Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-05, 09:43 AM   #1
ekloot1978
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

I'm basically just desperately trying to find a pci video card with actual 128bit memory for my friend's dell which has no agp slot. We ordered the apollo 5700le pci but found out it only had 64bit memory with riva tuner. We also ordered and tried the Jaton 5700le pci and riva tuner reported that it only had 64bit memory too...even though it was advertised to have 128bit memory! We also ran a little benchmark too just to make sure the memory bandwidth on that Jaton was really 64bit and sure enough the benchmark showed about 3.2GB/s memory bandwidth. And a lot of the pci 5200's and 5500's seem to be 64bit now as well where I don't think all of them were before. What's the deal...are there any 128bit pci cards out there anymore?
ekloot1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-05, 09:56 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

I think there might be a Radeon 9100 or something that is, but that's based on the 8500 which is DirectX 8.1 compatible only. Otherwise you may be SOL.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 02:44 AM   #3
ricercar
fugue master
 
ricercar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: silicon valley
Posts: 1,603
Arrow Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Very strange. All NV36 (GeForce 5700 LE/5700/5700 Ultra) PCI cards should have a 128-bit memory bus, unless the card vendor changed the reference design to save money (fancy that...).

Makes me wonder about Jaton's dependability as never before. Is this the one you tested?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...139-166&depa=0
Quote:
Memory Configuration 400MHz 128MB 128-bit DDR
Here's a NV34 (5200) PCI that says 128-bit...
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-087&depa=0
Quote:
Memory Configuration 256MB DDR/128-bit
__________________
I used to drive a Heisenberg, but whenever I'd glance at the speedometer, I'd get lost.
ricercar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 03:37 AM   #4
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Most all of 256 low end PCI cards are 128 Bit. But you almost have to have a 256 meg card for the 128 bit configuration and a PCI bus which kinda sucks. I have a 5200 PCI card layen around here with 256 megs of memory and 128 bit bus.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-05, 07:33 AM   #5
TierMann
Bite my shiny, metal @ss!
 
TierMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 1,586
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Isn't LE for Lite Edition?
I just read somewhere here about someone buying a card from ebay and getting an LE that was 64-bit...
Lemme see if I can find it.

Not what I was looking for, but here's another example. http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/newr...reply&p=573063
No luck, but here's another suggestion that it's 64bit in which you posted, ekloot. http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=44877

Anyways, I would try a plain 5700 and see how that works out.
__________________
Athlon 64 4400+ X2 (10x250= 2.5ghz) | Foxconn NF4KS8AA-8EKRS (nForce4 SLI) | 2GB OCZ DDR400 @ 416 (3-3-3-8) | eVGA 8800GTS 320mb
Red Diabolic Minotaur Case | PCP&C 610 Silencer | Samsung 19" 997DF + Acer AL1914smd-8 | G15 Keyboard | MX Revolution | 900Gb Storage
Vista Ultimate 32 + Gentoo Linux (Gnome + Beryl)
Athlon XP 3000+ | ECS KM400M2 3.0 | 512mb DDR333 | PNY 5200 Ultra
TV-Tuner | Silver Aspire X-Qpack w/Windows | WinXP MCE 2005 | 200Gb Storage
DVD Collection -- MySpace

Last edited by TierMann; 03-26-05 at 07:46 AM.
TierMann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-05, 01:21 AM   #6
ekloot1978
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Yeah its getting really confusing on which models are 64bit or not these days...all the manufacturers seem to be changing their specs. Not all of the 5700LE's are 64 bit (yet)...but all the pci ones seem to be...and pci is the only way my friend can go since he has no agp slot and doesn't want to upgrade the whole system.

Ricercar, and yes Jaton seems to have switched their 5700LE to a 64bit memory bus as well...their whole website has changed within the last week and if you look at their pci 5700LE specs it now says its 64bit even though new egg still says 128 bit. When my friend got his Jaton pci 5700LE card we installed riva tuner and it said it was 64 bit and we also ran a little memory bandwidth utility which said it had a bandwidth of about 3.2GB/s which means 64bit so it looks like Jaton sucks now (at least for pci).

Also, I saw the link to the chaintech 5200 card...that might be a good option if it really is still 128bit...I'll check the chaintech site out to see their specs...although I did that with Jaton and it changed recently enough to where we still got screwed and had to return the card

I appreciate all the reponses though...this really does help. I wish the manufacturers would stop playing these games though and just use 128bit memory or at least all of them should post their real specs on their boxes and on their websites to be clear...its kind of shady of them to use the same model numbers and have some cards perform well and others castrated in performance by cheap memory.
ekloot1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-05, 03:25 PM   #7
MustangSVT
Stop looking at me
 
MustangSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Wouldn't 128-bit memory on PCI card be useless since the PCI slot is so slow anyway?

My best advice is for your friend to go and buy an AGP motherboard. With the money you spend on the two FX5700LE's, he could've probably gotten one of those Infotek 9550GU for $95 which is basically a 9600 Pro or a used Ti4200 and a cheap AGP motherboard.

