Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-05, 01:49 AM   #1
randall_lefevre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default TwinView MetaMode issue in 7174 on Debian 2.6.10-6 Asus GeForce FX-5200 128MB

This is my first post, so please go easy on me.

After reading through the README.txt file for 7174 and spending several hours searching the forum for a resolution/trying to ensure that I'm not posting a duplicate issue, I decided to post.

To the point:
This is more of a convenience issue.

I've got 2 DFP's [Left-DFP and Right-DFP] (both have an analog AND a digital input with a "Source" button to switch between them).
I've got 2 primary systems Earthquake and Magma (see the signature for specs).
Both have DVI and VGA output.
Magma DVI is cabled to Right-DFP-Digital (1280x1024), Magma VGA is cabled to Left-DFP-Analog (1280x1024).
The opposite are cabled to Earthquake.

What I'd like to accomplish:
I'd like to be able to have a 1280x1024 real desktop for both systems (using only 1 DFP each.
I'd also like to be able to press the "Source" button on either DFP and change the MetaMode to get a 2560x1024 unified desktop.

Speaking strictly about Magma (the system I use for experimentation)...
From some of the posts, moderators have suggested using NULL as a mode to blank out the monitor.
What I've found is that this does not reduce the desktop size--it stays at the full TwinView resolution as a virtual 2560x1024 desktop when the MetaMode is changed.

What I mean is that is:
MetaMode 0 - desktop is 2560x1024 spread across 2 monitors
MetaMode 1 - desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor

The "Driver" section of my XF86Config-4 (Xfree86 4.3.0.dfsg.1-12)
Identifier "ASUS NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 128MB"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP, CRT"
Option "TwinView" "true"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "DFP RightOf CRT"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-81"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "56-75"
Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "true"
Option "MetaModes" "DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: 1280x1024; DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: NULL"

I get no errors or warnings in the log file, so I didn't post it--I don't think this is an issue that requires anyone to look at the log, but if I'm wrong, let me know and I'll post it.

Is there anything I can do to get MetaMode 1 to be just 1280x1024 on one monitor?
What am I missing?

What I've tried so far:
Changing MetaModes to "DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: NULL; DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: 1280x1024"
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two
Changing MetaModes to "DFP: 1280x1024; DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: 1280x1024"
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two
Changing MetaModes to "CRT: NULL, DFP: 1280x1024; CRT: 1280x1024, DFP: 1280x1024"
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two
Changing MetaModes to "DFP: 1280x1024; CRT: 1280x1024, DFP: 1280x1024"
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two
Changing MetaModes to "DFP: 1280x1024 @1280x1024, CRT: NULL; DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: 1280x1024"
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two
Changing MetaModes to "DFP: 1280x1024 @1280x1024 +0+0, CRT: NULL; DFP: 1280x1024, CRT: 1280x1024"
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two
Removed "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" option and tried all above steps again
Result: desktop is 2560x1024 on one monitor or two

I probably over-did the changing MetaModes bit, but I'm in Tech Support--sometimes you just have to try everything you can think of.

Something I discovered while I was doing this:
When "CRT: NULL" is in MetaMode 0 and I exit WindowMaker, the confirmation dialog (centred) appears centred on the 2560x1024 desktop.
When "CRT: NULL" is in MetaMode 1 and I exit WindowMaker, the confirmation dialog (centred) appears centred as if the desktop is only 1280x1024 (but I can scroll to the right edge--making the confirmation dialog disappear completely).

I would appreciate some help on this.

Thanks in advance,
Randall
No, they're not spelling errors--I'm Canadian
__________________
Tsunami: AMD AthlonXP 1600+, 1024MB DDR400 on an ECS Group K7S5A with 2x160GB HDD, 2xHauppauge PVR-250, NVidia Riva TNT2 M64 32MB [XFree86 nv default] running Debian SID w/2.6.10-6 Kernel
Magma: AMD AthlonXP 3200+, 1024MB DDR400 on a Soltek SL-KT880E-RL with 200GB SATA, SB Audigy Platinum, MSI NVidia GeForce FX-5700 256MB [NVidia 7174] running Debian SID w/2.6.10-6 Kernel
Earthquake: AMD AthlonXP 3200+, 1024MB DDR400 on an Asus A7V880 with 200GB SATA, SB Live 5.1, Asus NVidia GeForce FX-5200 128MB [NVidia 7174] running Debian SID w/2.6.10-6 Kernel
WindowMaker - Your next window manager!
randall_lefevre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-05, 03:34 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: TwinView MetaMode issue in 7174 on Debian 2.6.10-6 Asus GeForce FX-5200 128MB

The NULL metamode is meant for games. When the NULL mode is set for a game, the game will display on only one device which is useally what you want. What you plan to do is not possible with this twinview configuration. The only way to do it would be to launch an extra Xserver with only one monitor. When you switch to this server (assuming it is :1 then you can switch to it using ctrl-alt-f8) then the other monitor will turn off. You can run both Xserver sessions (twinview and non-twinview) at the same time.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-05, 09:10 PM   #3
randall_lefevre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: TwinView MetaMode issue in 7174 on Debian 2.6.10-6 Asus GeForce FX-5200 128MB

Thank you Thunderbird.

I knew there was something I was missing.

I modded my XF86Config-4 file for a normal and a wide screen, then added the second layout called "WideScreen".

Next--because I'm extremely lazy, I added a "startx-wide" script (which just does "startx -- :1 -layout WideScreen") in /usr/X11R6/bin/

finally, I ran "startx" and CTRL+ALT+F2 and ran "startx-wide". My desired result (well, 95%) is achieved.

I did the same on my second PC and now with a CTRL+ALT+F7/F8 and a press of the "Source" button on either one of my LCD's and I have a unified desktop across 2 monitors.

The only thing missing is being able to switch "modes" and have my apps transfer over, but I guess I can write a script for that too.

I hope I'm not the only one helped by my posts.

Cheers!
Randall
__________________
Tsunami: AMD AthlonXP 1600+, 1024MB DDR400 on an ECS Group K7S5A with 2x160GB HDD, 2xHauppauge PVR-250, NVidia Riva TNT2 M64 32MB [XFree86 nv default] running Debian SID w/2.6.10-6 Kernel
Magma: AMD AthlonXP 3200+, 1024MB DDR400 on a Soltek SL-KT880E-RL with 200GB SATA, SB Audigy Platinum, MSI NVidia GeForce FX-5700 256MB [NVidia 7174] running Debian SID w/2.6.10-6 Kernel
Earthquake: AMD AthlonXP 3200+, 1024MB DDR400 on an Asus A7V880 with 200GB SATA, SB Live 5.1, Asus NVidia GeForce FX-5200 128MB [NVidia 7174] running Debian SID w/2.6.10-6 Kernel
WindowMaker - Your next window manager!
randall_lefevre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-05, 06:51 PM   #4
Gallienus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Default Re: TwinView MetaMode issue in 7174 on Debian 2.6.10-6 Asus GeForce FX-5200 128MB

Hi A quick question from a newbie...
I also have a GeForce FX 5200 (128 MB) and would like to run a second monitor. I would be quite interested in using a flatpanel Sony 19" for this. My GeForce only have 1 vga out + 1 S-video out. How do I run a 2nd monitor unless there are 2 VGA outputs? Do I need a second video card?
Gallienus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-05, 01:35 AM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: TwinView MetaMode issue in 7174 on Debian 2.6.10-6 Asus GeForce FX-5200 128MB

You can't do it with the current card. The options are to add an extra pci card but it might be a better idea to just buy a (cheap) new videocard for instance a geforce 6200/6600.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.