Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-05, 02:18 PM   #97
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

Companies have to realize that a majority of the gaming scene wants to dive right in and enjoy a game from start to finish, rather than be lulled to sleep by the first hour of a game. A lot of people will lose interest by then, sadly.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 02:40 PM   #98
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

the thing that gets me about this game.... is the LOOOOOOOONG loading time. i hate when i die.. not because i didnt do something correct.... i hate it cause it has to load forever
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 03:56 PM   #99
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoomy942
the thing that gets me about this game.... is the LOOOOOOOONG loading time. i hate when i die.. not because i didnt do something correct.... i hate it cause it has to load forever
I don't find it to be that long, but it is definitely longer than when initially loading it from my HDD, which is odd to say the least.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 04:50 PM   #100
kev13dd
Registered User
 
kev13dd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

The worst part about loading is how long it takes to load a CHECKPOINT, not just a level. You could load a checkpoint, die 5 seconds in, then it would still take over a minute practically, to load you back to that same exact spot

Long load times for levels, annoying, but acceptable
Long load time for checkpoints, insane, suicide worthy

K
kev13dd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 11:23 PM   #101
whiskeychaser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mahopac, NY
Posts: 117
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

I am amazed at how fast this game loads. Of course I have VSYNC OFF. (hint)
whiskeychaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 01:47 AM   #102
Xplode
 
Xplode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 166
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

best WWII shooter out imo...Multi is a blast
Xplode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 03:37 AM   #103
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Wink Re: Brothers in Arms

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskeychaser
I am amazed at how fast this game loads. Of course I have VSYNC OFF. (hint)
Yup, 5 - 7 sec load time is really slow (sarcasm).
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 06:01 AM   #104
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskeychaser
I am amazed at how fast this game loads. Of course I have VSYNC OFF. (hint)
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-22-05, 06:47 AM   #105
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskeychaser
I am amazed at how fast this game loads. Of course I have VSYNC OFF. (hint)
so having vsync makes your game load quicker? Are you smoking low quality carck or something?
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 06:52 AM   #106
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrek2
so having vsync makes your game load quicker? Are you smoking low quality carck or something?
Nope... Its being reported all over the net... Having vsync off speeds up loadtimes. I doubted it myself till I tried it. Worked like a charm
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 06:57 AM   #107
Mr_LoL
Bush's Doppleganger
 
Mr_LoL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangor North Wales UK
Posts: 5,205
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

But if i have vsync off i get really bad tearing so it doesnt work a charm for me
__________________
Core i5 2500K@ 4.5, KFA2 GTX 570, Gigabyte Z68, 8GB Corsair XMS 1600MHZ, Antec Truepower New 650w, Coolermaster Storm Sniper, 1TB Samsung F1, Yamakasi Catleap 27", Samsung 245B, Asus Xonar DG...blah blah blah
Mr_LoL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 10:07 AM   #108
ericdrum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 34
Default Re: Brothers in Arms

How do you turn HDR off?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2250 MHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
1 gig Corsair XMS 3200
eVGA 6800 GT
SB Audigy2 w/ KX Project Drivers
2-80gig WD SATA 7200s - RAID0
200 GB Seagate Barricuda 7200 for storage
Ultra Xconnect 500W Power Supply
Windows XP SP2
Antec P160WF case
ericdrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Act Of Valor: Bandito Brothers' Jacob Rosenberg, Interviewed News Archived News Items 0 05-23-12 05:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.