How much can a mobo be anyway?? If he's on Socket 462, it's like $40-$45 for a cheap KT600 mobo from like Epox, or like $50-$55 for a NF2 mobo. And if he's on P4, a cheap 865PE can be had for like $70. Pair that with a $50 SH Ti4200, and that Ti4200 would kill any of the cards mentioned by you. In fact, it'd be even faster than a real 128-bit FX5600U or FX5700 on AGP..
__________________
1. Q6600 @ 3.2, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Powercolor HD 4890 CrossFire, 4GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, 3x 24" LCD, Matrox TripleHead2Go, Audigy 2 ZS

2. Q9550 @ 3.7, ASUS P5K, Galaxy 8800GT G92, 2GB Mushkin DDR2-1066, Samsung 710N + Samsung 205BW, Audigy 2 + SB Live! 5.1 (hooked up together, really), dad's comp

3. XP-M 2500+ @ 205x11.5, Gigabyte nForce2-400, GeForce4 Ti4200, 2x512MB OCZ DDR-400 "Premier", oldie
MustangSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-05, 07:56 PM   #8
ekloot1978
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

No, 128bit on pci is still necessary...the 5700LE 64bit cards played everything even slower and choppier than his current geforce mx440 pci card (which is 128bit). And he returned both of the different geforce 5700LE pci cards so its not like he wasted any money since he was refunded.

And yes it would be nice if he could just upgrade his motherboard and everything but he has a dell and I don't know if he can just slap in some other motherboard (plus that powersupply on that thing probably wouldn't even power it). And that would mean that he might have to buy another case and powersupply then...but the new motherboard might not have onboard sound like he has now so then he'd have to buy a new sound card. And then I don't know if his backup copy of windows xp for his dell would activate correctly on the new system (since it wouldn't be a dell anymore) so there's always the slight chance he might need to buy that (but I'm not sure about that so that one might be a non-issue). So it could get fairly pricey and he's not looking to spend much money. I actually told him he might want to think about upgrading though...I think he wants to wait another year or year and a half before buying a whole new system...he wouldn't build one because he doesn't know how and he seems to like just purchasing the whole thing (and at the moment I don't think his fiancee wants him spending a bunch of money on a whole new computer just to be able to play a few games unfortunately). So that's why I'm trying to just find him a card that will play games decently even if its on low settings.
ekloot1978 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-27-05, 08:24 PM   #9
Mehbody
...
 
Mehbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ekloot1978
but the new motherboard might not have onboard sound like he has now so then he'd have to buy a new sound card. And then I don't know if his backup copy of windows xp for his dell would activate correctly on the new system (since it wouldn't be a dell anymore) so there's always the slight chance he might need to buy that (but I'm not sure about that so that one might be a non-issue). So it could get fairly pricey and he's not looking to spend much money. I actually told him he might want to think about upgrading though...I think he wants to wait another year or year and a half before buying a whole new system...he wouldn't build one because he doesn't know how and he seems to like just purchasing the whole thing (and at the moment I don't think his fiancee wants him spending a bunch of money on a whole new computer just to be able to play a few games unfortunately)
1. It's hard to find a motherboard that _doesn't_ have onboard sound these days. The AC'97 is so cheap to put on any board (i think) and nvidia has the nforce soundstorm, and there's many off-brands of onboard sound chips.
2. It should work, unless he totally junks the Dell computer, or the backup copy forces it's ugly software and driver configs to it. Once again, it depends if it's a Dell ghost copy (likely) or the OEM Dell version (unlikely, i think)
3. I will agree about the money. But tell him to start saving a small amount now, and in a year or so he would have built up enough money to build his own computer. Guides help at this part.

Otherwise, you know, just check Newegg, pricewatch, froogle and ebay for those cheap deals that come up every once in a awhile.

I got great fps with UT2003 at 320x240, just imagine a FX5200 128-bit at 640x480!
Mehbody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-05, 08:45 PM   #10
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangSVT
Wouldn't 128-bit memory on PCI card be useless since the PCI slot is so slow anyway?
on a P4 2.8ghz rig or so, a radeon 9100 128 bit scores like 6500-8500 in '01, while the 64 bit version, and the 9000's and 9200's with 64 bit mem interface all get like 3.5-5k, IIRC...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-05, 10:24 PM   #11
DrCR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

I believe there's a PCI version of the Inno3D (clueless on the rep. of this manf.) FX5600 and FX5700LE. Not sure either were trimmed down to 64bit either though.

The Inno3D FX5700LE 256MB is apparently 256bit as per this vendor.
http://www.amamax.com/amamax/gefx5712ddr1.html

Vendor rating: http://www.resellerratings.com/seller2027.html

Hope this helps.

DrCR

_________
DrCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-05, 06:30 AM   #12
ekloot1978
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default Re: Doesn't anyone make a 128bit memory PCI graphics card anymore?

Yeah, those Inno3d 256MB cards probably are the best option since they appear to be 128bit memory cards. I'll tell my friend about it. Thanks for the suggestion. Not sure if the 5600 version or 5700LE version would be faster but they can't be too much different. I think he is thinking about cheaping out and saving his money though (probably for a new system next year) because he saw some ati radeon 9250 pci's that were 128bit and refurbished on new egg and they were between like 60 and 80 dollars. I prefer nvidia myself but maybe if he just gets one of those cards he can keep most of his money for a real upgrade later on. Does anyone have any experiences with some of these refurbished cards from new egg? This whole thing basically started just because battlefield vietnam doesn't render quite right on his geforce mx440 card since it doesn't have pixel or vertex shaders. So he's basically just looking to play that and have it look correctly and maybe another game or two.
ekloot1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.