Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-05, 03:28 AM   #1
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Hello!

The search didn't yield info I could use, so here I go.

I'm running Mdk 10.1 on AMD64 2.6.8.1-20mdk kernel. Just installed the 6229 drivers for the BFG 6800 GT. glxgears runs fine.

When I try running doom3 I get this:
--------------------------------------
----- R_InitOpenGL -----
Setup X display connection
dlopen(libGL.so.1)
dlopen(libGL.so.1)
idRenderSystem::Shutdown()
signal caught: Segmentation fault
si_code 1
Was in fatal error shutdown: Unable to initialize OpenGL
Trying to exit gracefully..

I would appreciate any advice.

Regards,
.a

Here is what ldd on glxinfo has to say:
root@linuxbox doom3]# ldd /usr/X11R6/bin/glxinfo
libGLU.so.1 => /usr/X11R6/lib64/libGLU.so.1 (0x0000002a9566b000)
libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libGL.so.1 (0x0000002a95806000)
libXext.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib64/libXext.so.6 (0x0000002a9599b000)
libX11.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib64/libX11.so.6 (0x0000002a95aad000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib64/tls/libpthread.so.0 (0x0000002a95c8c000)
libm.so.6 => /lib64/tls/libm.so.6 (0x0000002a95da1000)
libc.so.6 => /lib64/tls/libc.so.6 (0x0000002a95efa000)
libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libstdc++.so.6 (0x0000002a96125000)
libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib64/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x0000002a96318000)
libGLcore.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libGLcore.so.1 (0x0000002a96423000)
libnvidia-tls.so.1 => /usr/lib64/tls/libnvidia-tls.so.1 (0x0000002a96ba1000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib64/libdl.so.2 (0x0000002a96ca3000)
/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 => /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x0000002a95556000)


Here is what glxinfo says:
[root@linuxbox doom3]# glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
display: :0 screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.3
server glx extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
GLX_SGIX_pbuffer, GLX_SGI_video_sync, GLX_SGI_swap_control,
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_NV_float_buffer
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
client glx version string: 1.3
client glx extensions:
GLX_ARB_get_proc_address, GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info,
GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_SGI_video_sync,
GLX_NV_swap_group, GLX_NV_video_out, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_SGIX_pbuffer,
GLX_SGI_swap_control, GLX_NV_float_buffer
GLX extensions:
GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig,
GLX_SGIX_pbuffer, GLX_SGI_video_sync, GLX_SGI_swap_control,
GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_NV_float_buffer, GLX_ARB_get_proc_address
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6800 GT/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 1.5.2 NVIDIA 66.29
OpenGL extensions:
GL_ARB_depth_texture, GL_ARB_fragment_program,
GL_ARB_fragment_program_shadow, GL_ARB_fragment_shader, GL_ARB_imaging,
GL_ARB_multisample, GL_ARB_multitexture, GL_ARB_occlusion_query,
GL_ARB_point_parameters, GL_ARB_point_sprite, GL_ARB_shadow,
GL_ARB_shader_objects, GL_ARB_shading_language_100,
GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp, GL_ARB_texture_compression,
GL_ARB_texture_cube_map, GL_ARB_texture_env_add,
GL_ARB_texture_env_combine, GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3,
GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat, GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two,
GL_ARB_texture_rectangle, GL_ARB_transpose_matrix,
GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object, GL_ARB_vertex_program, GL_ARB_vertex_shader,
GL_ARB_window_pos, GL_ATI_draw_buffers, GL_ATI_texture_float,
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once, GL_S3_s3tc, GL_EXT_texture_env_add,
GL_EXT_abgr, GL_EXT_bgra, GL_EXT_blend_color,
GL_EXT_blend_equation_separate, GL_EXT_blend_func_separate,
GL_EXT_blend_minmax, GL_EXT_blend_subtract, GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array,
GL_EXT_Cg_shader, GL_EXT_depth_bounds_test, GL_EXT_draw_range_elements,
GL_EXT_fog_coord, GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays, GL_EXT_packed_pixels,
GL_EXT_pixel_buffer_object, GL_EXT_point_parameters,
GL_EXT_rescale_normal, GL_EXT_secondary_color,
GL_EXT_separate_specular_color, GL_EXT_shadow_funcs,
GL_EXT_stencil_two_side, GL_EXT_stencil_wrap, GL_EXT_texture3D,
GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc, GL_EXT_texture_cube_map,
GL_EXT_texture_edge_clamp, GL_EXT_texture_env_combine,
GL_EXT_texture_env_dot3, GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic,
GL_EXT_texture_lod, GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias, GL_EXT_texture_mirror_clamp,
GL_EXT_texture_object, GL_EXT_vertex_array, GL_HP_occlusion_test,
GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip, GL_IBM_texture_mirrored_repeat,
GL_KTX_buffer_region, GL_NV_blend_square, GL_NV_centroid_sample,
GL_NV_copy_depth_to_color, GL_NV_depth_clamp, GL_NV_fence,
GL_NV_float_buffer, GL_NV_fog_distance, GL_NV_fragment_program,
GL_NV_fragment_program_option, GL_NV_fragment_program2, GL_NV_half_float,
GL_NV_light_max_exponent, GL_NV_multisample_filter_hint,
GL_NV_occlusion_query, GL_NV_packed_depth_stencil, GL_NV_pixel_data_range,
GL_NV_point_sprite, GL_NV_primitive_restart, GL_NV_register_combiners,
GL_NV_register_combiners2, GL_NV_texgen_reflection,
GL_NV_texture_compression_vtc, GL_NV_texture_env_combine4,
GL_NV_texture_expand_normal, GL_NV_texture_rectangle,
GL_NV_texture_shader, GL_NV_texture_shader2, GL_NV_texture_shader3,
GL_NV_vertex_array_range, GL_NV_vertex_array_range2, GL_NV_vertex_program,
GL_NV_vertex_program1_1, GL_NV_vertex_program2,
GL_NV_vertex_program2_option, GL_NV_vertex_program3,
GL_NVX_conditional_render, GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap, GL_SGIS_texture_lod,
GL_SGIX_depth_texture, GL_SGIX_shadow, GL_SUN_slice_accum
glu version: 1.3
glu extensions:
GLU_EXT_nurbs_tessellator, GLU_EXT_object_space_tess

