Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-05, 03:38 PM   #25
JoKeRr
Registered User
 
JoKeRr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canada!!
Posts: 768
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel Olivaw
JoKeRr: we don't have his benchmarks yet, so why do you say that?

My Ti4200 64Mb (315/585) scores 9016 3dmarks01 on my Tually Celeron@ 1.612GHz
i was refering to his FX5200.
__________________
P4 3.0C 30 capper @3.6ghz 1.475V Vcore, Asus P4P800, Gigabyte Geforce 6800GT with NV5, 2x512mb Crucial BallisitiX 2.5-2-2-5 at DDR480, samsung 172T, Enermax Noisetaker 475W, TR XP-90 +panaflo 92mm high, 200gb Seagate, 250gb Maxtor SATA, + 80gb Maxtor, 80gb Raptor ADFD!! D-Link 108mbps PCI wireless card + Atheros Driver, MS Intellimouse Explorer 3.0, Logitech Elite Keyboard

Laptop: Toshiba A100-OFH: Core Dual A2050--1.6ghz X2 @ 533FSB, 1gb DDR2, 15.4'' WXGA glare screen, DVD-RW, 100gb HDD, Intel GMA950, WinXP SP2 Home edition, Office XP
JoKeRr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 04:11 PM   #26
Daneel Olivaw
Northwood hugger
 
Daneel Olivaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Well, my gf's FX5200 (64bits) on her Athlon 950 gets about 4400 3dmarks. So, yup, he's a bit low. Vsynched maybe? (on my P4 3400, the fx5200 gets 5000)
__________________
-Intel Core2 Duo 4300 (3.0GHz) | Asus P5N-E SLI | 6GB Corsair CVS PC2-5300 | GF8800GT 512MB | Western Digital 1TB Raid0 | Antec SLK2600AMB | Antec Earthwatts 500W
-Intel Pentium4 2.4C (3.4GHz) | Asus P4P800 Dlx | 2GB Crucial Rendition PC-3200 | GF6800LE 128MB | Seagate 200GB | Antec Overture II | Antec TruePower 2.0 480W


Mild agnosticism —the view that the existence or nonexistence of God or gods is currently unknown but is not necessarily unknowable, therefore one will withhold judgment until/if more evidence is available. A weak agnostic would say "I don't know, but maybe you do."
Daneel Olivaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 05:59 PM   #27
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel Olivaw
Well, my gf's FX5200 (64bits) on her Athlon 950 gets about 4400 3dmarks. So, yup, he's a bit low. Vsynched maybe? (on my P4 3400, the fx5200 gets 5000)
Not vsync'ing at all. It's probably a problem with the motherboard. I have little trust in the IGP 320, also I think it might be a FSB or memory controller issue. Not sure if changing settings would work..

Except the Ti4200 benchmarks with this shotty board probably next week. Not sure how long my bank and UPS will take, but I doubt it's coming this week. I'm worried about the fans in my case now too, they seem to be becoming louder, if that's possible at all..
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-05, 06:24 PM   #28
Daneel Olivaw
Northwood hugger
 
Daneel Olivaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

To illustrate your feelings on your mobo:
"ATI's Radeon IGP 320 combined with the FIC AT-31 motherboard, to put it nicely, is a terrible platform. We haven't had so many problems with a motherboard crashing and giving us strange scores in years, which certainly makes our job interesting, but at the same time, makes us feel sorry for those out there who pick up this platform"
sorry for you bud.

I recently made a few modifications to my GF's comp. So I looked through a lot of mobos and videocards. I think you would get a huge improvement in performance with one more stick of PC2100 and a mobo like: MSI KT6V-LSR SOCKETA KT600
Its cheap and reliable from what I read. And supports pretty much all socket A cpus.

Of course, changing your whole setup is a good idea too. But cheap ram and a cheap mobo could be all you need.

And again, I cannot stress enough the fact that Halo looks like crap and runs like crap on every setup I've tried. From P3 1.6GHz to P4 3.4GHz with crazy 1GB ram running at insane speeds, a testosterone shot GFFX 5900, with shaders enabled or not, there's just no way to make Halo run good. Gimme UT2k4 and FarCry over it anytime.
__________________
-Intel Core2 Duo 4300 (3.0GHz) | Asus P5N-E SLI | 6GB Corsair CVS PC2-5300 | GF8800GT 512MB | Western Digital 1TB Raid0 | Antec SLK2600AMB | Antec Earthwatts 500W
-Intel Pentium4 2.4C (3.4GHz) | Asus P4P800 Dlx | 2GB Crucial Rendition PC-3200 | GF6800LE 128MB | Seagate 200GB | Antec Overture II | Antec TruePower 2.0 480W


