Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-05, 08:40 AM   #1
eukilod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

I have a Problem with Suse 9.2 and my nVidia GeForce 6600, on an AMD64. After Installing Suse 9.2 this week,

I didn't get any graphics, so I installed the new drivers with the Following lines, as written on this an other Forums:

init 3, login as root

cd /usr/src/linux
make cloneconfig
make prepare-all

sh /path/to/NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-6629-pkg2.run --extract-only
cd NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-1.0-6629-pkg2
patch -p0 < /path/to/NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-6629-02.28.2005.diff.txt
./nvidia-installer --kernel-source-path=/usr/src/linux

modprobe nvidia
sax2 -m 0=nivida

(Without running "modprobe nvidia", sax2 didn't start at all)

The Problem: sax starts, but there is no Text inside the windows. Theres Text on the Buttons ("Ok" and "Cancel"

and so on) and also in the title of the windows. There's also text on the registercards, like "resolutin" an so on,

but in the white Field inside the Register-Card where you can move a blue bar over the possible resolutions

(1280x1024 and so on) there is no text (that means there are no entries like "1280x1024", it's white. The only

thing inside the window are the little boxes where you can press "enter" an then an x appears in the box).

(However, by try and error i managed to choose the right settings - the chosen configuration is strangely displayer

properly at the right side of the sax window. But starting the KDE, i have the same errors here: no text for

example in the menus. But as the Problem already appears in the sax, i think it's not a wrong configuration of the

KDE, but theres something wrong in the configuration of the nVidia driver)

thanks
eukilod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 09:20 AM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

hmm, if the following lines solves the problems, read this

(put this into your XFree / X.org configuration file ( /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 or /etc/X11/xorg.conf ) into the "Device" Section )
Code:
Option "NoRenderExtension" "true"
Option "SWCursor" "true"
(anyway, have you already tried Suse's latest rpms for X?)
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 10:33 AM   #3
eukilod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

It worked! You are a genius an I love you!! This took me almost a week, and it was nothing but these two lines!
Thank you very much!

Whats with the links you gave? Should I apply any further patches on the site for a more stable system?

To the rpms: I installed a SuSe patch CD from a recent Magazine, so I should be more or less up to date
eukilod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 10:49 AM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

Well, "NoRenderExtension" is a "good" workaround but unfortuantly it disables XV...
(which is needed by many apps like tvtime, xine or gmplayer... (altough the last two ones includes OpenGL Support ).
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 12:41 PM   #5
eukilod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

what is "XV"? Is this the reason, why for example tuxracer only leads to a black screen? btw, how can the patches of the links be installed?
eukilod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 12:56 PM   #6
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

Quote:
Originally Posted by eukilod
what is "XV"??
Wikipedia's XVideo Page

Quote:
Originally Posted by eukilod
Is this the reason, why for example tuxracer only leads to a black screen? btw, how can the patches of the links be installed
can you please run "nvidia-bug-report.sh" and attach the created log here?

EDIT: BTW, what says "glxinfo"

Last edited by chunkey; 03-10-05 at 01:02 PM. Reason: Mismatch url
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 01:50 PM   #7
eukilod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

Here the nVidia log file and the output of glxinfo.
I had to split the log file to load it up
Attached Files
File Type: txt glxinfo.txt (7.0 KB, 135 views)
File Type: txt NV-bug-part1.txt (64.6 KB, 172 views)
File Type: txt nv-bug-part2.txt (67.6 KB, 152 views)
eukilod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-05, 03:08 PM   #8
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

The bug-report says:
Code:
Mar 10 18:40:25 linux kernel: NVRM: Xid: 6, PE0002 0100 00000000 00000048 0d497098 00000098
(what are Xids?)


hmm, what about simple OpenGL apps like glxgears... do they work?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-11-05, 06:09 AM   #9
eukilod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

Yes I saw three rotating cogs ind red, green blue
eukilod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-05, 01:27 PM   #10
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

Quote:
Originally Posted by eukilod
Yes I saw three rotating cogs ind red, green blue
That's Good, can you run Tuxracer in windowed mode?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-05, 05:47 PM   #11
eukilod
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

Ummm - How do i do this? If I click on the link in the start-menu it runs automatically in fullscreen, and as i dont see anything i cant change the options...
eukilod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-05, 06:03 PM   #12
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Problem with GeFroce 6600, SuSe 9.2, and sax

hmm,

Tuxracer configfile is located in ~/.tuxracer/options
Code:
set fullscreen false
(have you already tried the new 7167?)
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.