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x21 24 tc 0 32 0 r y . 8 8 8 0 4 24 8 16 16 16 16 0 0 None
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 08:35 AM   #2
Wolfman [TWP]
Geforce 8800 GTS 512
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 396
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

I wonder if it has something to do with the fact Doom3 is a 32Bit application??!! As that is the only thing that I can think of. I'm getting a Dual Athlon system to setup shortly. Will check it out, whether Doom3 will run ok on that or not.

Wolf
Wolfman [TWP] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 11:36 AM   #3
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfman [TWP]
I wonder if it has something to do with the fact Doom3 is a 32Bit application??!! As that is the only thing that I can think of. I'm getting a Dual Athlon system to setup shortly. Will check it out, whether Doom3 will run ok on that or not.

Wolf
Thanx, Wolf. According to Doom 3 FAQ, it should run. Also, it seems that NVIDIA was able to run it (that's the impression I got from the README).

Regards,
Alex
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 01:25 PM   #4
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Did you install the driver with the -pkg2 .run package?
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 03:19 PM   #5
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
Did you install the driver with the -pkg2 .run package?
Yes, I think so. I'm not at my Linux box right now, but I got the driver just a couple days ago from http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d..._1.0-6629.html,

so I think chances are high it's -pkg2.

Thanx,
.a
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 03:55 PM   #6
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Please verify that you've used -pkg2, it's the only package that includes the 32-bit ABI compatibility libraries.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 04:02 PM   #7
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
Please verify that you've used -pkg2, it's the only package that includes the 32-bit ABI compatibility libraries.

Thank you for the reply. Will verify tonight. Are you available on the weekends?

Regards,
.a
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 05:29 PM   #8
billh4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Unhappy Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Me too with a 6600 non GT. mandrake 10.1 x86_64 same error in doom3
vmware is broke as well
billh4 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-04-05, 06:52 PM   #9
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Quote:
Originally Posted by billh4
Me too with a 6600 non GT. mandrake 10.1 x86_64 same error in doom3
vmware is broke as well
What exactly is broke in VMWare? I'm curious as I'm thinking of using it. Do you know if/when it will support 64 bit quests? I.E., 64 bit Linux host + VMWhare + 64 bit XP.

thanx,
.a
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-05, 11:22 PM   #10
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
Please verify that you've used -pkg2, it's the only package that includes the 32-bit ABI compatibility libraries.
Yes, I can verify that I used NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-6629-pkg2.run to install the driver.

Regards,
Alex
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 12:22 AM   #11
zxtt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

Just in case this is useful:

[sasha@linuxbox sasha]$ ldd /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
linux-gate.so.1 => (0xffffe000)
libGLcore.so.1 => /usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1 (0x555de000)
libnvidia-tls.so.1 => /usr/lib/tls/libnvidia-tls.so.1 (0x55ccf000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x55cd1000)
libXext.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libXext.so.6 (0x55cf5000)
libX11.so.6 => /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6 (0x55d03000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x55dce000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x55dd2000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 => /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0x56555000)
zxtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-05, 12:31 AM   #12
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: Doom3 won't run on a Mandrake 10.1 x86-64

What your problem is that Doom3 andprobably VMware is trying to use 64bit libs. 32bit apps can only use 32bit libs. As others said above make sure you have the nvidia drivers installed and setup correctly as well as the 32bit packages that come with the nvidia glx. Make sure you also have the mandrake 32bit libs installed. On gentoo these are called emul-linux-x86, so look for something like that in your rpm database.
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake Linux 9.0 (Dolphin) now available | comments? volt General Linux 10 10-19-02 11:13 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.