Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-05, 09:59 PM   #13
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Talking Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Venturi got any kids ? please adopt me
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 11:16 PM   #14
majestic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

screw adoption, marry me!
majestic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-05, 11:17 PM   #15
MUYA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 6,795
Send a message via MSN to MUYA
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

__________________
I5-2500k@4.7GHz - MSI Z77A-GD65 - 4GB X2 A-DATA DDR3 1600 - Corsair H100 - Antec Quatro 850W
Gigabyte Windforce X3 GTX 680 OC - Dell 24" IPS
Intel 320 300 GB SSD - 1 TB Hitachi HDD - 2x 250 GB WD HDD
Corsair K90 - Corsair Venegance 2000 Headset - Razer Naga Epic
Corsair 600T Case
MUYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 01:19 AM   #16
Neova
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 92
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Nice specs. Any HL2 or CS Source benchmarks? I really need to upgrade my rig from 2002 specs.
Neova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 01:49 AM   #17
Tare69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

You must try with "X2: The Threat" benchmarks, please, I really need to know

http://www.egosoft.com/download/x2/demos_en.php

--
Tare69
Tampere, Finland
Tare69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 02:46 PM   #18
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

I will run the x2 benchies and post.

I cannot run reliable H2 or CS source as there are some program behavior issues for those two on my 64-bit load. Sorry.


If I reload with the 32 bit OS, I will be glad to do the H2 and CS benchies for you.

VENTURI
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 04:27 PM   #19
jdgonko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Exclamation Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Venturi:

I have the Lian-Li 2100B (only difference is a front lockable door I think).

Anyway, have you noticed that the HD units become extremely hot, even with that area's exhaust fan??? The eight I have operating did just that before I installed two intake fans below each side-by-side stack of drives that pull air in through the holes in the bottom of the case. Now, the area stays quite cool.

Plus, I attached an "external fan", via double-side foam tape, in the area above the rear exhaust fan where the air is supposed to intake to the mainboard area. It pumps cool outside air into the case at high speed (helps keep the 6800GT card cooler too). The Supermicro utility says the system and CPU's never go above 100F now.

Just my suggestions as you mentioned overclocking it soon.
Joe
jdgonko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-05, 04:28 PM   #20
freebrew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Please post some pictures...plz!!!

Plus some HDTach bench's, and some Seti@home, RC72 --Distributed.NET (For A Buddy Of Mine And Me)

Plz Plz
freebrew is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-05, 12:30 PM   #21
jdgonko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Question Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Photos and benches of mine or Venturi's system??

(I'm assuming Venturi's as mine doesn't even come close, haha)

Plus, I'm a dual 3.2GHz 800fsb Xeon system. Those Opterons are EXPENSIVE!

Joe
Attached Images
 

Last edited by jdgonko; 02-17-05 at 12:52 PM. Reason: Uploading of fun icon...
jdgonko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-05, 03:50 PM   #22
freebrew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Venturi's Super Desktop Beast -- Of Course.

Question For Venturi..."So, how much are you into this machine for...so far $$$$?"

I want also, but maybe settle for the machine one grade lower...without the Dual X16 PCIe, but the one with Dual 8X 8X SLI -- 2893?? -- Not posted yet on Tyan's Website.

Yummy.....Freebrew Want!!
freebrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-05, 06:02 PM   #23
jdgonko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

That's what I thought, heh.

I was looking for a dual Opteron board with dual PCIe-16 slots but none existed at the time I bought my Supermicro X6DAE-G2 board.

Even then, I noticed that those Opteron 250 processors are around $700 each whereas my 3.2 Xeons are only around $335 each (at the current time).

I'd really like to know how much AMD's hypertransport memory scheme improves performance (versus Intel's E7525 chipset with the 6700PXH hub controlling memory and all other data transfer paths).

Specifically, if the Opteron CPU's are directly connected to the system memory, does that mean DMA channels do not exist which would allow direct PCI of PCIe device to memory transfers?? In other words, hypertransport requires that the data pass-through the CPU's all the time for it to reach the memory chips??

Curious to know about that.
Joe
jdgonko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-05, 09:12 PM   #24
Florida Doc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Dual OPTERON SLI BENCHMARKS

Quote:
Originally Posted by tvadakia
What case are you using? I just ordered my Tyan motherboard... but am still looking for a tower case that suits my needs.
I've been wanting to get the Tyan K8WE. Where did you order it from?
Florida Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 05:34 AM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 03:02 PM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 09:23 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 01:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.