Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-05, 05:43 PM   #1
dpagan
Registered User
 
dpagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 231
Default impressive hl2 engine

i just had to talk about this, man the source engine is awsome, my 6800gt died on me so i returned it and put my 64mb mx4000 in while i wait for my new 6600gt to come in (i'm not rich so this fits the budget perfectly) so i fired up hl2 just to see what happens and man was i impressed, the hl2 engine is flexible enough to run on a mx4000, be it in dx7 mode at 800x600, but it still looks damn good and it runs smooth, i have not used fraps to see how many fps, but i can tell you i haven't had a slow down yet, this game looks better in dx7 mode than many dx 8.1 games i've seen, i've been convinced it's not in how powerful the engine is, it's all on the programer to be more of an artist than anything else.
__________________

Spec's:
Abit NF8
Amd Athlon64 2800@2.25Ghz
1GB GeIL Ultra Platinum PC4000@ 7-4-4-2.5
160GB WD Caviar HD 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Chaintech 6600GT@ 550/1000
SB Audigy2


http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=36426
dpagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 05:47 PM   #2
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

I agree with you, my 9700pro died a few months ago and I've been using a 32mb geforce 2 mx400 I didn't even start playing many new games simply because I was almost certain that they wouldn't be playable. However 640x480 with everything low and it runs quite nicely. Unliked doom 3 which runs terrible (gj at backwards compatibilty jc) the source engine does a good job. Surprisingly Halo runs ok too, Far Cry is playable while still looking good, and naturally ut2k4 is pretty smooth.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 05:54 PM   #3
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
I agree with you, my 9700pro died a few months ago and I've been using a 32mb geforce 2 mx400 I didn't even start playing many new games simply because I was almost certain that they wouldn't be playable. However 640x480 with everything low and it runs quite nicely. Unliked doom 3 which runs terrible (gj at backwards compatibilty jc) the source engine does a good job. Surprisingly Halo runs ok too, Far Cry is playable while still looking good, and naturally ut2k4 is pretty smooth.
Every time JC released a new engine it has been one step up and made old cards unplayable.
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 05:58 PM   #4
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
Every time JC released a new engine it has been one step up and made old cards unplayable.
I remember quake 3 arena running ok on a 2mb onboard card.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 05:59 PM   #5
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
I agree with you, my 9700pro died a few months ago and I've been using a 32mb geforce 2 mx400 I didn't even start playing many new games simply because I was almost certain that they wouldn't be playable. However 640x480 with everything low and it runs quite nicely. Unliked doom 3 which runs terrible (gj at backwards compatibilty jc) the source engine does a good job. Surprisingly Halo runs ok too, Far Cry is playable while still looking good, and naturally ut2k4 is pretty smooth.
Doom3 wasn't meant to run great with every card on the market. The Doom3 engine was meant to be the future and push technology foward.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 06:02 PM   #6
Banko
Red Pepper Vodka
 
Banko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,155
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
I remember quake 3 arena running ok on a 2mb onboard card.
What are you talking about? It brought the leading cards to it's knees. I remember only playing at 800x600 on a Voodoo 3 3000 which was considered top then, that and the TNT2 Ultra.
__________________
Work/Gaming PC:
Lian-Li PC-80
Intel Core i7 860 @ 3.53
MSI P55-GD80
G.Skill DDR3-1600 8gb 4x2gb
Asus DRW-1814BLT SATA
ATi Radeon 5870
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Windows 7 Ultimate

HTPC/Second Gaming PC:
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Q6600 @ 2.8
G.Skill DDR2 4gb 2x2gb
NVidia 8800GTX
OCZ GameXStream 700W
Banko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 06:09 PM   #7
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banko
What are you talking about? It brought the leading cards to it's knees. I remember only playing at 800x600 on a Voodoo 3 3000 which was considered top then, that and the TNT2 Ultra.
Talking about what I remember, 2mb onboard p2 233, ran ok lowest settings. I know that Doom 3 is meant to push hardware and allow for a long future but shunning older computers so much is either a bad decision or bad coding. I still think Doom 3 is a top game but why it runs so slow with no shadows, no bump maps and low res textures is a mystery to me
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 06:12 PM   #8
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by nutcrackr
I remember quake 3 arena running ok on a 2mb onboard card.
I tried running Q3 on a friends puter once, Built in Ati Rage pro 2 or something along those lines, 4 mb ram onboard ... "agp" bah!

While it did infact start with proper drivers installed the performance was terrible!

