Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-05, 10:09 AM   #1
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Question SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

Well.. I personally don't care much for steam or its methodology, however at the request of many forum members I gave it a shot.

I loaded up 'STEAM with the Half-Life 2 and CS extensions' and attempted to run some benchmarks.

Despite the requests - I did not find a Half-Life 2 benchmarking tool but I did find the "Video Stress Test" in Counter Strike.

Disclaimer - I benchmarked according to how I like to see things so lesser settings were not even tried.

1600x1200
Full Screen
Aspect Ratio 4:3
Model Deetail - High
Texture Detail - High
Anistrophic Filtering - 16x
Anti Alliasing - 6x (there was no 8x as an option)
Shader Detail - High
Water Detail - Refect All

Ran "Video Stress Test"

It reported 159.5 FPS

There was a check mark in upload results to Valve - so if anyone needs to see it I guess it is on record somewhere-wherever that is.


If someone tells me how to benchmark "IN" HL2 I will do it.


Some comments using the "tides" map from CS:

1. I could not visually see a difference between 8x and 16x anistrophic
2. Some things were super detailed (flags, maps, photos, and sconces, and then other items just stayed less detailed)

On the "office" map:
I thought it was cool how you can shoot a desktop Dell and actually see inside it in 3d including Ram, Chip, video Card, Cooler. Power Supply etc

When exiting the games, the STEAM applet had the audacity to stay resident - the nerve!


VENTURI
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 10:18 AM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

6xAA dosent work for nVIDIA cards in VST .
that result you posted must be @0xAA,16xAF then .

to force 8xAA . do it via the control panel . then run the benchmark .

at max settings + HQ image settings i get 110fps @1600x1200,4xAA,16xAF .
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 10:25 AM   #3
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

OK I re-ran the test at 4X AA,

and I got 159 .3 fps - it does not seem to change the score much

I let it upload the results again. Sorry I did not know it was disabled for the 6x.

Venturi
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 10:30 AM   #4
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

Make sure you quit the test when you change settings . otherwise it might play at the last ones .

if thats indeed correct you get ~160fps @16x12,4x,16x then i reckon that HL2 will be playable smoothly for you @8xSAA,16xAF !!
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 10:34 AM   #5
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

Yes, I did exit and restart the game before re-testing.

how else would I have replied to your email between tests?

Surfing the net and HL2 at the same time are not the prefered testing methodology

Just for the record:

depending on which driver I use and if I'm running 64 bit instead of 32 Server - the test scores can vary almost 30 points.

2nd - I'm using my modded 76.1 in 32 bit (they report as 70.78, I was desperate and had improvise). If I actually use the official 71.84, the SLI does not work on Server 2003.

3rd - on the 70.78 changing the AA and AF takes a full restart for the settings to take effect, not just a restart of the game - but of the whole box.

4th - I'm still waiting for Nvidia to release OFFICIAL SLI capable drivers for 64-bit server/xp

5th- on the Quadro enabled SLI driver it uses the nvwapps.xml instead of the nvapps.xml in sys32


I ran the test several times and every time the score fluctuates 1-2 fps...I don'r know why - alignment of the moon???
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.

Last edited by Venturi; 02-10-06 at 08:04 AM.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 03:51 PM   #6
macatak
Registered User
 
macatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

There is a Utility available for benchmarking HL2, you can download it here
__________________
WinXP Home Edition SP2/Athlon 3500+Newcastle/MSI K8N Diamond/BFG7800GTX OC/Antec 550TrueControl 2.0/1GIG DDR400Kingmax/Acer AL2016W LCD/SB Live!/Audigy2 ZS
macatak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 04:05 PM   #7
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

Thanks - I'll try it
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 04:14 PM   #8
Rytr
SuperMod
 
Rytr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: River City
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

This benchmark utility proved to be accurate using FRAPS for comparison in a review of 6200 TurboCache cards I just completed.

Although the 6200 TC in my systems are what could be considered at the opposite end of the spectrum from Venturi's I was satisfied with the test results. Variation of average frame rate was only <2 FPS from what FRAPS recorded with FRAPS recording 1-2 FPS higher at each setting. This was using the HardwareOC-Coast benchmark of this utility.
Rytr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-20-05, 06:24 PM   #9
jaws
hero
 
jaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ott
Posts: 125
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

In order to have 8xs in cs:s you have to set aa in cs:s to none and 8xs in control panel under global settings

Venturi, could you tell me what you get with 8xs/16af at 1024/768 all high?

Your machine is a beast
jaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 06:37 PM   #10
jolle
Registered User
 
jolle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,804
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

oooh, what I would want to se is:
2x2 SSAA!! hehe.. its pretty taxing stuff, but nice on alphablended textures.
nHancer has options for forcing that on..
Dunno what resolution would be supported with it, as I think it renders the screen 2x bigger on both axis and downsamples from that.
__________________
Q6700, Abit X38 QuadGT, 8Gb (4x 2GB) OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066MHz, Gainward GTX 285 1Gb, X-Fi XtremeMusic
jolle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 07:07 PM   #11
macatak
Registered User
 
macatak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 1,349
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

You can also do like i did and tranfer the demos that are in the Utility to your C:\Program Files\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\[username]\half-life 2\hl2 folder, then when you start up HL2 bring up the console and type in timedemo [name of demo] then hit ENTER or SUBMIT
__________________
WinXP Home Edition SP2/Athlon 3500+Newcastle/MSI K8N Diamond/BFG7800GTX OC/Antec 550TrueControl 2.0/1GIG DDR400Kingmax/Acer AL2016W LCD/SB Live!/Audigy2 ZS
macatak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-05, 07:17 PM   #12
Venturi
The Architect
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 354
Default Re: SLI Quadro Half-Life 2 - CS benchie

COOL!! I will try that.

V
__________________

Dual Opteron Dual Core 2222s (OC 3.17GHz)
ASUS KFN32-D SLI SAS (OC 1.1GHz HPT)
2 evga Superclocked 8800 GTX SLI (650-1550-2080 OC)
16GB Ram DDR-2 ecc reg
8 terabytes (8 x 1T drives)
ex8350 raid controller card
Dual Tagan 1100Watt Power Supplies (2200W)
Sony Blue Ray DVD Burner (Vrs 3)
Apple 30" Cinema LCD at 2560x1600 (version 2)
Windows Enterprise Server 2003 64-bit
Suse 10 64-bit, Vista 64-bit Ultimate
Stacker CM server case
Deck Legend Keyboard
...& plenty of blue lights.
Venturi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legit Half Life 3 concept arts leaked AthlonXP1800 Gaming Central 5 06-29-12 03:27 AM
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.