Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-05, 03:48 PM   #13
Cota
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 619
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Nice review, I wish you had compared it to nforce2 soundstorm.

I expected DD-EX encoding, but I guess 5.1 will be enough.

I hope the "cheap" version only has Digital out. I have no use for analog output.

Now I can upgrade to an A64 and won't miss soundstorm.
Cota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 04:36 PM   #14
BrianG
aka HalcYoN - Hook Em!
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cota
Nice review, I wish you had compared it to nforce2 soundstorm.

I expected DD-EX encoding, but I guess 5.1 will be enough.

I hope the "cheap" version only has Digital out. I have no use for analog output.

Now I can upgrade to an A64 and won't miss soundstorm.
Had I still had an nForce2 system to test with, I would have.

Despite not using them, the analog outs still look pretty sweet on the back of the PC, heh.
__________________
Brian - aka HalcYoN

photobriangray
Nikon D700 and D300s | SB-600 | Tamron 28-75/2.8 | Tamron 17-50/2.8 | Nikon 70-200VR I
10.5/2.8 Fisheye | 28/1.8 AF-S | 35/1.8 AF-S | 50/1.8 | 105/F2 AF-D | Sigma 150/2.8 Macro
Nikon J1 | 10-30VR |30-100VR | 10/2.8 | 18/1.8
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 06:26 PM   #15
Cota
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 619
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Since you had one before, can I take your word that the Mystique sounds as good as soundstorm with Dolby digital?
Cota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 06:33 PM   #16
BrianG
aka HalcYoN - Hook Em!
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cota
Since you had one before, can I take your word that the Mystique sounds as good as soundstorm with Dolby digital?
It does. I did not think it would going in, but this is a good sound card. It will stay in my system, for sure and had I not reviewed it, I would have been very happy with the $100 spent.
__________________
Brian - aka HalcYoN

photobriangray
Nikon D700 and D300s | SB-600 | Tamron 28-75/2.8 | Tamron 17-50/2.8 | Nikon 70-200VR I
10.5/2.8 Fisheye | 28/1.8 AF-S | 35/1.8 AF-S | 50/1.8 | 105/F2 AF-D | Sigma 150/2.8 Macro
Nikon J1 | 10-30VR |30-100VR | 10/2.8 | 18/1.8
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 11:07 PM   #17
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

This is great news for me.
I really want a nice sound card but
WILL NEVER buy a CL product again.

They have the worse drivers I've ever used.
CRASH, CRASH, CRASH is all a computer does
with CL drivers-products.
I've been forced to use junky built
in sound for over a year now.

Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-05, 09:06 AM   #18
rombat
Registered User
 
rombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 225
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Great review, so I orderd me one of these sound card. I uninstalled my drivers and apps for my AudigyZs card and installed the Mystique sound card and installed the drivers (went in pretty easy). I started it up and first thing I hear is a static noise right before it plays any wav sound. The noise can be heard after the wav sound is played to. Thought it could be the equalizer being set to high so I fooled around with the settings and nothing still get the noise before and after a wav sound is played. Secound problem I can not get Winamp to play in 5.1 surround sound I have to go to winamp site and download a plugin just to get it going (didn't have to do this with my AudigyZs). I wonder if its driver issues any have one of these cards yet and seeing the same problems I am getting?

System Specs
Asus SLi Deluxe
AMD 64 FX
2gig systme memory
2 Evga Ultra (sli)
4 (120g) Desktar Sata HD's
Mystique 7.1 sound card

Last edited by rombat; 05-12-05 at 09:14 PM.
rombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-05, 09:29 AM   #19
BrianG
aka HalcYoN - Hook Em!
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by rombat
Great review, so I orderd me one of this sound card. I uninstalled my drivers and apps for my AudigyZs card and installed the Mystique sound card and installed the drivers (went in pretty easy). I started it up and first thing I hear is a static noise right before it plays any wav sound. The noise can be heard after the wav sound is played to. Thought it could be the equalizer being set to high so I fooled around with the settings and nothing still get the noise before and after a wav sound is played. Secound problem I can not get Winamp to play in 5.1 surround sound I have to go to winamp site and download a plugin just to get it going (didn't have to do this with my AudigyZs). I wonder if its driver issues any have one of these cards yet and seeing the same problems I am getting?