Mild agnosticism —the view that the existence or nonexistence of God or gods is currently unknown but is not necessarily unknowable, therefore one will withhold judgment until/if more evidence is available. A weak agnostic would say "I don't know, but maybe you do."
Daneel Olivaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 06:10 AM   #29
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel Olivaw
To illustrate your feelings on your mobo:
"ATI's Radeon IGP 320 combined with the FIC AT-31 motherboard, to put it nicely, is a terrible platform. We haven't had so many problems with a motherboard crashing and giving us strange scores in years, which certainly makes our job interesting, but at the same time, makes us feel sorry for those out there who pick up this platform"
sorry for you bud.
I never saw that when I bought the mobo years ago, then I was just a lowly n00b in need of a serious kick in the head. I think I might have found something in the BIOS settings allowing me to overclock this duron, to about 1.5ghz, but that's not going to help at all, because it's the memory controller that is having it's fair share of problems (and the memory is too slow, methinks). I tested the 2 sticks of 256mb PC2100 in a friends computer, and although it was noticably slower then the 1gb usually in his box, it didn't crash or freeze like this mobo does with the 2 sticks in it. Long live the nforce and newer via/ATI chipsets, for they are probably much better then this one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daneel Olivaw
I recently made a few modifications to my GF's comp. So I looked through a lot of mobos and videocards. I think you would get a huge improvement in performance with one more stick of PC2100 and a mobo like: MSI KT6V-LSR SOCKETA KT600
Its cheap and reliable from what I read. And supports pretty much all socket A cpus.

Of course, changing your whole setup is a good idea too. But cheap ram and a cheap mobo could be all you need.

And again, I cannot stress enough the fact that Halo looks like crap and runs like crap on every setup I've tried. From P3 1.6GHz to P4 3.4GHz with crazy 1GB ram running at insane speeds, a testosterone shot GFFX 5900, with shaders enabled or not, there's just no way to make Halo run good. Gimme UT2k4 and FarCry over it anytime.
Thanks for the KT600 recommendation.. trying now to decide from a nforce 2 and that KT600 mobo.

Of course Halo is going to look and play like crap. I think that the microsoft game studios/bungie and the other company that helped with porting (gamebox?) made the port really crappy, forcing serious people to spend more money then needed for a super-highend computer or an Xbox.. That's my view on it, at least.
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-05, 09:52 AM   #30
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Umm, about Halo... I've had it running absolutely fine on an SDRAM based XP1700 rig with 256mb ram and a GF2ti... with the DX7 path it ran fine and smooth @ low settings @ 8x6...

8x6 with all the details kicked up, including specular was also attainable in a 512mb rig with an XP1700 @ 1.9... and a GF3 64mb... There were a few hitches in gameplay, but... the same rig with a GF4ti ran the same without the hitches... and a 5900 in that rig allowed for 10x7 and a little AF...

A 5600NU ran Halo just like the GF3 in a similar rig, and a 5600u AND 5700NU allowed for the use of some AF... and a 5700U, well, you can do 10x7 but it gets a bit jerky, so 8x6 with LOTS of AF is fine for that card IMO...

IMO Halo is very scalable... and I'm even speaking of the original version, not the CE edition... I know, I'm one of the few people that don't say it runs like crap, but hey, resolution isn't everything IMO... I played a few great LAN games of Halo with that 15" monitor/1700/SDRAM/GF2ti combination, and I got a good constant 30 fps and had a great time...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-05, 10:28 AM   #31
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

UPS claims it will be delivered next Thursday. Bleh. That's gonna suck - right before Friday, yes, but i have to suffer through 3 days of school/work. But on the plus side, my flu should be cleared up by then.

I think i'm going to find my unreal disc, find a jedi knight game, add half-life and counter-strike to the game benchmarks, and use chameleonmark also. Phew. Just as long as the card doesn't fall apart with the pressure :P

Halo is much better now with a new mouse, the first of the upgrading... Much more responsive yet the same framerate, this MS Intellimouse optical 5-button is a lot better. I can jump a lot better (somehow, and i put jump on the very first button too..) and in a game last night with friends, i ranked 2nd overall (there was 11 of us), so the framerate
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-05, 05:32 PM   #32
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)


Installed the ti4200. Little to no performance increase. I feel like shooting myself as the card performs just a few FPS faster then the fx5200 and has the same overall smoothness of it. The motherboard is just hosing the rest of the system - the SBPCI128, Ti4200, Duron, hard drive, memory, probably even the DVDRW drive. The motherboard doesn't deserve anything at all..

