Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-05, 04:47 PM   #1
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

I have tried everything to fix the XiD error and I was hoping that in the latest driver release all the problems would be fixed. I still have XiD errors in every game, some I dont see any effect but others the hole game will halt. Here are all my games with the XiD errors

q3a(native): - fine
NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1

et(native) w/ menu: - halt
NVRM: Xid: 23, L1 -> L0
NVRM: Xid: 8, Channel 00000002

et(native) direct connect to server: - fine
NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1

doom3(native): - halt
NVRM: Xid: 23, L1 -> L0
NVRM: Xid: 8, Channel 00000002

cs:s(via cedega 4.3): - fine
NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1

CoD(via cedega 4.3): - halt
NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1
NVRM: Xid: 23, L1 -> L0
NVRM: Xid: 8, Channel 00000002

It seems that if I get any error with NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1 the game continues to run fine. If I get any XiD error with NVRM: Xid: 23, L1 -> L0 followed by NVRM: Xid: 8, Channel 00000002 the game halts and I have to do a killall -9 on it. Here are my system specs

Distro: Gentoo compiled as x86_64
CPU: AMD 3500+
Memory: 1gig
Mobo: ASUS A8V
Video Card: eVGA NVIDIA FX 5900 Ultra 256 VRAM - bios 4.35.20.38.09
Kernel - 2.6.11-ck1

Has anyone figured out how to fix this? Its getting really frustrating and I really dont find a way to fix it.

Thanks

nuke
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-05, 07:09 PM   #2
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Apparently not even nvidia knows....
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-05, 09:06 PM   #3
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Well could someone at least tell me what the hell these messages mean?
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-05, 09:14 PM   #4
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by nukem
Well could someone at least tell me what the hell these messages mean?
Well, the best & only comment about Xid from NVIDIA you can get:

Quote:
Originally Posted by zander
NVRM error messages prefixed with Xid are caused by and log a variety of different problems, they often just show that a severe problem has occurred, but not if it was caused by system-level hardware/software problems or if the driver was directly/indirectly responsible. In this they are similar to the respective symptoms (such as black screens, hangs, intermediate pauses and severe corruption, ...).
full comment here
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-05, 11:55 PM   #5
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Well I could tell that... If I could at least know that the error messages mean maybe I could figure out how to fix them.
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-05, 05:33 PM   #6
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Well, this is just speculation, maybe someone could check this.

I get "NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1" if my FX5900 switches from 2D Mode to the "semi-3D-Mode": In 2D Mode the Core Clock is 300 MHz and in 3D Mode it's 450 MHz. But there is another Mode (I call it semi-3D-Mode here) where the core clock is ~370MHz. I checked this with glxgears and nvclock: When I first start glxgears my coreclock goes up to this 370MHz and stays there -> I get the Xid log. Now I quit glxgears and start it again and the core clock goes up from 370 to full speed -> 450MHz and no Xid log. Don't know if this could be helpful... Can anyone verify this?
labba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-05, 07:59 PM   #7
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

hmmm so it seems that the XiD error comes up from switching modes. This would make sense since I did see et crash when going from the desktop the the main et screen but works fine if I connect directly to a server. Call of Duty crashes when I go from the desktop to the main screen as well(I havnt been able to test it when going directly to a server) Doom3 crashes when from from the main screen to a server. Is there a way to put the card in 3D mode all the time and see if it resolves the problem?
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-05, 08:04 PM   #8
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

hmm, I don't know. You could try it by running glxgears in the background and check the clock speeds with nvclock. Maybe Thunderbird (Author of nvclock) knows something...
labba is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-05, 11:00 PM   #9
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Well I have some interesting news. If I run glxgears then close it and run glxgears right after I close it X locks. If I run glxgears then go into a game(CoD or doom3) it runs fine. The only thing in dmesg after playing about 10min of CoD is NVRM: Xid: 24, L2 -> L1.
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 05:59 AM   #10
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

Hm, that's interesting. That would mean, that in your case switching from semi-3D to 3D "kills" the driver... That's strange. Are you overclocking? Do you use any of these Bios Mods for FX Cards?
labba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 06:08 AM   #11
nukem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 226
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

No, im not overclocking at all. I have upgraded my video card bios to the latest one from eVGA found at http://www.mvktech.net/. This was suggested to me on the forum to fix the XiD error. I upgraded it once before because there was an official video card bios update from eVGA but I cannt find it now.

Im just wondering are you on an AMD64? All the people I have heard that have this are on AMD64.
nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 06:36 AM   #12
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: 1.0-7167 and XiD Error

No, I have an Athlon XP. But it seems that I don't have any Problems with these Xid Errors. Nevertheless I think it's confusing and not normal, that they appear... I hope to get an answer from nVidia.
labba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.