Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-05, 07:51 PM   #1
red_star
 
red_star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 271
Default How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

Like Price of Persia Warrior Within. The game supports max 1280*960. Is there a way to force higher resolution via drivers?
__________________
System:
P4 3.4E i865PE-A PAT ON (Custom made Sink)
Idle 38C Load 49C
800FSB 2GB DDR400
Leadtek 6800 GT 400/1000
Idle 47C Load 58C
Dell 19" 193FP LCD
HDD1: WD 37.8GB SATA 10000RPM
HDD2: WD 60GB SATA 7500RPM
SB Audigy 2 Gamer ZS Platinum
WinXP Pro SP2
PSU Thermaltake 560W, Thermaltake Shark Big Tower Case
FW 77.13 BETA

3DMark03:12603
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3763441
red_star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 08:02 PM   #2
GuOD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 221
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

You need to download some patching program.

Visit www.widescreengamingforum.com

Enter the forums and search for widescreen solutions.. it has a fix for many games to allow CUSTOM resolution to anything
GuOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 09:44 PM   #3
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

Warrior Within goes up to 1600x1200 on my system...
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 10:01 PM   #4
flurry
Registered User
 
flurry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Alameda, Ca.
Posts: 60
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

Mine too
flurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-05, 10:14 PM   #5
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

what he is asking is why it dosent' support 1280x1024. He probably has a monitor that only goes up to that rez. For LCDs (like I have) games that don't go up to 1280x1024 are annoying because the scaling algorithm always produces a blur at lower levels.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 04:04 AM   #6
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

I don't know of any driver options to do this. You may find or write a hacked DirectX / OpenGL .dll to intercept and replace the display setting calls. It is unlikely that many games will work correctly even if this was done, due to incorrect view size calculations. Unless you are trying to get wide screen effects (even less likely to work due to pixel aspect ratio issues), you are best to override Anti Aliasing etc. and try and get better image quality.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-05, 04:06 AM   #7
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

Supersampling hehe..
That is sortof higher res, but downsampled..
wont do squat for aspect ratio tho..
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-05, 06:59 AM   #8
rijnton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

I had the same problem with IL-2Forgotten Battles/Pacific Fighters, where the max. resolution in setup is 1152 X 864. My 19" screen is max. 1280 x 1024.
Read a tip somewhere to open the config.ini , where under window there are the lines width, height and colourbits. I changed these to 1280, 1024 and 32 and now I can play in 1280 x1024.
Don't know if this is possible in other games though.
One more thing: If config.ini is read only, you have to uncheck that before and check it AGAIN after making the changes.
rijnton is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-16-05, 02:52 PM   #9
red_star
 
red_star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 271
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

Actually I'm using IBM P260 21" Screen...

I have same problem with Prince of Persia Warrior Within (only support for 1280*960).

I might have reinstall the game in order to recognize a new screen...
__________________
System:
P4 3.4E i865PE-A PAT ON (Custom made Sink)
Idle 38C Load 49C
800FSB 2GB DDR400
Leadtek 6800 GT 400/1000
Idle 47C Load 58C
Dell 19" 193FP LCD
HDD1: WD 37.8GB SATA 10000RPM
HDD2: WD 60GB SATA 7500RPM
SB Audigy 2 Gamer ZS Platinum
WinXP Pro SP2
PSU Thermaltake 560W, Thermaltake Shark Big Tower Case
FW 77.13 BETA

3DMark03:12603
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=3763441
red_star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-05, 06:21 PM   #10
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: How to force higher resolution if the game doesn't support it?

Hey red_star, check that your monitor drivers and any refresh rate override programs are working properly. If they are not, specific display modes can be removed from games and windows.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Kotaku) Do We Really Need Video Game Consoles Anymore? [Speak Up On Kotaku] News Archived News Items 1 06-16-12 11:35 AM
Saturday Crapshoot: Quest For Glory 4 1/2 News Gaming Headlines 0 06-09-12 11:10 AM
(PR) Samsung Set to Become a Major Force in the Video Game Industry News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 06:30 PM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Anyway to get a resolution higher than 2048x1536? Xevious NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 22 08-13-02 04:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.