Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-05, 10:41 AM   #1
laguna888
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default problem about linux and sata

NF3+SATA,couldn't find harddisk when installing linux(redhat 9.0),what can I do?
laguna888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 12:12 PM   #2
kgroombr
Using Linux Since 1995
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 130
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

I haven't used RedHat 9, but I am certain it was released before the SATA drivers you need were released for Linux. Haven't done it in a while, but there was a way to have a floppy/CD with the modules for your distro ready and load them when booting so that it can understand your hardware.

A better/easier solution would be to use a newer distro that already has your drivers.

Probably not what you wanted to hear, but even Windows does this too. That is why you sometimes have to press F6 when booting so that the drivers can be loaded to install the OS.

Good luck,
Ken
__________________
Kenton A. Groombridge
kgroombr@comcast.net
http://home.comcast.net/~kgroombr/
kgroombr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-05, 07:20 PM   #3
cjcox
Registered User
 
cjcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 110
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

My M70 couldn't see the CDROM without using ide-generic, which of course disables DMA. I tried 2.6.11rc5 and still had the problem. At some point CDROM/DVDs were unblacklisted in the libsata code and now I'm running 2.6.11.4 (from SUSE's kernel of the day) and everything is working again. Had no problem with SUSE 9.2 and seeing the HD... just had to use PIO mode for the CDROM (a pain, works... but slow). DMA doesn't really apply in SATA land.. so everything is DMA by default when SATA works.... and with 2.6.11.4, I have "dma" on my CDRW/DVD on my laptop!
cjcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 12:01 AM   #4
Thoreau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 95
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

Until the chipsets are open(never), in the land of SATA 3ware is king.
Thoreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 09:13 PM   #5
softwheels
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

Hi Everyone,

NF4 + SATA single disk I could not install my Fedora Core 2.
For this problem, the driverdisk provided by Nvidia in their link does not work.
Nvidia known problems link file doesnot work or image contains no files.

Any help will be very much useful.

Thanks.
softwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-05, 09:54 PM   #6
thelinux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

Quote:
Originally Posted by softwheels
Hi Everyone,

NF4 + SATA single disk I could not install my Fedora Core 2.
For this problem, the driverdisk provided by Nvidia in their link does not work.
Nvidia known problems link file doesnot work or image contains no files.

Any help will be very much useful.

Thanks.
Why core 2? There is core 4 already and everything works fine with my Asus A8N-SLI board and nvidia 6600GT graphic boad.
thelinux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-05, 01:38 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

The problem here is that the Linux kernel sata_nv driver didn't ship until a 2.6.x kernel (which rules out RH9), and didn't work reliably until RHEL4-Update1 and FC3.

The fastest, easiest way to resolve this problem is to use FC4. Getting sata_nv working in RH9 is going to be very very painful.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-05, 04:29 PM   #8
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: problem about linux and sata

Quote:
Originally Posted by laguna888
NF3+SATA,couldn't find harddisk when installing linux(redhat 9.0),what can I do?
I guess RH9 doesn't include the NV SATA driver. Half a year ago i successfully
installed Fedora Core 3 on a RAID5 set with four disks attached to the NF4 SATA
controller (Linux software RAID as provided by the FC3 installer). FC4 and/or NF3
should work, too.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.