Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-05, 02:00 AM   #1
fortran01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

I already tried following this problem on the README FAQs to no avail. I still can't start an X session. This is the tail part of XFree86.0.log:

Code:
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using HW cursor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Video key set to default value of 0x101fe
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xD8000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xE8000000
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
(EE) NVIDIA(0):  *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found
And this is my XF86Config:
at Section "Module"
Code:
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx" # 3D layer
at Section "Device"
Code:
Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 (generic)"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "DPMS"
at Section "Screen"
Code:
Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 8
        Virtual 1024 768
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 15
        Virtual 1024 768
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 16
        Virtual 1024 768
    EndSubsection
    
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth 24
        Virtual 1024 768
    EndSubsection
I tried to see nvidia by lsmod and at /proc/modules, I can see:
Code:
nvidia 345884 0 -- Live 0xe1f9a000
Does this mean the nvidia module is already loaded?

I tried "modprobe nvidia" then dmesg. This is the tip of the dmesg output:

Code:
nvidia: no version for "struct_module" found: kernel tainted.
nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
NVRM: loading NVIDIA Linux x86 NVIDIA Kernel Module  1.0-6629  Wed Nov  3 13:12:51 PST 2004
NVRM: isr request failed 0xffffffda
NVRM: isr request failed 0xffffffda
NVRM: isr request failed 0xffffffda
NVRM: isr request failed 0xffffffda
How do I revert back to the "nv" driver. It seems that something is rewriting my XF86Config everytime I reboot. I already changed the driver to "nv" but it goes back to driver "nvidia" after a reboot. Thus, until now I can't start X. Please help. Thank you.
fortran01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-05, 03:54 AM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

run "nvidia-bug-report.sh" and attach the log here...
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-05, 04:59 AM   #3
fortran01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

Attached is nvidia-bug-report.log.txt
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvidia-bug-report.log.txt (51.8 KB, 256 views)
fortran01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-05, 02:00 PM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

I haven't seen your issue before but it might be acpi related. A google search directly redirected me to the forum: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...226#post345226
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-05, 06:31 PM   #5
Darkvater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 57
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

I had the exact same problem after applying some patches to the nvidia driver and installing that. But after that not even the normal nvidia driver worked. Then somebody told me to type: "modprobe nvidia", which I did. A reboot and it all worked
Darkvater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 01:04 AM   #6
fortran01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbird
I haven't seen your issue before but it might be acpi related. A google search directly redirected me to the forum: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...226#post345226
Thank you very much, Thunderbird. By setting LILO to "Force No APIC", I can now start the display manager (KDE).

But there is a big problem. In Windows, I used to have these hangs, everything in the screen fades and I can see vertical lines all over, then after a few seconds everything freezes (is this a flicker?). Now, I have this in Linux after loading the nvidia module. This does not occur previously when I was using the nv module.

I brought this to a computer shop once suspecting that it might be my processor, overheating or something. The man said it something related to my Windows operating system. Now, I am using Linux this should imply that it is related to the driver.

Did I miss something important in the BIOS settings or X settings?
fortran01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-05, 08:19 AM   #7
kharlo2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

Hi , i have the same problem so im attaching the nvidia log to see if someone can help me , thanks !!!

Note: I have Mandrake 10, i dont know how to initialize with command line arguments because im not using lilo. Im a newbie one
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvidia-bug-report.txt (43.0 KB, 195 views)
kharlo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-05, 08:56 AM   #8
fortran01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

What bootloader are you using?
fortran01 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-05, 09:24 AM   #9
kharlo2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

Quote:
Originally Posted by fortran01
What bootloader are you using?
im using grub man , but dont worry i reinstalled the nvidia driver and it is working good now . I dont know what happened but if you suspect something just tell me so if i have the same problem next time i can do a better solution and not reinstall the driver again

Thanks.
kharlo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-05, 10:27 AM   #10
fortran01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

Mine has still a problem, screen freezes. I think it's related to this:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=31858

I just reverted back to "nv".
fortran01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-05, 01:14 PM   #11
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

Hi,

>But there is a big problem. In Windows, I used to have these hangs, everything in the screen fades and I can see vertical lines all over, then after a few seconds everything freezes (is this a flicker?). Now, I have this in Linux after loading the nvidia module. This does not occur previously when I was using the nv module.

get a different card. I really mean it. This looks like a borked card.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-05, 08:28 PM   #12
Ske1eter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device: no screens found

I've got pretty much the same error except mine says the driver can't be found. Doing a 'modprobe nvidia' returns "FATAL: Module nvidia not found". When I have "nvidia" in the xorg.conf file X won't start and I have to boot up using "nv" instead. The purpose of this exercise is due to trying to get a MythTV box up and running using FC3.
Ske1eter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regression with 295.33 and GeForce GT 240 maro NVIDIA Linux 16 06-29-12 06:47 PM
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.