I've tried only Halo and UT2003 benchmarks so far. 3dmark2001 (or some other problems) freezes the system completely around the start of the Nature demo (on a 17-test run). It's not the demo, it runs fine by itself.. the same IQ of the FX5200, but 10-15fps faster, the only place it really shows off.. Too lazy to update my word file with the results right now, so i have a pretty screenshot with the stats. Perhaps i should try overclocking the card? I'm mainly worried about the freezing.. i thought the only games that freeze for this computer are THPS2 and Spider-man.. (the original, not the movie versions)

Maybe i shouldn't use the DH-zer0point 71.48's..

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.JPG
Views:	184
Size:	173.1 KB
ID:	11088  

Last edited by Mehbody; 03-31-05 at 05:55 PM. Reason: Forgot the screenshot. How stupid am I?
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-31-05, 08:31 PM   #33
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Err.. sorry for the triple-posting here.. i just don't think my find it worth of a edit.

I popped on a ram-spreader thingy on my stick of 256mb in there, and i was able to almost get through a test in 3dmark - failed on the pixel shader, about half-way in. I want to go through it all, at least once, to see how fast it is.. but not if it keeps freezing

I tried a few more games.. Deus Ex, Unreal, and JK:JA all played very fast before freezing to a halt, at highest settings/800x600, noAA/8xAF. Steam in JK:JA slowed it down a few FPS though, nothing to go cry about. Just wish this card wasn't making it freeze like crazy..

Cough.. with EVEREST Home Edition, my AMD K6-2/VA-503 scored higher in memory tests (PC100 256mb.. remember that?). That's pretty bad..

/me goes to find a money tree to shake. (with enough shaking, i could even buy a SLI system.. but that's for the future..)
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-05, 12:22 PM   #34
simonuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 116
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Yes a Geforce4 Ti4200 is much faster than any fx5200, considering that most fx5200's are now the slow 64bit kind the Ti4200 is the way to go:-

GF4 Ti4200 v 128bit FX5200 v R9200 v GF4 MX440 review
__________________
http://www.ultimatehardware.net
simonuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-05, 10:28 PM   #35
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

After fixing the problem in the other thread, this card, paired with this lame motherboard, only manages to pull -
- 1100 more 3dmarks (2001)
- 5 more FPS on average, in most gaming timedemo and gameplay. Games later then Halo are the exception, with Halo/HL2/SW:RC running about 2fps faster and with Doom 3 running about 4fps faster.

I really need to buy a new motherboard and mobile Athlon.. why oh why did I get a PS2 and games for my birthday.. should have got the new motherboard/athlon/memory instead. And saved about $100, too.. think EBgames would pay me back a good price for all of it?
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-05, 09:09 AM   #36
nIghtorius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 236
Send a message via ICQ to nIghtorius
Default Re: Is it worth the money? (TI4200 vs. FX5200)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mehbody
After fixing the problem in the other thread, this card, paired with this lame motherboard, only manages to pull -
- 1100 more 3dmarks (2001)
- 5 more FPS on average, in most gaming timedemo and gameplay. Games later then Halo are the exception, with Halo/HL2/SW:RC running about 2fps faster and with Doom 3 running about 4fps faster.

I really need to buy a new motherboard and mobile Athlon.. why oh why did I get a PS2 and games for my birthday.. should have got the new motherboard/athlon/memory instead. And saved about $100, too.. think EBgames would pay me back a good price for all of it?
Is your GART driver succesfully installed? without it your AGP bus drops down to PCI speed (133MB/s) instead of AGP4x/8x (533MB/s / 1066MB/s) and can cause some major slowdown.. not only that.. (reduced bandwidth).. your CPU is also stressed more because the AGP transfers not taking place anymore. (cpu has to transfer this data)

my card (GF6800GT) performs like crap when there is no GART driver installed. 7000 3DMark03 without it.. and 12000+ with it.. (quite the difference)
__________________
New!
Rig 'Titan': Intel Core Duo 6600 | Zalman 9500CU-LED | 2GB DDR-2 667 | P5N-SLI | BFG 8800 GTX | 24" Dell FPW2407 | zalman ZM600-HP modular PSU | 1050GB TOTAL HDD | Photosmart 7760 | Microsoft Cordless Laser Desktop 5000 | Logitech Z2300 2.1 | MX700 Backup Mouse | Antec Performance One P180B (Black) | Vista Business 32-bits

Laptop: IBM ThinkPad T43 | Pentium M 750 | Wireless b/g | 60GB 7200RPM | DVD Writer | 512MB DDR2 | 1400x1050 15" | WinXP SP2
nIghtorius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flame's crypto attack may have needed $200,000 worth of compute power News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 09:40 PM
Ti4200 and Linux Install Problem ultrajava NVIDIA Linux 5 09-28-02 08:13 AM
Water cooling, is it worth it? VoltFox CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 15 09-28-02 03:53 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.