Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-05, 03:22 PM   #1
Strahd
Registered User
 
Strahd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 395
Default OMG, make the RAM stop!!

I am currently using Kingston Value RAM (taken off my old P4 MB). I want to upgrade my RAM to optimize my system. I have been looking at Kingston's website and Asus's website to try and determine what would be some really good RAM for my CPU/MB.

What is frustrating to me is the fact I have all these damn specs to figure out what will and won't work in my system. According to Asus's website only Kingston's Value RAM has been tested to work with my MB. Kingston's website has PC2700 to PC4300 RAM and then there is PC2-4300 and PC2-5400.

Am I doomed to waste money buying RAM hoping it works? What is the best performing RAM for my CPU/MB?
__________________
Strahd
-Forgiveness is between you and God, it's my job to arrange the meeting!

My rig:
[size=1]Intel I7-950 with H70 (for now stock)
EVGA X58 Classified3 (141-GT-E770-A1)
2 X eVGA 450 GTS
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 850W SSI PSU
CoolerMaster Half X Case
2 X Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3250318AS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s in raid 0
Dell 2405FPW Monitor
Logitech G15 Keyboard
World of Warcraft Cataclysm Mouse by Steelseries
QcK+ Steel mouse pad
Strahd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-05, 04:42 PM   #2
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default Re: OMG, make the RAM stop!!

I suggest you go for some better stuff than Kingston ValueRAM for that beast of a system you have. What about OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 or Corsair XMS? I've never paid attention to RAM verified by my board manufacturer personally. If there are glaring problems they are usually reported rather quickly.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-05, 04:44 PM   #3
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: OMG, make the RAM stop!!

I'm running 1 Gig of Kingston HyperX Dual Channel PC3500 on my A8V rev 1 and I'm having no problems at all. Because you're not overclocking, PC3200 should do you fine. To be honest, I never even check the compatability list before getting mine. I'm not too much of an expert on RAM though, so I'll let someone else recommend different types that you can get.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-05, 04:44 PM   #4
Strahd
Registered User
 
Strahd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 395
Default Re: OMG, make the RAM stop!!

I want better memory and that's what I'm trying to research. The KVR memory I'm using was something to get me by until I can figure out some good performing memory to use.

With all the options out there for the different memory options, I have no clue what would be good to get.
__________________
Strahd
-Forgiveness is between you and God, it's my job to arrange the meeting!

My rig:
[size=1]Intel I7-950 with H70 (for now stock)
EVGA X58 Classified3 (141-GT-E770-A1)
2 X eVGA 450 GTS
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 850W SSI PSU
CoolerMaster Half X Case
2 X Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3250318AS 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s in raid 0
Dell 2405FPW Monitor
Logitech G15 Keyboard
World of Warcraft Cataclysm Mouse by Steelseries
QcK+ Steel mouse pad
Strahd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.