Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-05, 05:36 PM   #1
pat777
NV420
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 446
Default Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Quote:
Tim Willits: Not at all. In fact, you could access our gravity gun in Doom 3 by pulling down the console and entering a code which would then let you manipulate the physics with the cursor keys, but it wasn't something we wanted to focus on until now. And we're using it in more of a combat sense. For instance, you'll have to use it against the very first Hunter you come up against to send his fireballs back at him.
http://www.computerandvideogames.com...(que)id=114069
pat777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 05:41 PM   #2
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

jawesome. anyone try it out yet?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 05:49 PM   #3
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

That page need reg to access it .
any idea whats that command ??

BTW that makes a possiblity of id not stealing the gravity gun idea from Valve if its indeed in the game before the announcment of the gravity gun weapon in HL2 .
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 06:20 PM   #4
Marcos
think of me not at all
 
Marcos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Americas
Posts: 845
Send a message via AIM to Marcos
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

bio force gun nubianz
__________________
[64 3500+][MSI Neo2 Plat] [6800gt][Audigy 2][Hamixada is a fag]


<-- worst. smiley. ever.
Marcos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 06:33 PM   #5
Seoulstriker
Registered User
 
Seoulstriker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 281
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Valve ripped the shotgun from Quake and Valve ripped the pistol from Doom. Puhleeeeeze. Physics manipulation has been in games forever. Any game that has teh ability to pick objects up is physical manipulation (ie every game almost ever). So they use a gun to pick up objects. Whoopdy-f***ing-hoo.
Seoulstriker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 10:40 PM   #6
gordon151
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 264
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

RoE will feature a lot of new enemies. One group, whom are codenamed the "Combine", will play a big role in the development of the game.
__________________
||- A64 2800+ @ 2.0GHz -||- 1GB Buffalo DDR400 @ 225Mhz -||- PNY 5700 128MB -||
gordon151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 10:47 PM   #7
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon151
RoE will feature a lot of new enemies. One group, whom are codenamed the "Combine", will play a big role in the development of the game.
hahaha
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 11:16 PM   #8
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seoulstriker
Valve ripped the shotgun from Quake and Valve ripped the pistol from Doom. Puhleeeeeze. Physics manipulation has been in games forever. Any game that has teh ability to pick objects up is physical manipulation (ie every game almost ever). So they use a gun to pick up objects. Whoopdy-f***ing-hoo.
umm...the shotgun and pistol were around a hell of a lot longer than Doom.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-27-05, 11:52 PM   #9
Vagrant Zero
I'm a Back Door Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,750
Send a message via AIM to Vagrant Zero
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Id created the genre, everyone and their grandmother has ripped from id, so as far as I'm concered all's fair.
__________________
o <---- Dev
|\_o <---- Paladin
// \
Vagrant Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-05, 11:57 PM   #10
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagrant Zero
Id created the genre, everyone and their grandmother has ripped from id, so as far as I'm concered all's fair.
Aren't you forgetting about a little game, the grittiest and most hardcore game simulating life on the toughest streets of Amerca, named Pong?
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-05, 12:10 AM   #11
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Quote:
Originally Posted by superklye
Aren't you forgetting about a little game, the grittiest and most hardcore game simulating life on the toughest streets of Amerca, named Pong?
well he's got a point. Pong wasn't 3D rendered, and Doom was the first game you could use a pistol & shotgun and kill stuff in realtime 3D. If anyone has a right to rip the gravitygun from valve, it is ID.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-05, 12:41 AM   #12
Slyder
AMD + Nv = pro gaming rig
 
Slyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Coventry / England
Posts: 746
Default Re: Vanilla Doom 3 has a gravity gun

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Willits
In fact, you could access our gravity gun in Doom 3 by pulling down the console and entering a code which would then let you manipulate the physics with the cursor keys, but it wasn't something we wanted to focus on until now
This is only because while you may have opted not to put this originally in Doom 3, you have read reviews saying how cool the grav gun was in HL2 and now want to quickly jump on the bandwagon. If you didnt mess around cutting stuff here and there, you would of have an original gun.
__________________
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI - Bios F11
AMD Athlon 64 3500+@2.2
2gig RAM DDR333 (PC2700) 4 x 512 Corsair Value Select (CL 2.5)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 7200rpm 80 gig DiamondMax Plus 9 HDD
Gigabyte Dual 6600GT SLI Enabled
CTX VL701B 17ins CRT 0.27dpi 72khz MPRII Black
Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
BenQ DW1655 LS DVD-Rewriter with BCDB f/w (ohh yes, get on)
LiteOn 48246S CD writer with SS0E f/w
NTL 10 meg cable connection thru Ambit 250 modem. Ethernet connected
Linksys BEFSR41 v3 router with 1.05.00 f/w
Enermax 535 watts SLI-Ready PSU
XP pro with SP2
Playing multiplayer games online and lan enabled untill the day we die.


What I think of the word Blog
Slyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
Doom 3 technology for Quake 1 Kruno Gaming Central 104 10-09-02 09:56 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.