This was on a p2 400mhz

It ran much better on my older Amd k6-2 266mhz with the first Riva TnT 16mb agp.

What, you stuck that 2mb card in a modern puter ? I cant see how Q2 could ever run on 2mb vram.
Back to topic...

The source engine _could_ be better I guess ... or rather HL2. Loading times are terrible! and FX support could have been better.

Of course if you strip all the goodies away you endup with a dx7 game, those run pretty good on Dx7 cards on recent hardware.

If I still had my old Geforce2mx Id do some 3d marks with it, to compare the scores with the old ones I still have Would be fun to see just how much the cpu/mem speed does to an older card.

EDIT: nevermind that about the 2mb vram card in a new puter, you replied at the same time as I did
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-05, 06:52 PM   #9
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Source is pretty GPU lenient, it depends much more on your CPU. It does have a few limitations though, like the really crappy lighting system in DX7 mode, and the water effects are only DX7 when using a GF3, but otherwise it's a pretty scalable engine. Loading times and stuttering kinda suck, but at least it usually runs pretty well.

If you REALLY want to be impressed though, play it on a PC with an "intel integrated extreme" chip. I was amazed when it was actually playable on my parent's computer with that card at 800x600.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 07:33 PM   #10
dpagan
Registered User
 
dpagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 231
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

it's without a doubt scalable and i know some effects look a little crappy but overall it's pretty impressive the visuals you get when ran on dx7, i believe all developers should scale there engines this way it just makes more sence, more people can play= more games get sold (unless they are helping hardware companys push there products, hell who knows)
__________________

Spec's:
Abit NF8
Amd Athlon64 2800@2.25Ghz
1GB GeIL Ultra Platinum PC4000@ 7-4-4-2.5
160GB WD Caviar HD 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Chaintech 6600GT@ 550/1000
SB Audigy2


http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=36426
dpagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 09:18 PM   #11
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

I dunno... I don't really like the idea of scabaility. I mean, how long is it gonna take for companies to finally drop the geforce4mx support??!! It doesnt even support PS 1.1! IMO, we would have better looking games, etc. If they could concentrate more on the med- high end range. An nvidia 5700/9600 and above is what they should target IMO. I mean, they cost like what $100??!!

Back in the old games it seemed as if games were more on the cutting edge of hardware. We didn't need AA/AF. Nowadays, our hardware is so much faster than the games, we force AA/AF. Sometimes in the computer industry, you need to FORCE an upgrade. Thats the only way we are gonna get rid of CD-Roms, and thats the only way we are gonna have next-gen engines.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-05, 10:10 PM   #12
dpagan
Registered User
 
dpagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 231
Default Re: impressive hl2 engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
I dunno... I don't really like the idea of scabaility. I mean, how long is it gonna take for companies to finally drop the geforce4mx support??!! It doesnt even support PS 1.1! IMO, we would have better looking games, etc. If they could concentrate more on the med- high end range. An nvidia 5700/9600 and above is what they should target IMO. I mean, they cost like what $100??!!

Back in the old games it seemed as if games were more on the cutting edge of hardware. We didn't need AA/AF. Nowadays, our hardware is so much faster than the games, we force AA/AF. Sometimes in the computer industry, you need to FORCE an upgrade. Thats the only way we are gonna get rid of CD-Roms, and thats the only way we are gonna have next-gen engines.
well 5700/9600 is a good start due to the age of the hardware, but they shouldn't go beyond that there are many who can only afford cards like those, i believe they should do as consoles do, give there engine's scalability for at least the past 5 or 4 years of GFX, now that the next gen of consoles claim they are going to be more powerful than most pc's, this will at least keep the pc in a competitive light
__________________

Spec's:
Abit NF8
Amd Athlon64 2800@2.25Ghz
1GB GeIL Ultra Platinum PC4000@ 7-4-4-2.5
160GB WD Caviar HD 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Chaintech 6600GT@ 550/1000
SB Audigy2


http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=36426
dpagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square Enix Luminous Engine - Now this is impressive mojoman0 Gaming Central 14 07-01-12 11:29 PM
Regression with 295.33 and GeForce GT 240 maro NVIDIA Linux 16 06-29-12 06:47 PM
Gorgeous Unreal Engine 4 brings direct programming, indirect lighting News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 09:20 PM
Star Wars 1313 running on Unreal Engine 3 on PC at E3, will be linear and light on Je News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:20 AM
May 24 Webinar: How Do You Make Grid Engine Faster? News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.