Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-05, 01:38 PM   #1
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default AA in Halo PC...

i just picked up halo for the pc today. it was only 20 bucks and i wanted to see what it was all about. i have a modded xbox controller for my rig so its kinda fun. the controler works perfect.

sorry im getting off topic here. im running the 66.93's and i dont believe that enabling aa or aniso via the drivers have any effect on this game. does anyone know if this is just an issue with the 93's or if its just not possible to play halo with aa enabled?
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 01:44 PM   #2
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

AF works fine for me but AA never worked with Halo, think its a problem with the Engine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 01:45 PM   #3
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Yeah, every time I turned on AA, I would get a message stating that the AA settings were not compatible with the game. Lame.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 02:04 PM   #4
f|LtH fR@g
 
f|LtH fR@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City 17
Posts: 93
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

aa wasn't supported for the game, bungie pulled an ea on us. I guess porting the game 3 years later wasn't bad enough, had to make sure those snazzy pc iq options werent available too. =P
__________________
@643200+ 1MB Cache / 1024 PC-3200 DDR 400 / eVGA 6800 GT / WD 120 GB HD + 8MB Cache / Dvd 16x/cd-r 52x /
f|LtH fR@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 02:18 PM   #5
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

specular highlights and AA sometimes just don't mix right....
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 02:46 PM   #6
Buenamos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Quote:
Originally Posted by f|LtH fR@g
aa wasn't supported for the game, bungie pulled an ea on us. I guess porting the game 3 years later wasn't bad enough, had to make sure those snazzy pc iq options werent available too. =P
Blame Gearbox, they're the ones who ported it over and made Halo for PC horrible. Bungie just helped Gearbox....This is why I'm worried that BIA will suck, cause gearbox is worthless IMO.
__________________
Gaming PC: KOOLANCE PC3-410BK / SILVERSTONE ST70F 700W Modular / Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 / Swiftech Apogee GT Block /Asus P5Q Pro / 2x2gb 1066 G-Skill / EVGA GTX570 / 2 x Asus VH242 1080p monitors / Audigy Xi-Fi Platinum / Seagate 160gb HDD / Seagate 500gb HDD

Laptop: Inspiron 1520 15.4" LCD/ Intel Core 2 Duo 7300 (2ghz) / 2 gb RAM / 8600m GT / 80gb HDD / N Wireless / Blue Tooth

Media Center: AMD 4400+ / 2 gb OCZ Platinum / EVGA 9800gt / Audigty 2ZS / 42" LG 1080p 120hz / 3 x 1.5tb HDDs

Xbox 360 / Wii
Buenamos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 02:54 PM   #7
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Gearbox is great, They ported Tony Hawk 3 (Awsome!) and Nightfire to the PC, Half-life to the PS2. They made Blueshift and Opposing Forces for HL1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 04:09 PM   #8
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Yeah, I agree. Gearbox rules.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-22-05, 05:13 PM   #9
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

thats interesting. i never thought of aa as somthing that hat to be supported by a game. i always just imagined that the drivers took control (when it was not an option within the game) and made it happen.

quake 3 (maybe q3 did, not sure) for example...or the original half life. those didnt have aa built in.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 06:21 PM   #10
Nitz Walsh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 622
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Quote:
Originally Posted by egbtmagus
Gearbox is great, They ported Tony Hawk 3 (Awsome!)
Which requires an Athlon FX to get the same frame rate as the PS2 version.
Quote:
and Nightfire to the PC,
...using the Half Life engine, and removed the driving sequences. Looks and runs like crap compared to the console versions.
Quote:
Half-life to the PS2.
Which runs like crap as well.
Quote:
They made Blueshift and Opposing Forces for HL1.
Opposing forces was great. Blue Shift sucked.

So, the score is:

3 horrible ports (frankly, I wouldn't even put Halo PC in the same category as NightFire), 1 very mediocre expansion pack, and one very good one.

That's some resume.
Nitz Walsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 06:40 PM   #11
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Er, Tony Hawk 3 ran flawlessly on my system when I have a 9800pro, Nightfires engine was heavily modified the HL engine to where it practically became its own, according to Gearbox and HL for the PS2 was sweet, better graphics then the PC and an extra side story.

Blue Shift was just as good as Opposing Forces.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-05, 06:47 PM   #12
NightFire
Bu Zi You, Wo Ning Si
 
NightFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,464
Send a message via MSN to NightFire
Default Re: AA in Halo PC...

Yep, Gearbox ported me to PC a few years ago. My engine's been running fine, but I find myself occaisonally stuttering when confronted with intense action sequences. And currently, my driving mode is off, but I'm hoping to re-implement that when I get the chance.
__________________
Funny story

SteelSoft Incorporated
Specs: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @2.5GHz/512 MB PC2700 RAM/80 GB Western Digital Caviar/15 GB Maxtor/Diamond Viper X1950XT 256MB/Dell 1907FP 19" LCD Monitor/ASRock 939Dual SATA-2/1.44 MB Floppy/40x-12x-48x CD-RW/8x DVD-ROM
NightFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HALO 2 trailer JohnsonLKD Gaming Central 16 09-10-02 08:17 AM
HALO warthog stunts! wysiwyg Gaming Central 6 08-12-02 04:09 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.