System Specs
Asus SLi Deluxe
AMD 64 FX
2gig systme memory
2 Evga Ultra (sli)
4 (120g) Desktar Sata HD's
Mystique 7.1 sound card
What audio mode are you using? Are you running DDL or just the discrete ouputs?

Almost seems like your PC is trying to output somewhere else and then switching to the new sound card. Confirm your BIOS settings that the mobo didn't enable on-board with the card change, check your speaker out settings are cool with your speakers and run Driver Cleaner to unass the Creative remnants.
__________________
Brian - aka HalcYoN

photobriangray
Nikon D700 and D300s | SB-600 | Tamron 28-75/2.8 | Tamron 17-50/2.8 | Nikon 70-200VR I
10.5/2.8 Fisheye | 28/1.8 AF-S | 35/1.8 AF-S | 50/1.8 | 105/F2 AF-D | Sigma 150/2.8 Macro
Nikon J1 | 10-30VR |30-100VR | 10/2.8 | 18/1.8
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-05, 09:43 AM   #20
rombat
Registered User
 
rombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 225
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Ty for the fast reply BrainG, I am at work right now, but I am for sure my on board sound is disabled in bios. I am using the discrete output not using DDL. I made sure my speakers are plugged securely in the back of my card. I forgot to tell you I am using Logitech Z-680 5.1 speakers. When I get home I will try DriveCleaner and see if it removes any more drivers from Creative.
rombat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-12-05, 08:35 PM   #21
rombat
Registered User
 
rombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 225
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

OK BrianG, I got the sound card working and all I can say is WOW very nice to my ears! I totally forgot my speakers had fiber optical S/PDIF connection, so I hooked up the card to my speakers using fiber cable than ran DriveCleanerPro and restarted my pc. I than had to reset my speaker configuration and that was it my Winamp Pro works like a charm now and no more static noise when wav files are played. All the problem was left over drivers from my creative Audigy2 Zs card, just shows you when you use Add and Remove option it really does not remove all the files it should!
rombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-05, 06:17 AM   #22
BrianG
aka HalcYoN - Hook Em!
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

Quote:
Originally Posted by rombat
OK BrianG, I got the sound card working and all I can say is WOW very nice to my ears! I totally forgot my speakers had fiber optical S/PDIF connection, so I hooked up the card to my speakers using fiber cable than ran DriveCleanerPro and restarted my pc. I than had to reset my speaker configuration and that was it my Winamp Pro works like a charm now and no more static noise when wav files are played. All the problem was left over drivers from my creative Audigy2 Zs card, just shows you when you use Add and Remove option it really does not remove all the files it should!


Outstanding!!!
__________________
Brian - aka HalcYoN

photobriangray
Nikon D700 and D300s | SB-600 | Tamron 28-75/2.8 | Tamron 17-50/2.8 | Nikon 70-200VR I
10.5/2.8 Fisheye | 28/1.8 AF-S | 35/1.8 AF-S | 50/1.8 | 105/F2 AF-D | Sigma 150/2.8 Macro
Nikon J1 | 10-30VR |30-100VR | 10/2.8 | 18/1.8
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-05, 06:15 PM   #23
Deneteus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: HDA Mystique US Rep Q&A

I have had my XDA card for months I got it for cheap off Ebay. The shipping almost cost as much as the card from Korea. I'm just wondering about the add-in card. It looks like a company that made add-ons for Creative Labs products called Hoontech. They were the first people to make an add-on cards for the SB Live! HDA probably stands for Hootech Digital Audio. Am I correct? Hoontech made some neat stuff.
Deneteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.