Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-05, 11:07 AM   #13
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: I just want to use my graphics card

Hmmm. I don't believe it's caused entirely by that for the simple reason that I haven't got any similar problems in Windows, but still, might be worth a try.
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-05, 11:45 AM   #14
Lithorus
Registered User
 
Lithorus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 783
Default Re: I just want to use my graphics card

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadEgg
Hmmm. I don't believe it's caused entirely by that for the simple reason that I haven't got any similar problems in Windows, but still, might be worth a try.
Well I could also get windows booting, but I could also get it to hardlock with a few tweakings in the bios, but for linux it's was a no go everytime.
Lithorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-05, 12:12 PM   #15
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: I just want to use my graphics card

I just tried 1005, 1006, 1007, 1008, and the new 1008 beta BIOS. All of them had the same problem, although the effect did vary a little bit among them(some dont do any mode-switch at all on the monitor, just blank the screen, some do a mode-switch to the correct resolution that X is set to, and some send a standby signal to the monitor causing it to power off.).
So this didn't help me unfortunately. Thanks for the suggestion though!
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 04:07 AM   #16
MadEgg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 88
Default Re: I just want to use my graphics card

Just tried another thing I thought might be causing it, several actually.
I thought maybe too aggressive optimization flags could cause the instability so I recompiled GCC, glibc, the kernel, freetype, fontconfig and xorg-x11 with very mild optimization flags(-O3 -pipe -march=pentium4). That did not help either, still the same problem.
After that I thought, maybe the SMP/SMT(Hyperthreading) is causing it, so I recompiled my kernel without SMP/SMT support and disabled Hyperthreading in the BIOS. But that didn't help either, still exactly the same problem.

[edit]
Yippeee. It's finally fixed(so far). I've been trying ****loads of other BIOS-es from other manufacturers like Asus, Albatron, XFX and PointOfView but those all didn help, and the XFX-bios even made X stop starting at all.
Now i'm back to the original AOpen BIOS, but instead of equalizing the 2D and 3D clocks at 425 MHz(where the 3D clock was originally set to) I know set them both to 400 MHz(where the 2D clock was originally set to). The problem is completely gone now. A bit of a shame about those 25 MHz but I think I can live with that(although I still think I shouldn't have to).
Thanks everyone for the suggestions and help!
[/edit]
__________________
Proud owner of GF 6800 Ultra AGP and GF 6600 AGP

Last edited by MadEgg; 03-26-05 at 04:55 AM.
MadEgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 08:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.