Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-05, 03:19 PM   #1
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default HDR minimod for HL2

Just saw this (http://halflife2.filefront.com/file/..._MiniMod;38224) and figured I would post about it. I am fixing to test it out myself to see how it looks... hope it works great .
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 04:54 PM   #2
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Am I the only one that can't get the effect to work? I installed it and I know the mod itself is working fine since I can adjust the gamma and turn on that "cel-shader" mode though the extra console commands, yet I get absolutly NO HDR effects no matter what settings I adjust the bloom to.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 05:05 PM   #3
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Yeah... I have been trying to get it to work for a while now and I still can't get it to work right for some reason... tried different drivers and stuff and still no luck.

Not a very happy camper about it right now :\... I wouldn't mind playing through the game again some until Tuesday (Devil May Cry 3 day )... but if I can have HDR I want it!
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 05:19 PM   #4
f|LtH fR@g
 
f|LtH fR@g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City 17
Posts: 93
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

prolly works fine on ati cards?
__________________
@643200+ 1MB Cache / 1024 PC-3200 DDR 400 / eVGA 6800 GT / WD 120 GB HD + 8MB Cache / Dvd 16x/cd-r 52x /
f|LtH fR@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 05:35 PM   #5
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

This is a "bloom" mod. Not true HDR.

In effect it over-brightens the screen.

Detail level seems to drop when using it.

I tried it for a few minutes, didn't like it and removed it.

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 05:46 PM   #6
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge
Am I the only one that can't get the effect to work? I installed it and I know the mod itself is working fine since I can adjust the gamma and turn on that "cel-shader" mode though the extra console commands, yet I get absolutly NO HDR effects no matter what settings I adjust the bloom to.
There's a cel-shader mode? I would love to see that. I think HL2 would look amazing with cel-shading.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 06:06 PM   #7
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Yeah... install this mod and then type "mat_R8illustration 1" in console and it will give you a cel-shaded effect.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 06:29 PM   #8
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hunt
Yeah... install this mod and then type "mat_R8illustration 1" in console and it will give you a cel-shaded effect.
sweet! thanks.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-05, 08:16 PM   #9
TierMann
Bite my shiny, metal @ss!
 
TierMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2


Bring em on
__________________
Athlon 64 4400+ X2 (10x250= 2.5ghz) | Foxconn NF4KS8AA-8EKRS (nForce4 SLI) | 2GB OCZ DDR400 @ 416 (3-3-3-8) | eVGA 8800GTS 320mb
Red Diabolic Minotaur Case | PCP&C 610 Silencer | Samsung 19" 997DF + Acer AL1914smd-8 | G15 Keyboard | MX Revolution | 900Gb Storage
Vista Ultimate 32 + Gentoo Linux (Gnome + Beryl)
Athlon XP 3000+ | ECS KM400M2 3.0 | 512mb DDR333 | PNY 5200 Ultra
TV-Tuner | Silver Aspire X-Qpack w/Windows | WinXP MCE 2005 | 200Gb Storage
DVD Collection -- MySpace
TierMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-05, 02:16 PM   #10
Morrow
Atari STE 4-bit color
 
Morrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 798
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

All Bloom and no HDR makes this addon a dull mod
Morrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-05, 02:22 PM   #11
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Since its bloom and not HDR the game looks very washed out. Textures look less detailed due to the bloom and being so bright.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-05, 04:14 PM   #12
Mr. Hunt
Rectal Gravy Connoisseur
 
Mr. Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 8,294
Default Re: HDR minimod for HL2

Well I finally got it working... only drivers that have had it work so far is the FW 75.90s... I like the look of it but yeah... just bloom... I still like it though.
Mr. Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.