Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-05, 06:56 PM   #1
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Network adapter not found

Ok so im installing comcast highspeed internet for someone, they have a motorolla modem. Everything is workin, i put in the setup disk, it runs through midway then it says it can not detect a network card, well this is a brand new computer and the adapter is an nforce MCP networking controller. I also tried it on the laptop and it worked once then i had to restart and it said it couldnt detect it again, what is the prob? People keep telling me to get drivers, if so where? and would buying a pci network card make it work?
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 07:59 PM   #2
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: Network adapter not found

did you install the standalone network device driverfor nForce boards? it also comes bundled with the nForce suite..
Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 09:09 PM   #3
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Network adapter not found

No, This computer was bought at office depot i would have thought everything would have been preinstalled. If you still think i need to do that can you link me to a download site?
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 09:40 PM   #4
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: Network adapter not found

http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce_udp_winxp_5.10

that supports the nForce series motherboard. it has drivers for the onboard sound, network, etc.

there may be another problem but lets start there.
Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 10:12 PM   #5
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Network adapter not found

alright thanks, i wont be able to test it out till later this week when i go back over there, but thnx for the info
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 06:08 PM   #6
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Network adapter not found

Hmm, well i still wont be able to get over there till later this week or the weekend, but can anybody think of any other options i that i can try when i go back?
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 06:20 PM   #7
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: Network adapter not found

i like to start simple i suppose... does everything look like this so far?

Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 06:40 PM   #8
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Network adapter not found

*edit* actually a thought just came to me. Ive never worked on a cable modem before so this thought just hit me, can i hook up the desktop through the usb port, and if so can i hook up the laptop with the ethernet port. Or will it not matter, because it all goes through the ethernet card anyway? Im a complete noob at networking so yeah lol.
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II

Last edited by aaahhh52-SoV-; 03-15-05 at 07:25 PM.
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-05, 07:55 PM   #9
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: Network adapter not found

no that shouldn't be able to work. you need a router to split the connection between computers.
Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 10:35 PM   #10
aaahhh52
gahboo?
 
aaahhh52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to aaahhh52
Default Re: Network adapter not found

Check out this Pic:
__________________
SPECS <-- mobo = fried R.I.P

New Pc:
Gigabye k8n-SLI NF4
AMD x2 4600+
Evga 7900gs 256mb
1gb pc 3200
160gb SATA II
aaahhh52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 11:47 PM   #11
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: Network adapter not found

interesting... i dont think my cable modem would work like that.
Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-05, 01:07 AM   #12
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default Re: Network adapter not found

If it's a built in network card and u r using XP u r hosed
without reloading windows. For some reason Winsock gets
hosed out on XP.

Just go get a PCI network card and install it. "Cheapest"
It will work fine.
Don't ask me why but I've had to do this
2 times now with my desktop and notebook.
I use Charter cable.

U can thank me later.
Been there done that.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiny Georgia telco files first network neutrality complaint News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 07:40 PM
nvidia: using adaptive network models, indiv's are rep'd as nodes on a network w/ edg News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:00 PM
My Gig network :D Rakeesh Benchmarking And Overclocking 9 05-01-12 06:35 PM
redhat 8 nforce network success cd21 NVIDIA Linux 2 10-07-02 09:48 PM
no screens found + BusID ?? orion NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 09:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.