Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-03, 08:02 PM   #1
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default 2.4.21 is Out

A lot of stuff has been changed/added in this. So go to www.kernel.org and get it.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 06:58 AM   #2
matthew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Default Re: 2.4.21 is Out

Well 2.4.21 got me working firewire AND UDMA IDE .
The 'stock' RH kernel wasn't finding any devices on the firewire..

Only cdrdao locks the machine. Blinking keyboard lights, have to reboot back to the stock kernal to burn CDs.
matthew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-03, 09:47 PM   #3
1stFlight
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baghdad
Posts: 95
Default

Ah, compiling it now, finally the ability to use all of my boards potential, long overdue.
__________________
[b]He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster.[/b]

Friedrich Nietzsche
-------------------------------------------------
[u]Desktop[/u]
AMD AthlonXP 2500 | Corsair CAS2 2x256MB | AOpen AK79G-1394 Nforce2 | GeForce4 4200 128MB | 80 & 60 GB WesternDigital HD's | WinXP & RH Linux 9.0

[u]Laptop[/u]
Dell Inspiron 8600 - Centrino 1.6, 768MB ram, 9600pro 128, WSXGA+ screen
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-03, 11:39 PM   #4
matthew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 1stFlight
Ah, compiling it now, finally the ability to use all of my boards potential, long overdue.
Except I can lock the machine burning CD's :-(

Using kdb and a serial cable I have found it's some sort of fault in the IDE driver.

It also does not occur if I don't load X, (nvidia drivers).

Some how the nvidia display kernel module is exposing a bug in the IDE driver.
matthew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-03, 08:57 AM   #5
1stFlight
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baghdad
Posts: 95
Default

You wouldn't happen to be using a RedHat based machine would you?

Quote:
Originally posted by matthew
Except I can lock the machine burning CD's :-(

Using kdb and a serial cable I have found it's some sort of fault in the IDE driver.

It also does not occur if I don't load X, (nvidia drivers).

Some how the nvidia display kernel module is exposing a bug in the IDE driver.
__________________
[b]He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster.[/b]

Friedrich Nietzsche
-------------------------------------------------
[u]Desktop[/u]
AMD AthlonXP 2500 | Corsair CAS2 2x256MB | AOpen AK79G-1394 Nforce2 | GeForce4 4200 128MB | 80 & 60 GB WesternDigital HD's | WinXP & RH Linux 9.0

[u]Laptop[/u]
Dell Inspiron 8600 - Centrino 1.6, 768MB ram, 9600pro 128, WSXGA+ screen
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-03, 03:50 PM   #6
matthew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 1stFlight
You wouldn't happen to be using a RedHat based machine would you?
Except for the kernel it's RH9.

I got a serial console and kdb working, I know exactly were the system goes down, some where in the dark depths of the IDE code, only I don't know what to do, the kernal is 'tainted' by nVidia's display driver, and when it isn't running (i.e text console only), the system doesn't panic, so I don't have a non tainted crash to feed to the kernel list.
matthew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-03, 10:49 AM   #7
blurngr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default

What's the deal with Redhat (eluded to above)? I have the same problems w/ blinking keyboard lights when doing CD or DVD burning.

It does burn the CD / DVD properly, then locks while fixating. The disc's are usable, but I have to reboot (pain).

I've got an ASUS nForce2 board with a Ti4200 graphics card, running the latest nVidia drivers (both graphical and nForce) -- but am using the stock RH9 installed kernel.

Any ideas on the locking up?
blurngr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-03, 12:56 PM   #8
blurngr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Default RH9 lockups during CD burning

Remove the magicdev RPM, which pops up windows when you insert a CDROM, and your lockups will likely go away.
blurngr is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.