Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-05, 06:40 PM   #1
c4talyst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Default Water Problem in HL2

before i get started, here are my specs.

2.8ghz P4
80gb SATA Western Digital HD
1gig of Corsair Value Select RAM
geforce 6800 128mb agp 8x
intel 875 chipset mobo

here are some screenshots of my water problem. its a pixally. i really cant explain it. just look at the pics.

http://img204.exs.cx/img204/4803/d1canals0300016ue.jpg
http://img204.exs.cx/img204/296/d1canals0300003ra.jpg
http://img204.exs.cx/img204/9779/bac...d0200005ij.jpg

Is this an nvidia bug or bad drivers? Im using the 71.84 official.
c4talyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 06:58 PM   #2
technews
Registered User
 
technews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 46
Default Re: Water Problem in HL2

any overclocking on the graphics card ?
__________________
News about technology in Greek Language
Technews.gr - www.technews.gr
technews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 07:03 PM   #3
c4talyst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Default Re: Water Problem in HL2

nope no overclocking
c4talyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 07:32 PM   #4
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: Water Problem in HL2

There is a Source Engine forum for a reason...
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 07:53 PM   #5
c4talyst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
Default HL2 Water Problem

before i get started, here are my specs.

2.8ghz P4
80gb SATA Western Digital HD
1gig of Corsair Value Select RAM
geforce 6800 128mb agp 8x
intel 875 chipset mobo

here are some screenshots of my water problem. its a pixally. i really cant explain it. just look at the pics.

http://img204.exs.cx/img204/4803/d1canals0300016ue.jpg
http://img204.exs.cx/img204/296/d1canals0300003ra.jpg
http://img204.exs.cx/img204/9779/ba...nd0200005ij.jpg

Is this an nvidia bug or bad drivers? Im using the 71.84 official.
c4talyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 09:51 AM   #6
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: HL2 Water Problem

Your third link is messed up. Otherwise I'm not seeing anything wrong with those shots. I'm not sure what you mean, if you zoom in on any texture then the pixels be more noticable.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 10:46 AM   #7
Mudcrutch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 294
Default Re: HL2 Water Problem

what is your water settings at? there are 3 so try each one and see if it changes.
Mudcrutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 11:45 AM   #8
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: Water Problem in HL2

You may want to have Half-Life 2 validate the game cache files.

If no one here tells you how to do it, visit the Steampowered.com forums and ask them how to validate your game cache files.

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-05, 11:45 AM   #9
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default

This is an extraneous post. Please delete it.

Gentle

Last edited by Gentle; 03-15-05 at 03:12 PM. Reason: Original poster made two posts, my replies were merged.
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 12:31 PM   #10
Ninjaman09
Takin 'er easy
 
Ninjaman09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jowjah
Posts: 6,687
Default Re: HL2 Water Problem

Um, I don't know why he'd need to validate the cache files. There's nothing wrong with the pictures he posted, as far as I can tell.
__________________
Core i7 920 @ 3.2 | ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
6GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 RAM
eVGA GTX 570 SC | Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX
Dell U2410
Ninjaman09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 02:35 PM   #11
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default Re: Water Problem in HL2

Merged threads.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 03:14 PM   #12
Gentle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Posts: 580
Default Re: HL2 Water Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninjaman09
Um, I don't know why he'd need to validate the cache files. There's nothing wrong with the pictures he posted, as far as I can tell.
At least in the second and third photo... Look closer. There are little dots on the water's surface. Looks like something floating there.

I still suggest the game cache file validation though.

Gentle
Gentle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem connecting Pioneer VSX-S300 to Nvidia Ion - flat panel scaling solves it? wild_oscar NVIDIA Linux 3 06-17-12 07:18 AM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
Water cooling, is it worth it? VoltFox CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-28-02 03:53 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.