Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-02, 08:14 AM   #1
albertk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default X no longer works after I installed NVIDIA-GLX.rpm

After I have installed "NVIDIA-GLX.rpm",I can't start X now!
It says "can't find GLcore" in the XFree86.0.log file.
What can I do?
(RedHat 7.3 I have download the right drivers,follow the reply of the NVshooser.)

Last edited by albertk; 11-30-02 at 08:29 AM.
albertk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-02, 08:41 AM   #2
albertk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Please help me.Thanks
albertk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-02, 11:33 AM   #3
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

Well, you should read the readme that comes with the drivers (and is available at nVidia's site).
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-02, 12:20 AM   #4
vuxacha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default Re: X no longer works after I installed NVIDIA-GLX.rpm

Quote:
Originally posted by albertk
After I have installed "NVIDIA-GLX.rpm",I can't start X now!
It says "can't find GLcore" in the XFree86.0.log file.
What can I do?
(RedHat 7.3 I have download the right drivers,follow the reply of the NVshooser.)
Have you installed the kernel module AS WELL AS the GLX? I dont think so.. if it still doesnt work, try using the source files.
vuxacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-02, 10:16 AM   #5
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

I don't think you can install the GLX rpm without first installing the kernel rpm. Besides, I think his problem is that he didn't edit the XF86Config-4 file properly.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-02, 09:14 PM   #6
vuxacha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4
Default

I dont know much about RPMs. I havent used that ****e since 1999. (Mandrake). So much easier just using source. It always works that way. RPMs just seem to fail from time to time and it doesnt look like there's much an average user can do about it.

But see, in his original post, he says he only installed the GLX. He doesn't mention anywhere anything about kernel modules. Or is that in the same package? 'GLcore' I would think is the kernel module.

albertk, type 'lsmod' and tell me what you see.
vuxacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-02, 09:48 PM   #7
Chalnoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,293
Default

GLcore is probably referring to a line in the XF86Config-4 file that is supposed to be commented out.
Chalnoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-02, 08:28 AM   #8
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

There are two GLcore's.

There's the GLcore that either X or Mesa installs (/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a), and then there's the GLcore that the NVIDIA_GLX package installs (/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.so.1.0.3123).

The NVIDIA_GLX libglx.so.1.0.3123 file (the one that should be loaded when you Load "glx") loads nVidia's libGLcore.so.1.0.3123 when it starts up, unless libGLcore.a is already loaded. That's why you probably shouldn't Load "GLcore", because it could load the wrong file, and you don't really need it anyway.

But yes, it sounds like the problem is that there's a Load "GLcore" line in XF86Config-4, and there shouldn't be. If there isn't, then it sounds like NVIDIA_GLX didn't finish installing or something. You might want to try the .tar.gz version of just NVIDIA_GLX.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-07-02, 05:24 AM   #9
albertk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 9
Default

Thank you all for helping me.
Now everything goes on well after I reread the readme that comes with the drivers carefully.
The reason is that I didn't remove the following line in the XF86Config file:
Load "dri"
Load "GLcore"
Thank you for helping a beginner of linux.(Please forgive my poor english ).
By the way,I'd like to ask one more question:
I have a WinModem(Ess2838),and I download the driver for linux form http://sidlo.penguin.cz/ES2838/files/esscom_orig.o
http://sidlo.penguin.cz/ES2838/files/fixscript17
http://sidlo.penguin.cz/ES2838/files/install.
Now I can use it to connect to the internet,but everytime when I disconnect the computer will take no response.What I can do is reset the computer.What can I do?
albertk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crusader Kings II Update Released News Archived News Items 0 07-04-12 12:30 PM
Option "EnableBrightnessControl=1" no longer works in x.org 1.9.5 matsbt NVIDIA Linux 1 06-22-12 07:51 AM
Is There a Souped-up AMD Radeon HD 7970 in the Works? (HardwareZone) News Archived News Items 1 05-11-12 12:25 AM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
NVIDIA Drivers + Linux 7.3 Works once then quits Yupper3d NVIDIA Linux 3 08-01-02 04:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.