Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-05, 10:24 PM   #1
f|LtH fR@g
 
f|LtH fR@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City 17
Posts: 93
Default New Battlefield 2 Screens

I dunno guys, the more I see, the worse it looks. Here's to hoping the gameplay holds up

http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/35808
__________________
@643200+ 1MB Cache / 1024 PC-3200 DDR 400 / eVGA 6800 GT / WD 120 GB HD + 8MB Cache / Dvd 16x/cd-r 52x /
f|LtH fR@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-05, 11:21 PM   #2
Geordan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 91
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

That looks incredible, but it's just such a shame that such an amazingly detailed setting gets puts to waste on unrealistic arcade gameplay.

-Geordan
Geordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-05, 11:31 PM   #3
Sgt_Pitt
Registered User
 
Sgt_Pitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 820
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

in your opinion
__________________
i7 920 640g/b Raid 0 Corsair 64gig SSD Gigabyte EX58-UD3R 3x 27" Eyefinity 2x5870 crossfire Antec true 750w Logitech G15 6 gig kingston ddr3 1033
Windows 7 x64 Web design:http://www.advancedws.com.au:http://www.nobletrading.com.au:http://www.rackingaudits.com.au:http://www.imhandling.com.au
Sgt_Pitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 12:23 AM   #4
circuitbreaker8
 
circuitbreaker8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 655
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geordan
That looks incredible, but it's just such a shame that such an amazingly detailed setting gets puts to waste on unrealistic arcade gameplay.

-Geordan

Eh? Not everyone hates super realistic games...i mean...if I want "super realistic" i'll pull out my M4 and start shooting random people. I get 1 billion x 1 billion resolution, 100,000xAA, 500,000x AF, and DD 100 suround sound.


Seriously though, BF series is meant to be fun.

EDIT

http://www.shacknews.com/screens.x/b...set2_full6.jpg

__________________
ll Cooler Master Praetorian WTX Form ll OCZ PowerStream 520 ll AMD Athlon 64 3400 ClawHammer CG@2.55Ghz ll Zalman 7000Cu ll DFI LanParty UT nF3 250Gb ll OCZ EL Platinum 3200 rev2 3200 @ 255Mhz 2.5-3-3-7(2x512Mb) ll Gigabyte X800XT PE 256Mb GDDR3 VIVO@580/580 ll Arctic Silencer 4 ll SB Audigy 2 ZS ll Logitech Z-560 THX 4.1 ll NEC FE991Sb 19" CRT ll 14.9k in 3dmark03! :eek:

Last edited by circuitbreaker8; 02-19-05 at 12:34 AM.
circuitbreaker8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 12:57 AM   #5
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Hmm, every time I see this game it seems to look different. I just finished reading the preview in the new PC Gamer and it looks like it's using an entirely different engine!
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 01:44 AM   #6
Beng
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

"Will u be able to lean or roll in the game? If yes, will you be able to lean and run? Will the accuracy be lower while leaning and will you be able to shoot while rolling?

A: Leaning and rolling are not implemented in BF2. We donít feel these are compatible with an arcade, Battlefield-style experience."



Mmm, bad feeling about this. Why for heaven sake no 'leaning'?

http://www.realityfriends.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=573

Last edited by Beng; 02-19-05 at 02:13 AM.
Beng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 02:35 AM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beng
Mmm, bad feeling about this. Why for heaven sake no 'leaning'?
It takes way too long. The game is too fast paced for leaning. Besides, taking a step out to look then taking a step back works fine AND you can actually shoot if you spot an enemy when you lean.

Plus, battlefield already has a whole mess of controls. I dont think I have room in my control scheme for 2 more keys, so I probably just wouldnt use them... thats how most people would probably look at it.

I cant really think of a non-sim-like FPS game that has had leaning and made it useful. And itd probably be an unnecessary hassle to add leaning into the controls, the models, the animations, the shooting\aiming and into map balance. Itd probably be useful for some people in some situations, but I dont think itd warrant holding the game back another month or two to make sure it worked properly (since it isnt programmed into the engine at all from what i can tell).

