Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-05, 10:21 PM   #37
noko
noko
 
noko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 735
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

I don't think that rig is a waste, I could bring it to its knees in a heart beat. I do see it useful in rendering 3d and playing a game at the same time, you wouldn't notice a slowdown with those dual cpu's. Great rig and having 16gigs of ram is just sweet plus you can let us know if you have memory errors and what not with that much memory. Venturi don't mind the skeptics here, your rig is just that unbelievable or good as some will say. In other words take some of the negative comments as complements, you just have a jaw dropping setup.
__________________
Gigabit DSL, Q6600 @ 3.4ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , PowerColor HD 5870. 24" Acer LCD, 1TB hd with Vista 64 Home Premium.

Foxconn 780G, Athlon64 X2 5600 @ 3ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , eVga 260 GTX. 17" MagAcer LCD, 120gb Vista 32
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-05, 11:39 PM   #38
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

Thank You

I was beginning to wonder on posting anything in this forum...

The rig was not bought all at once, the motherboard and dual sli is recent, but the rest of the stuff was there when I was using a single 6800 ultra and a Tyan s2885.

I use the rig for work/pleasure, medical imaging and software, but I also like to play games on it.

So far I have been able to play most of my favorite 32 bit games, but only Red Storm has a dedicated 64bit game out - and I was not very impressed by it.

I have run the Unreal Tournament 64 bit version on the Linux load, but in Linux the SLI isn't supported. SO I really can't comment on a boost fromn SLI in Linux for games. 3d accel does work for a single card.

So essentially, there is a lot of untapped potential, just wish more titles came out in 64 bit.

I was able to get Longhorn to run, but what a mess. It will be some time before that product is ready. The only thing i could really do was surf the net, but even that had issues.

The Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64 bit load (RC1) does an excellent job on 32 bit apps as well as 64. Except for Half Life 2 and Aquamark, everything else runs well on it. (Thanks to STEAM, I really don't mind not playing HF2).

Cli-Bench is the only benchmarling app that sees all the ram and both cpu's, but its benchmarking parameters are rather limited. Back-to-back tests gave noticeably different results - hence the lack of faith in the scores. Scores ranged from 21,000 to 40,000 - not exactly meaningful.

3dmark is a DX test, and does not really equate a real performace test. I used to use 3dmark for a quick idea of some tweaks and adjustments, but never managed to equate the scores with expected results on games.

Tyan did a great job on the board, I doubt I could find a compromise or shortcut. It even has (for what - I don't know) a power, reset and cmos clear set of BUTTONS on the board itself.

My opinion on SLI is still out. I will run game benchmarks this weekend and see/catalogue the results. Some results may be skewed since the 64 bit drivers are fully functional but probably lack the optimizations of the latest 32 bit releases. I'm using a developer set marked 72, but I agreed with Nvidia not to post or allow downloads - please don't ask.

the third party SLI tool does not always preserver the settings on the 64 bit load. Painkkiller has to be configured every time.

before, anyone asks, No, I did not bother with a 32 bit load first, I went stright to installing the 64 bit. If I get time/bored I might try it. But the 32 bit loads requires a lot of drivers, patches and tweaks, while the more recent 64 bit rc1, has many things already built into it and is actually less work to set up.

I forgot to mention one small problem, some of the office templates are slow to open/close - especially Excel and Access. I don't mind too much. I usually run Star office 7, which seems to run well - make sure you install the 64-bit JAVA from Sun. Maybe MS will release a 64 bit vs of Office for my lamentations.


anyhow, thanks for making the thread more professional,

Ciao

Jay Venturi
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 12:13 AM   #39
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Dual Opteron SLI - PICTURES

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venturi
Here are a few more, including pics of the 4 400Gb Hitachi SATA drives and the 16GB of Ram

Jay Venturi
Crikey,

That is a lot of hardware. Definitely, looking forward to some game benches.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 02:14 AM   #40
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Dual Opteron SLI - PICTURES

what's the seek time on those drives?
Killer, and I mean KILLER rig man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 02:52 AM   #41
mustrum
Registered User
 
mustrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,057
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
I see pictures as proof enough that he has the system.

By the way, awesome rig man. How about a trade?

And why are you guys saying its a waste of money? When it comes to computer hardware, nothing is a waste of money. At least not to me. If I had alot of money, I would have a rig like this. Without a doubt.

I think sometimes when people are jealous of something, they just say "waste of money" to justify them not being able to afford it. Awesome rig I would kill for something like that. Seriously
It'S a waste of money (though i didn't say that before) because it seems he wanna game on this rig. The second CPU has absolutely no purpose then because it's simply just not used. He would've a way faster system if he went for a FX 55 plus a decent watercooling kit. He'd have a 3GHZ AMD 64 then and would blow this dual opteron away in any game but Quake 3. (Most likely even in Quake 3)

Got my point?

Edit: I also did mention in my 1st repy that if he uses it for other reasons where dual CPU's are useful it is a killer rig indeed.
__________________
Intel Xeon X3350 @3.5Ghz
DFI Lanparty DK X38 T2R
2x 2048mb Apogee GT
Gigabyte 8800 GTS G92 (800/1944/2050)
mustrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 03:09 AM   #42
CainSyris
This is MY boomstick!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 179
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

I think that the system is awesome and so very expensive. Its nice to see what the upper limits of systems are capable of doing, no doubt.

