraig23 For Sale/Trade 4 11-01-04 05:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.