Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-02, 12:03 PM   #1
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default Nforce2 and Soundstorm

Is it true that not all motherboard manufacturers are incorporating the true Soundstorm APU by Nvidia? If so, which companies are staying true to Nvidia's original nForce2/Soundstorm design? Or am I way off?
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 02:25 PM   #2
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Chaintechs nForce2 doens't use the APU at all.
ASUS has a custom design which loses a few options if you install the default drivers....but you still can.

I don't know of anyone else screwing with it.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 03:10 PM   #3
anxdiety
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ontario
Posts: 116
Send a message via Yahoo to anxdiety
Default

I've been looking at the Asus board and was wondering what options do you lose if going to the generic drivers? There's no mention of just what you lose anywhere that i have seen.
anxdiety is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 03:33 PM   #4
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
ASUS specific audio changes:


1. TAD (modem/speakerphon) now shows up as an option
2. Microphone 2 becomes the default Microphone device
3. SPDIF In support is enabled if the I/O bracket is available


We're pretty sure that's it. They shipped 2.99 drivers and the generic release is now 3.06. Lots of little fixes in between.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 04:31 PM   #5
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin
Savage...would you say its a major change from the original desing? From what you posted, it doesn't seem like it.

I'm going to wait for the Abit nForce2 board and see how these guys do it.
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 04:42 PM   #6
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

i know for sure the Leadtek one uses all nForce Audio, And from benchmarks i have seen is the fastest yet, by more than just a little...
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-02, 05:01 PM   #7
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SocketAzzWipe
Savage...would you say its a major change from the original desing? From what you posted, it doesn't seem like it.

I'm going to wait for the Abit nForce2 board and see how these guys do it.
No, I definately would not...

...judging by my nv7-133r, good call
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.