I do think though the hard drives could easily be made faster by RAID 0'ing at least a couple of SATA WD Raptor drives or going SCSI and raid 0'ing a few 15kRPM drives and using the 400x4 as a RAID 5 storage drive.

Other than that, I can't imagine anything more than an overclock making that system faster.
CainSyris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 05:57 AM   #43
Templar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: in my PC room
Posts: 299
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

That's the baddest RIG out there. I'm pretty happy with my rig but this one takes the cream!

What PSU are using Venturi?

Simon
__________________
Here lies one
who's name is
writ in water.
"Keats".
Gaming Rig:
[FX-55][Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe][1GB CorsairXL][X850XT PE][4xSATA 160GB,200GB Ext. Firewire][Audigy 2@Cambridge THX 500W 5.1][NEC DVD-RW 3500][22" Mitsubishi SuperBright Diamondtron][PcPower 510W][TT Xaser 3 alu][Zalman Reserator with ZM CPU block and Swiftec MCW50]
Laptop (work):
[ ECS G551 Centrino 1400MHz ][ 512MB PC2700 ECC ][ M9 Radeon9000 64MB ][ 15.1" TFT 1400*1050 ][ 40GB HD ][ DVD/CDRW ][ WiFi@home ][ AC97 5.1 ]
Templar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 06:23 AM   #44
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustrum
It'S a waste of money (though i didn't say that before) because it seems he wanna game on this rig. The second CPU has absolutely no purpose then because it's simply just not used. He would've a way faster system if he went for a FX 55 plus a decent watercooling kit. He'd have a 3GHZ AMD 64 then and would blow this dual opteron away in any game but Quake 3. (Most likely even in Quake 3)

Got my point?

Edit: I also did mention in my 1st repy that if he uses it for other reasons where dual CPU's are useful it is a killer rig indeed.
He mentioned it was a work/pleasure computer and he does medical imaging and other stuff on it. So, it's dual-purpose and IMO, not a waste.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-10-05, 06:35 AM   #45
Templar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: in my PC room
Posts: 299
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

if he's happy with it, it's not a waste!
Those who have nothing to post about the rig other then BS stop posting!

Simon
__________________
Here lies one
who's name is
writ in water.
"Keats".
Gaming Rig:
[FX-55][Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe][1GB CorsairXL][X850XT PE][4xSATA 160GB,200GB Ext. Firewire][Audigy 2@Cambridge THX 500W 5.1][NEC DVD-RW 3500][22" Mitsubishi SuperBright Diamondtron][PcPower 510W][TT Xaser 3 alu][Zalman Reserator with ZM CPU block and Swiftec MCW50]
Laptop (work):
[ ECS G551 Centrino 1400MHz ][ 512MB PC2700 ECC ][ M9 Radeon9000 64MB ][ 15.1" TFT 1400*1050 ][ 40GB HD ][ DVD/CDRW ][ WiFi@home ][ AC97 5.1 ]
Templar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 09:09 AM   #46
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

As far as the amount of RAM goes:

Using the medical viewing software, if I open on the selector screen 4 MRI and 2 CT's for comparison, that can use up to 6GB.

If I invoke CT scans or plain Xray in excess of 1500 slices per study and the prior exams for comparison, then I can break the 9GB mark.

The page file is useless in this scenario since it would have to write it to the disks first before rendering. On Cine and fly throughs, this would end up being a lot of thrashing.

As for my enjoyment of games, I don't think the extra ram hurts anything.
Yes, boys and girls, there are bigger applications out there than games. Sorry, but some of the posts were second guessing the amount of ram. Well, that was my decision, 'nuff said.

Here is an example of a ram intensive application on a workstation I use at a hospital, the application can make use of ALL the ram if you let it.

Hope that helps those in need of justification....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	viewer.JPG
Views:	4208
Size:	171.9 KB
ID:	10221  
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.

Last edited by Venturi; 02-10-05 at 09:23 AM.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 10:03 AM   #47
BrianG
aka HalcYoN - Hook Em!
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venturi
You guys got boring with all the flaming.

I posted the pictures in a new thread.

Try and be civilized this time.

Jay Venturi
I don't care if you have the system or not (though I have no reason to believe you don't ), but that is the coolest PC I have seen in a long time, probably ever.

Only thing missing is a flux capacitor.

__________________
Brian - aka HalcYoN

photobriangray
Nikon D700 and D300s | SB-600 | Tamron 28-75/2.8 | Tamron 17-50/2.8 | Nikon 70-200VR I
10.5/2.8 Fisheye | 28/1.8 AF-S | 35/1.8 AF-S | 50/1.8 | 105/F2 AF-D | Sigma 150/2.8 Macro
Nikon J1 | 10-30VR |30-100VR | 10/2.8 | 18/1.8
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-05, 10:13 AM   #48
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: evga SLI 6800ultra DUAL Opteron

Now, that was funny.


....what lighting package would a good case modder use for that??

...and could we really use garbage and refuse for fissionable material.
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$119.99 - EVGA Z68 SLI 130-SB-E685-KR LGA 1155 Intel Z68 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Intel Mot News Newegg RSS Feed 0 06-27-12 02:40 AM
EVGA Dual GeForce GTX 680 2WIN Gemini Showcased, Featuring 16 Phase PWM News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:40 PM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.