EDIT: I just noticed something. It looks like they are probably adding sprinting (running faster without being able to shoot) judging by the way the soldier is running in this picture.
http://www.shacknews.com/screens.x/b...l_02_large.jpg
Either that or they are doing the most irritating thing ever. Making models that dont reflect where they are aiming (since his gun is pointing sideways but hes looking forward). I really doubt they would do this though since bf1942 had it pretty much perfect... I really hope they added sprinting, because it works a lot better than bunny hopping when you need to escape a nasty situation, AND it looks a lot less rediculous.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 02:44 AM   #8
Beng
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 86
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
I cant really think of a non-sim-like FPS game that has had leaning and made it useful.
Joint Operations (and earlier Delta Force games), Call of Duty, MoHPA, FarCry etc.

It's nice to put only your upper body/rifle around a corner or tree for looking/shooting, just as in real life. I simply cannot see why adding this feature
is "bad" for a game, even if they like to call it an "arcade" game.
Beng is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-19-05, 03:00 AM   #9
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beng
Joint Operations (and earlier Delta Force games), Call of Duty, MoHPA, FarCry etc.

It's nice to put only your upper body/rifle around a corner or tree for looking/shooting, just as in real life. I simply cannot see why adding this feature
is "bad" for a game, even if they like to call it an "arcade" game.
I guess you're right, it would add to it, but I wouldnt see myself having time to use it often.

And I didnt mean to make it sound like no games use the feature... I havent had the money to purchase any of the games you listed, so I had no idea that many actually used it. My mistake .

If they did add it, id probably bind the controls for it... but I wont really miss it if its not there. Thats my stance on it.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 06:48 AM   #10
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

If you have played battlefield 1942 and Desert Combat you will know why you don't need to lean. As said earlier the game pace is just way too fast.
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 11:02 AM   #11
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Quote:
Joint Operations (and earlier Delta Force games), Call of Duty, MoHPA, FarCry etc.
And how many of those have multiplayer battles with BF-style scale? I'm not trying to bash them, but these games aren't "simulations". In CoD:UO, the tank and vehicle physics are ten times more arcadey than in Battlefield. In Joint Operations, the helicopter doesn't have any kind of sensitivity, all you do to stop it and land is not press anything so it stops automatically, then press the button "height down", or with the boat, if you press stop pressing acceleration, it stops instantly, it doesn't keep going forward a bit and gradually stop. In MoH:PA, the game plain sucks when compared to BF, CoD etc. when it comes to online experience, and with FarCry, the game isn't meant for online at all.

And like vampireuk said:
Quote:
If you have played battlefield 1942 and Desert Combat you will know why you don't need to lean. As said earlier the game pace is just way too fast.
Don't bash the game if you don't know what you're talking about.

If you guys want realistic, I suggest you go play Rainbow Six 3. I have the game, and it's decent, but it is NOWHERE near as much fun as Battlefield is which seems to be "arcadey" according to some of you.
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-05, 11:08 AM   #12
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New Battlefield 2 Screens

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beng
"Will u be able to lean or roll in the game? If yes, will you be able to lean and run? Will the accuracy be lower while leaning and will you be able to shoot while rolling?

A: Leaning and rolling are not implemented in BF2. We donít feel these are compatible with an arcade, Battlefield-style experience."



Mmm, bad feeling about this. Why for heaven sake no 'leaning'?

http://www.realityfriends.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=573
Leaning is only good in sim FPS. They do not belong in ANY FPS that is fast paced, not BF, CS, Quake or UT... Go play R6 or American Army if ya want to lean...
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 3 Premium trailer confirms rumours: Close Quarters and all future DLC inc News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
$199.99 - Galaxy 56NGH6HS4IVZ GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) Battlefield 3 Edition 1GB 25 News GeForce GTX 560 0 05-19-12 11:00 PM
BattleField Problem? styles-T Gaming Central 22 09-30-02 04:01 PM
no screens found + BusID ?? orion NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 09:34 AM
Worked fine before, now getting "no screens found" HansBoldt NVIDIA Linux 3 08-22-02 07:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.